Vanguard Health Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Vanguard Health Systems Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Charlie Martin Jr.
14 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vanguard Health Systems full-time

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for. Enjoyed the people and learned a lot.

    Cons

    A lot of travel across the country.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Vanguard Health Systems2017-05-18
  2. "Sigh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Vanguard Health Systems full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent atmosphere, good people to work with

    Cons

    Dated systems...unwilling to invest in IT infrastructure

    Vanguard Health Systems2016-01-29
  3. "bad bad bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Vanguard Health Systems full-time

      Pros

      the money is ok i guess

      Cons

      its a weird little company

      Vanguard Health Systems2015-12-15
    • "It's a good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Ripley, WV

        I have been working at Vanguard Health Systems

        Pros

        It's a good place to work because everyone is nice and I make good money. I like being a nurse there.

        Cons

        It's a good place to work and I like to work there because it's a good place to work. I like what I do there.

        Advice to Management

        It's a good place to work

        Vanguard Health Systems2015-07-29
      • "Short term vision....tee it up and sell it."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lab in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Vanguard Health Systems

        Pros

        Always something to fix because there's always something broken.

        Cons

        Constant pressure to fix under-performing hospitals.

        Advice to Management

        Appreciate the people that work for you.

        Vanguard Health Systems2015-01-29
      • "Very good company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - RN/Case Manager in Nashville, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Vanguard Health Systems full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        The people are friendly and innovation is a priority. It is a great place to work and they have good benefits. They value patient care and safety which is wonderful traits for a company.

        Cons

        It is at time politics driven place to work but what place isn't. Also a rather high turnover rate, making sure you meet your goals is important along with staying within your budget.

        Advice to Management

        Also be able to meet your financial numbers. Its a for profit company and it matter a great deal

        Vanguard Health Systems2014-08-10
      • "Corporate Office Disconnect"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Vanguard Health Systems

        Pros

        Innovative Culture and great clinicians to work with. Facilities in the market care about the patient and want to deliver high quality care

        Cons

        Corporate office is a boys club. No room for advancement unless you are within the inner circle. COO Kent Wallace has a list of names that he wants in positions that are his yes men.

        Advice to Management

        Understand that corporate office in overhead and is a service to the market who are delivering care.

        Vanguard Health Systems2014-06-26
      • "Terrible, few cross training opportunities, low pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Vanguard Health Systems

          Pros

          high volume of work, steady

          Cons

          favoritism, no OT, cross training very limited

          Advice to Management

          don't look out only for your bonus

          Vanguard Health Systems2014-06-12
        • "Good company to work for."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Vanguard Health Systems

          Pros

          Vanguard has a good company working dynamic. Employees at all levels are eager to help facilitate quick resolution to issues.

          Cons

          Many of the positions at Vanguard were filled by contractors and they did not seem to be in a hurry to bring those contractors into the company in a permanent role. Rather they would cycle contractors in and out as needed.

          Vanguard Health Systems2014-04-23
        • "Great opportunities to grow and apply your strengths."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Antonio, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Vanguard Health Systems full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Administrative support, growth & development opportunities, and familial environment.

          Cons

          Reactionary, aggressive profit model, resistant to visionary changes.

          Advice to Management

          Groom executives from current managers.

          Vanguard Health Systems2014-01-30
        Found 22 reviews