Vantage Deluxe World Travel Employee Reviews about "north station"

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
43%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Vantage Deluxe World Travel Chairman & Founder Henry Lewis (no image)
Henry Lewis
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Conveniently located outside North Station, giving you the ability to work here if you are near any train system(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great location, opportunity to receive tickets to all sporting events and playoffs as well(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No one should work in a company where they are unhappy(in 10 reviews)

  • "High turnover and everyone is scared everyday of being fired(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "north station"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      The East Coast Google

      May 18, 2016 - IT Technology in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Pretty much the Google of the East Coast... latest tech stack, unbelievable company culture, every Monday they bring in the freshest fruit you've ever seen - The office is full of like minded people who enjoy each other's presence, and always have fun in and out of the office (legendary team building events over at West End Johnnies) - A great blend of senior level people who have been with the company for years, who go out of their way to mentor their junior employee counterparts - The offices are absolutely gorgeous and conveniently located right by North Station - The CEO is like a father figure to his employees. He's always walking around giving words of encouragement and is famous for bringing employees in for one on ones, just to see how you're doing inside & outside of the office. Hank takes a genuine interest in his employees lives and regularly gives out bonuses/raises on the spot, just to let us know he appreciates our work. Just picture somebody with the vision of Steve Jobs, the calming demeanor of Morgan Freeman, the business savvy of Andrew Carnegie, the emotional intelligence of Tony Robbins, and the casual comedic brilliance of Chevy Chase - It's not uncommon for the CEO to shut down the office for the day and surprise everyone with one of his legendary "surprise field trips" - whether it be a luxury box at the Red Sox, a private tour of a local brewery, or a scavenger hunt around Boston

      Cons

      - I've heard there is high turn over in the Sales & Customer Service departments with more entry level employees.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Only The Truly Desperate Should Consider

      May 30, 2019 - Financial Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      While saying anything positive about this disgusting organization makes my stomach churn, the positives of this organization should be pointed out in the interest of objectivity. The location is excellent. Conveniently located outside North Station, giving you the ability to work here if you are near any train system. There are bountiful choices for lunch within walking distance. The building is also near TD Garden, which is excellent as the owner will occasionally hand out free sports tickets to his favorite employees. Just watch out for the drug addicts that roam the streets every day. The overall compensation package is above average compared to industry. Paid time off is below average, but this is offset by the fact that using any significant amount of time off will result in termination as coworkers will throw you under the bus while you are unable to defend yourself. Free food, often in the form of desserts, will be provided often because so many people resign and some sort of party is hosted for them. These events happened so frequently that the company stopped approving expense forms for them. There is free fruit on Mondays. Every so often, there is an additional perk of the fruit being fresh and edible for humans You will get the opportunity to meet many new people due to the constant dismissal and hiring of new employees. Vantage will help you understand the absolute lowest point a company can reach and effectively teach you the warning signs to look out for in a potential employer.

      Cons

      To save considering candidates the time, I would strongly advise you do not work at Vantage if you answer yes to any of the following questions: "Are you a Woman?" If so, do not work at Vantage. You will be demeaned, discriminated against, and treated like a subclass compared to your male counterparts. The owner of the company is by far the biggest perpetrator, and the executive team makes no attempt to stop him as they all fear for their jobs. "Do you have any sense of self worth?" If yes, do not work at Vantage. The company will make you feel like you do not matter and you have nothing to bring to the table. You will be in constant fear of losing your job. "Are you uncomfortable with the idea of crying after meetings or being yelled at for more than 3 consecutive hours?" If yes, do not work at Vantage. You will never have the opportunity complete your endless list of tasks because you will be stuck in meetings for a large chunk of the week. Each time you attend a meeting, you hope the owner is out of town so it doesn't turn into a rage fueled rant about how awful you are at your job. "Do you have any other opportunities to consider?" If yes, do not work at Vantage. Only the truly desperate should consider working here. The company has a habitual tendency of hiring large amounts of workers on Visas. There is no doubt in my mind this is to hire employees that are trapped and cannot leave their role easily. The turnover numbers, as a result of high resignations and terminations, are so high that many of my coworkers when I left were on a Visa. You will have zero support if you have any problems at Vantage. We barely have an HR department, sometimes having literally 0 HR employees. If you do have a problem with your manager, nothing will be done with it because chances are, the owner likes them and his opinion is the only opinion that matters in the company. You will experience new levels of frustration at Vantage. The owner changes his mind on strategy and direction on a daily basis. After you make his demanded changes, he will proceed to call you a moron for even considering that. There have been multiple employees that have been terminated by him for explicitly following his word. Attempting to call the senile lunatic out on his behaviors will result in gaslighting, and you will begin to question if maybe you are the one that is wrong. To current employees, you are not wrong. In my role specifically, there were no transferable skills learned and no path for advancement. Attempting an internal transfer is a futile effort because they want you to stay in your exact role and instead hire somebody on a Visa to do the job cheaper than you were willing to do it for. My biggest regret is not having the courage to quit sooner. The culture is so toxic and management will make you feel like you are unemployable in other companies. To the employees still working at Vantage, do not believe you are unemployable. You have so much more value that the internal forces lead you to believe.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful

      Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve our associates work experience and welcome any and all constructive feedback. We are actively undertaking strategies to improve retention and our employees' experience across the organization.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A little balance.

