Cover image for Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Logo
See All Photos

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Add a Review

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,879 of over 2K reviews
3.7
70% Recommend to a Friend
Vanderbilt University Medical Center President and CEO  Jeffrey R. Balser
73% Approve of CEO

Found 1,877 of over 2K reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vanderbilt University Medical Center President and CEO  Jeffrey R. Balser
Jeffrey R. Balser
495 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

1d

a 

Medical Records

I will be taking over a new team in our call center department at my job this upcoming week. I've been with the company a few years now and something I've noticed is NO ONE uses cameras but I've seen tons of people recommend it for teams. I am thinking of making it a requirement for my new team. I was thinking of starting off with once a week and moving into every other day so that it's not too much change at once. It will only be required for meetings. What does everyone think? Do you do this?

9

9 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Vanderbilt

    Nov 29, 2022 - Patient Access Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working , great environment, work from home

    Cons

    None to really say-it is cool

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Nov 27, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, great pay, great parking

    Cons

    Too many holidays, too many on call shifts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Vanderbilt University Medical Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    RN

    Nov 16, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well paid, great benefits, great pto

    Cons

    Pay to park, have shuttle

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great working environment

    Nov 15, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My first nursing Job as an RN-- Supportive managers and leadership staff who encourage you to get involved, and always support growth or even transferring units within the hospital after a certain amount of time. I have loved my time at VUMC!

    Cons

    Holiday pay isn't great, and I would love to see an improvement there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Love my job

    Nov 12, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    IP up to $30, weekend pay $7, Evening pay $3.

    Cons

    Everyone calls out in their job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great group of workers

    Nov 7, 2022 - Research Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part about Vanderbilt to me is the staff; to me, the staff feels like a "true team" who can genuinely work efficiently together.

    Cons

    None, pay has increased so no complaints.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    best place ever

    Nov 7, 2022 - Financial Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Felxible, and I love this place

    Cons

    Not enough space in the center

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good experience in medical research

    Nov 2, 2022 - Research Assistant II in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, great coworkers, numerous experts to consult with

    Cons

    Parking costs money, raises aren't frequent or generous

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place to work

    Oct 30, 2022 - Research Assistant Professor in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generally good place to work

    Cons

    For research career it is probably similar as other institutions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    LPN

    Oct 27, 2022 - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interactive with providers and patients.

    Cons

    Work hours I would like to have a job allowing me to travel.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,877 Reviews
</>Embed

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Reviews FAQs

Vanderbilt University Medical Center has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,974 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at Vanderbilt University Medical Center to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Vanderbilt University Medical Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

70% of Vanderbilt University Medical Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Vanderbilt University Medical Center 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Vanderbilt University Medical Center to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Vanderbilt University Medical Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Vanderbilt University Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

or

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Careers

Cover image for Vanderbilt University Medical Center

DISCOVER YOUR PLACE AT VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER. Vanderbilt University Medical Center is home to Vanderbilt University...More

  • Nursing
  • Residency Program
  • Benefits
  • Diversity
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

23 days ago

Careers
Vanderbilt University Medical Center Career Day at Fort Campbell, Tuesday, Dec. 6, 9 a.m. - 11 a.m. in the Tap Center. Join Vanderbilt University Medical Center first responders, including LifeFlight paramedics, ground support and nurses, ER paramedics and EMS personnel, as they discuss what it's like to work at VUMC.
Logo

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

37 days ago

Careers
Virtual Walk-In Wednesdays for Nurses: Oct. 26, Nov. 2, Nov. 9, Nov. 16 : 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. Vanderbilt University Medical Center is hosting virtual hiring events for nurses each Wednesday to help staff our regional hospitals — Vanderbilt Bedford County Hospital in Shelbyville, Vanderbilt Tullahoma Harton Hospital in Tullahoma and Vanderbilt Wilson County Hospital in Lebanon. Experienced nurses are encouraged to attend and meet with hiring leaders for on-the-spot interviews and job offers. Visit https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/virtualwalkinwednesday to RSVP and get the Zoom link. $15K sign-on bonus for full-time openings Competitive salary and benefits Nursing loan repayment program up to $24K Full-time and PRN opportunities
Shared image - Vanderbilt Health Virtual Walk-in Wednesdays
Vanderbilt Health Virtual Walk-in Wednesdays
www.surveymonkey.com
See all

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Making Diversity and Inclusion intentional is one of our top goals at the Medical Center.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Employees have a lot to celebrate about.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Employees coming together to celebrate the difference each makes.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: VUMC knows how to celebrate its employees.
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Each year, we celebrate outstanding employees during Women's History Month
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Vanderbilt University Medical Center photo of: Vanderbilt Wilson County employees on the first day of orientation.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

Vanderbilt University Logo
Vanderbilt University

4.4

1,628 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,974 Vanderbilt University Medical Center reviews submitted anonymously by Vanderbilt University Medical Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Vanderbilt University Medical Center is right for you.