KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Add a Review

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Sep 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 of over 1,917 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Vanderbilt University Medical Center President and CEO  Jeffrey R. Balser
Jeffrey R. Balser
481 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

8h

a 

Registered Nurse

I’ve been working as an RN for ~2.5yrs now with experience in AcuteTele & CVICU. I’m doing my MSN Administration right now. Threw my hat in randomly for a nurse manager position and got called in for an interview but now feeling very nervous as I prep for it. I know I don’t have enough experience compared to some of the other applicants but any word of advice from fellow RNs & nurse managers on how to make myself seem like a better candidate? I want to try my hardest!

7

3 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Not the same company...

    Apr 1, 2015 - Data Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vandy has flexible hours in most departments. RNs & many areas set their own schedules and I actually had the opportunity to work from home. There are great discounts to community events. It may sound weird but a lot of people respect you when you say "I work at Vanderbilt".

    Cons

    Not the same company from years ago. A shift around 2007-2009 changed the company culture, maybe it was Gordon Gee's departure. Things changed and management (housewide) made the 'bottom line' the only factor. Employee morale is wayyy down and it is sad to see such a great institution with a great name change so drastically. Many benefits were reduced, cut, and annual bonuses are non-existent.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Data Specialist @ Clinical Trials Shared Resources: Love VUMC , but Vanderbilt Clinical Trials Center needs work.

    Sep 12, 2018 - Data Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy job, fair vacations, nice to work with PIs.

    Cons

    unprofessional management; constantly understaffed; relies heavily on external contractors to attempt to improve department

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Clinical Recruiter for VUMC

    May 1, 2015 - Talent Acquisition Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Educational Assistance. Vanderbilt helps pay for some certifications. High turnover in some departments can lead to advancement opportunities for others. Health benefits are decent but they could be better for spouses. Most Vanderbilt employees are friendly.

    Cons

    Leadership can be inexperienced. Pay is meager and education is not taken into account. Pay increases are non existent. Performance Management works off of IOU's and 'Atta Boy's' since there are no pay increases. Work - Life balance is not what it should be. PTO is being cut subsequent years in a row.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Vanderbilt University Medical Center Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. VUMC aims to offer competitive pay and benefits while considering the best interests of a very large and diverse employee population. VUMC, like other academic medical centers, has been adapting to economic changes resulting from the federal and state decisions reducing how much hospitals are compensated for care. There have been difficult choices to make in order to balance the needs of our patients, employees and the organization. When adjustments to benefits have been made, leaders and support teams have worked very hard to ensure the best outcome for employees, such as offering the option to carry forward accumulated leave time or cash it out when VUMC transitioned to a new FlexPTO program last year. VUMC also introduced a new goal setting and performance evaluation process and tool this year designed to align employees’ individual goals to institutional priorities, with the intent to foster greater satisfaction. We hope these things, as well as other initiatives leaders and managers have recently introduced, will create further improvement in the areas you’ve mentioned.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    This is a great place to work.

    Jan 23, 2015 - RN in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am a nurse in an hourly position and I truly feel the management team in place is paramount. They encourage and support efforts to continue my education. The scheduling system is fair, it isn't left up to one person to decide everyone's schedule like my previous employer. I am extremely satisfied with my work environment. They do not tolerate disrespect to their nurses from anyone (attendings, residents, other nurses). At my previous employer the doctors had free reign to act inappropriately, and nurses were shown zero respect as professional members of the team. It is a very professional environment. I should also mention I received a significant pay increase when I started at Vanderbilt and have received several in the last 3 years. I came from an institution that never provided increases. I was there for 4 years and they would tell their nurses year after year there was no money while they installed HD flat screens in all the rooms. When things got tight at Vanderbilt there was none of this.

    Cons

    Parking is definitely an issue. While most University hospitals do charge their employees to park, I do agree it is ridiculous. If you work day shift expect to spend 20-30 minutes to get from your car to your unit. Night shift doesnt have this problem.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Vanderbilt Medical Center undergoing labor changes

    Apr 7, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Still plenty of opportunity to do your job and help others do theirs. Still good people there are can work together to get things done and appreciate each other for it.

    Cons

    Not much information coming out regarding future of Vanderbilt employees that work under contract agreement. Very unsettling that we are being sold to a management company in order to save money.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Say goodbye to your own health and wellness when you work here

    Feb 12, 2021 - Supervisor in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generous PTO (if you can take off)

    Cons

    Work/life balance non-existant. When you do well, management attempts to crush you with unsustainable amounts of work with no support. Unhealthy environment where all employees are afraid to speak up for fear of retaliation. Unempathetic management that are not interested in making changes for the better (although engagement is a continuous discussion. They haven't got a clue. No room for growth in some departments unless upper leadership tags you as a favorite. No desire to promote people because they are satisfied providing crushing/detrimental amounts of work on their staff. More concerned with numbers/metrics than the people that work for them. In my time here I have seen numerous people have heart attacks, gastrointestinal issues, anxiety problems and more just because they cannot meet management expectation of workloads.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Health IT Project Manager

    Oct 24, 2017 - Health IT Project Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team members within the Health IT Project Management team, working with the actual end users of the project outcome, team participation within the Vanderbilt community

    Cons

    Project Management executive level was the worst in my 30 year career in project management. Micromanagement from immediate boss, lack of participation from her boss. Lack of communication, fixation on following the 'steps' versus practical application or reality of project, overall apathy regarding team members.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    They don't pay near enough to live and work in Nashville.

    Jul 29, 2022 - Budget Analyst in Nashville, TN
    <