      Jun 18, 2016 - Telesales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok - the world of a tour operator can be very volatile, and the company is hampered by '80s DOS, but if you are a diligent and talented sales person, there are some very good opportunities to make money. The company is very democratic in its hiring - I've sat alongside a 22 year-old with no college education pulling in $100,000 per year, and there are a lot of gray hairs here (some of them mine), so there's no age discrimination. There are many co-workers who have left the company only to return when they saw what else is out there. Though a passion for travel is helpful, you don't need to have left the US to succeed - Vantage provides excellent training and helpful support from the supervisory staff. You need to be able to take a long term view in terms of finances - we don't always do well every month, but the base salary is reasonable. If you do like to travel, there are some wonderful opportunities - recently, high end European river cruises were available for $50/day, including meals, accommodations and guided tours. There have been select tours available free, and employees can even bring along a guest. You will definitely broaden your horizons. The company is located near North Station and the green and orange MBTA lines, and offers a very generous discount on MBTA passes.

      Cons

      As listed in above paragraph. Thanks.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

      Vantage will continue to work hard to improve technology, employee wellness programs, and provide the best value in deluxe travel for our passengers.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs.

      Jul 7, 2015 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The office is close to North Station There are free sporting event and concert event tickets if you are "in" with the right people. The gym in the basement is pretty decent if you have time to use it.

      Cons

      This company has outgrown the owner who needs to sell it to someone who knows how to run a company without abusing their employees. Even if you know your numbers, are paying attention to the data and numbers, only the profits matter. Associates do not matter unless you are "in" with the owners paramours. The marketing methods are without direction, and not because of the marketing department, but because of the owner who tells them to do one thing one week and something completely different the next. The call center has very few experienced leaders left and the company is just going down river without a rudder. No CEO ever lasts due to the absolutely relentless abuse they have to endure from the owner of the company. How many CEOs in the last year or 2? Six or more?

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Water cooler chats are the only thing to look forward to here because the things that happen are so outrageous.

      May 10, 2014 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some nice co-workers Excellent location if you take the train to North Station Some travel benefits A small gym on site

      Cons

      Turnover is constant, so you're always training new employees. Typically, those in upper management get fired and the grunts quit. No matter how smart or competent you are, if you're important enough, or sometimes even if you're not, expect to get yelled at by the owner at some point. Don't expect raises. Don't get caught with headphones on even if you listen to music to avoid distraction. Those nice co-workers can at times be not so nice to work with due to the culture. (amazing how much a toxic work environment can change people, you know?) The owner is all about numbers so if you're performance cannot be quantified, you'll be viewed as worthless. If you smoke, you're viewed as vile by the owner, so don't get caught. And expect a nicotine test. 8 am company meetings with attendance taken. Frequent weekend work for some departments.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I felt like I was working in a Bizarro World

      Feb 17, 2015 - Marketing in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was able to travel to places I never would have on my own. I was also able to bond with my non management coworkers very easily, we tried to have each others back as much as we could. The company has a nice location in Boston, right next to North Station.

      Cons

      You know there are problems with a company when they hire a PR firm and start posting fake reviews. The unethical behavior I saw towards employees and customers scared and saddened me. A couple times the feds caught up to their practices and the company received cease and desist letters and even had to pay millions in fines for postal issues. From the other "real" reviews you can see that working here, at the very best, should be a temporary career path and only if you are extremely desperate. There is a new CEO but I have seen others try to change processes and culture and they have failed. Working here for 3+ years was the most challenging part of my career.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. I will let you know that we did not nor do we plan to hire a PR firm to write on glassdoor for us. The company did have an issue with postal fines back in the 1980's but much as changed since then. Our culture is one of hard work etc. and it is great to see that you stayed for over 3 years. Our current employee survey shows that 91% of employees are extremely satisfied. I do appreciate feedback and please keep it coming. We want to make Vantage a great place to work

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Absolutely, ridiculously bad. You should heed every warning you hear or read.

      Jun 13, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some really great people here. Close to North Station.

      Cons

      Unfortunately many of them have battered wife syndrome because they know if they challenge top leadership or a pit bull accomplice, they will be fired on the spot. The turnover is huge. Even if you are desperate for a job you won't last long if you have any self respect. Every aspect of operations is in disarray because there is no institutional memory, or a cogent business practice that treats employees humanly. I just witnessed someone really great who had to go because he was sabotaged by leadership who wouldn't let him run his area properly. Sucks BIG TIME. Don't do it.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not Worth it

      Jul 26, 2016 - Sales Agent in Brighton, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free gym in the basement, awesome coworkers in the call center, free fruit available most days, sometimes free sandwiches, fun location - right next to north station, public transportation discounts

      Cons

      Managers who just don't get it, really high turnover, job is never secure - almost every week someone suddenly disappearing, difficult to get time off, micromanaged to an extreme, every single thing you do is tracked - including bathroom breaks, entire strategy is based off of copying competitors, no realistic travel discounts

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay far, far away

      Jul 10, 2017 - Sales in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sure, free fruit on Mondays. Close to the north station.

      Cons

      Without exaggeration, the worst company I've ever worked for in my life. Every comment you see on this site in regards to unethical business practices I saw for myself. The negatives mentioned about the owner are in no way blown out of proportion - this place is an absolute nightmare. I'm honestly a little surprised that they are still in business given how poorly they treat both their customers and employees. This place will absolutely crush your soul, better to move in with your parents and keep looking. I really wish that I had come to this site and read the reviews before agreeing to work there.

      Continue reading
      28 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Vantage is a brutal work environment, not worth your time.

      Feb 6, 2013 - Marketing in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a great location located near north station, it has a gym and is close to many restaurants.

      Cons

      High demand from the boss and delegation of tasks between departments is not fluid. Tough to want to go to work every day.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vantage Deluxe World Travel Job Seekers

    Marketing Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Director, Financial Planning & Analysis
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Vantage Deluxe World Travel? Share Your Experiences

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel logo
    or