KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Add a Review

Vanderbilt University Medical Center Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Sep 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 of over 1,917 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Vanderbilt University Medical Center President and CEO  Jeffrey R. Balser
Jeffrey R. Balser
481 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

11h

a 

Registered Nurse

I’ve been working as an RN for ~2.5yrs now with experience in AcuteTele & CVICU. I’m doing my MSN Administration right now. Threw my hat in randomly for a nurse manager position and got called in for an interview but now feeling very nervous as I prep for it. I know I don’t have enough experience compared to some of the other applicants but any word of advice from fellow RNs & nurse managers on how to make myself seem like a better candidate? I want to try my hardest!

11

11 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Mar 13, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice and professional people everywhere.

    Cons

    I don't have a single one.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Vandy makes Billions but pays only cents!!!

    Oct 19, 2018 - Client Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to meet folks from all over the world and when you love meeting people it's a win-win!

    Cons

    People in leadership positions can't and won't be disciplined even when you have proof and witnesses against them! Discrimination and Bullying on a corporate level!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    New Benefits and PTO Will Make You Want to Leave

    Mar 2, 2015 - Pharmacy Tech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay (at least in my area) Could be due to high turnover Vanderbilt is well-renowned Reimbursement on license Ability to Get Overtime

    Cons

    Parking. The rate is the same, despite the salary (a doctor making over $100k/year pays the same parking rate as someone who makes $25k/year) PTO (if you don't use it you lose it and your new PTO bank starts over July 1st) Also you can't really cash it only maybe for only 5% of the pay I believe High turnover rate in the pharmacy - We've had 4 people quit in the past 2 months and an additional 8 people in the past year when our staff is about 20 of us HR is SLOW about hiring. We can't find people to cover shifts which is causing more people to get fed up and quit!

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Mar 17, 2021 - Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Top down leadership and always an amazing group of people to rely on for questions and answered. -Excellent benefits both medical and dental -Great CEO and upper management -Career and position growth internally is massive

    Cons

    -Pay is slightly under but evens out a little with benefits, matching 403b

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    nice place to start after school

    Jan 7, 2013 - Research Data Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working environment is great people are nice and easy to work with

    Cons

    payment is low and chance to move up is limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    not a good experience, do not recommend

    Dec 4, 2021 - Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people i worked with were the only thing that kept me there as long as i was there

    Cons

    everything else was terrible, no communication, no ability to move up

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great Coworkers...too much politics

    Aug 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got to work with some great people and be apart of something great.

    Cons

    Vanderbilt has no problem with making shady employment choices to screw their hard working employees.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Administrative assistant

    Nov 5, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits People are generally friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Have to pay for parking

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Administrative Assistant III

    Mar 1, 2017 - Senior Administrative Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, ample PTO, flexible start time.

    Cons

    VERY low pay to do a job that 2 or 3 people should be doing. High turnover in the department of pediatrics due to unrealistic workload expectations. Most managers have a dictatorship mentality and use intimidation and bullying to force their objectives upon employees. Seeking help from human resources is an exercise in futility.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Empl