KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Varsity Tutors

Engaged Employer

Varsity Tutors

Add a Review

Varsity Tutors Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,304 of over 2K reviews
3.7
65% Recommend to a Friend
Varsity Tutors Founder and CEO Chuck Cohn
76% Approve of CEO

Found 1,302 of over 2K reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Varsity Tutors Founder and CEO Chuck Cohn
Chuck Cohn
580 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "My hours are flexible and are centered solely around when my students want to have their tutoring sessions.(in 136 reviews)
  • "Flexible scheduling: you dictate your availability for tutoring and you schedule sessions within your timeframe(in 87 reviews)
  • "It is a great opportunity to help students everywhere and communicate with them on line.(in 54 reviews)
  • "Management is great and truly wants you to succeed.(in 52 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay (Considering I was expected to teach even the working professionals in Computer Science(in 241 reviews)
  • "They charge students $80 an hour while paying me only $20? Plus I still have to handle my own taxes and enjoys no benefit!(in 43 reviews)
  • "There's no training; I believe that Varsity Tutors hires tutors whom they feel already know what they are doing and can operate independently.(in 31 reviews)
  • "Advice to those joining: don't accept a low salary thinking you can increase it later.(in 27 reviews)
  • "Don't get excited thinking they will be closed and you will have time off.(in 8 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Varsity Tutors and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    SDR1

    Jun 21, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy and respect from management

    Cons

    Pay is somewhat competitive for this field, but with inflation it would help to be more

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good

    Jul 26, 2022 - Math Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours Decent Pay Good for side job virtual option

    Cons

    Infrequent pay boosts Long distances required sometimes

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Varsity Tutors

    Jul 30, 2022 - Academic Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working online was very convenient

    Cons

    The user interface could have been better

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Varsity Tutors Tutor

    Jul 27, 2022 - Tutor in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities to assist a diverse range of students with a diverse range of subjects

    Cons

    Salary is on the low end

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Draconian Boys' Club

    Aug 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's hard to think about the pros of joining this company. You have an opportunity to make a difference in students' lives. Well, if they can afford the extremely steep cost (or hope that their school has federal funds to give them).

    Cons

    I wish I never joined Varsity Tutors. My role was not accurately marketed to me; I had literally zero tools to use in order to be successful in my job. There is no diversity and no employee resource groups. HR will tell you that they're "working on it" but ZERO traction was made in a year. That's ridiculous. I don't feel confident at all that this company will stay afloat post-covid. If you're looking for a "red flag" post, this one's it. No department is happy and turnover is crazy. If you're interviewing, ask why there's a vacancy in the first place.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Need to Race for Students

    Aug 3, 2022 - Math Tutor in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since you work online, its at least flexible.

    Cons

    Its very hard to get hours because you only get a student if you click on the button faster than any other tutors

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jul 10, 2022 - Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing short of impressive for a company

    Cons

    I wouldn't say there are any

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great pay and benefits; work from home

    Jul 6, 2022 - Tutor Engagement Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, incredible benefits, ability to work from home, great culture

    Cons

    Constantly changing goals, based on the market, requires a lot of flexibility

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall decent

    Jul 27, 2022 - Tutor Sourcing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team mates and Management is supportive

    Cons

    The work can be demanding.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Team work

    Jul 12, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone was willing to help each other

    Cons

    Clients could be difficult to work with

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,302 Reviews
</>Embed

Varsity Tutors Reviews FAQs

Varsity Tutors has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 2,493 reviews left anonymously by employees. 65% of employees would recommend working at Varsity Tutors to a friend and 63% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Varsity Tutors employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Varsity Tutors. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

65% of Varsity Tutors employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Varsity Tutors 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Varsity Tutors to be management, career development, culture and the cons to be benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with Varsity Tutors Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Varsity Tutors? Share Your Experiences

or

Varsity Tutors Photos

+ Add Photo
Varsity Tutors photo of: National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day
Varsity Tutors photo of: #GoBlues
Varsity Tutors photo of: Mothers Day at VT
Varsity Tutors photo of: Employee Lunch
Varsity Tutors photo of: VT Volunteers
Varsity Tutors photo of: Fredbird at VT
Varsity Tutors photo of: VT Operation Paperback
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 2,493 Varsity Tutors reviews submitted anonymously by Varsity Tutors employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Varsity Tutors is right for you.