KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Add a Review

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 1K reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Vanderbilt University Medical Center President and CEO  Jeffrey R. Balser
Jeffrey R. Balser
319 Ratings
Pros
  • "The culture is great and they provide good benefits(in 78 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, supportive team(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other hospitals(in 72 reviews)

  • "Pay for parking, requires walking/shuttle to work(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love VUMC!

      Jun 8, 2020 - Operations in Nash, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Continuous learning opportunities, great benefits, always informed by executive leadership, supportive leadership, strong community

      Cons

      No cons to share about VUMC

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great first job

      Oct 28, 2020 - Communications Consultant in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, good people, great mission/culture

      Cons

      Average/below average compensation, demanding job, little institutional support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It Depends On Your Position

      Nov 20, 2020 - Supervisor in Murfreesboro, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, recognized name and clout, great networking opportunities, some growth opportunity

      Cons

      It's not what you know it's who you know, it's physician centric- some are treated like gods, some clinics are surprisingly poorly managed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Case Management

      Dec 9, 2020 - Case Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great coworkers, Decent pay, Great Benefits

      Cons

      -Work load unmanageable -Inability to leave work on time consistently -Lacking diversity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      No raises for some, understaffed and poor management

      Nov 3, 2020 - Administrative/Medical Coordinator in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits, flexible with with working remotely

      Cons

      Poor Management, employee relations is unhelpful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Eh

      Oct 19, 2020 - Operations Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and time off

      Cons

      Bad hours bad management bad communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Undervalued, Overworked & Underpaid

      May 8, 2020 - Mental Health Specialist - VPH in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, looks good on a resume. The hours weren't full time which sucked pay-wise, but the work day was intense so it was good to have time off and on like that. They still gave us full-time benefits, too, which was nice.

      Cons

      Listen, working in a psych hospital is hard anywhere you go. I just hoped since it was Vanderbilt that it would be a better experience. Apparently not. I got paid $12 an hour, 32 hours a week and had to pay almost $50 a month for parking in *their* parking garage. I didn't even know my manager's name, and was also assigned to a unit where I explicitly said in my interview I wasn't comfortable working.That speaks for itself the culture of this place. They talk big game about wanting to create a "healthy" & "ethical" work environment, but if you actually question things it does nothing but make people mad. There were multiple unethical things happening & I had no one to report to about it that would listen or do anything. The model itself for the work I did was skewed & wasteful of the patient's time and money. Maybe if they had someone other than a military guy with a *business* degree running it, they'd be able to change things. Overall, it makes me mad that this is considered such a high quality facility yet it had such low standards of care in terms of regular, direct mental health support available to patients. They come here for mental health support, what's the point if their doctor is almost never there to talk to them or give them guidance on how to spend their time? A psych nurse is NOT remotely a therapist. Having patients sit & color or watch TV is not helpful. As an MHS I was essentially babysitting & I hated having my hands tied. I couldn't stay there if I wanted to be able to actually give a damn.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great Job

      Dec 27, 2019 - Medical Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule Great Benefits Fast Paced

      Cons

      Low Pay Work Weekends and Holidays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      None

      Dec 20, 2019 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits are great. Tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      lack of growth opportunities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Nov 29, 2019 - Licensed Practical Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits- health insurance, vision, dental, 401k, PTO.

      Cons

      Pay isn't very competitive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vanderbilt University Medical Center Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vanderbilt University Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    or