Cover image for Varsity Tutors
Logo

Varsity Tutors

Engaged Employer

Varsity Tutors

Add a Review

Varsity Tutors Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Nov 15, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,625 of over 3K reviews
3.4
58% Recommend to a Friend
Varsity Tutors Founder and CEO Chuck Cohn
63% Approve of CEO

Found 182 of over 3K reviews

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Varsity Tutors Founder and CEO Chuck Cohn
Chuck Cohn
958 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "My hours are flexible and are centered solely around when my students want to have their tutoring sessions.(in 144 reviews)
  • "It is great to work from home with a variety of students from all over the country.(in 121 reviews)
  • "Flexible scheduling: you dictate your availability for tutoring and you schedule sessions within your timeframe(in 90 reviews)
  • "Remote work setting C level management is great(in 53 reviews)
  • "Great people and office location(in 50 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay (Considering I was expected to teach even the working professionals in Computer Science(in 268 reviews)
  • "They charge students $80 an hour while paying me only $20? Plus I still have to handle my own taxes and enjoys no benefit!(in 50 reviews)
  • "There's no training; I believe that Varsity Tutors hires tutors whom they feel already know what they are doing and can operate independently.(in 28 reviews)
  • "Advice to those joining: don't accept a low salary thinking you can increase it later.(in 28 reviews)
  • "Don't get excited thinking they will be closed and you will have time off.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Varsity Tutors and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jun 18, 2021 - NCLEX Instructor in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros of this position are the ability to work from home, prompt payment twice per week, and the ability to earn bonus rates based on which clients you accept. I also appreciate not having to find my own clients.

    Cons

    The downsides are the relatively low reimbursement rate compared to working for yourself, the lack of ability to find out how many hours your client has available and the outcome of their certification exams (unless they share them with you), and the somewhat slow communication by the management and payment teams when issues come up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Temporary Employee

    Salary

    Nov 7, 2021 - Sales Representative in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working from home, choosing your own schedule

    Cons

    Cold calling people on holidays and late nights

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Varsity Tutors team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    It's a lot like Uber. Basically an efficient and enticing scam.

    Nov 15, 2021 - Tutor in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They will hire just about anyone. You can be proficient in a subject and have good people skills and you can earn money virtually as a tutor. Working from home has its benefits

    Cons

    Let's say a client needs a tutoring session and they pay the site fee which is 50-95$ depending on the exam. The tutor starts our making between 15-21$ That is anywhere from 2/5ths to 1/4th of the total value of the session going to the person who is actually physically (or virtually) teaching as well as all of the outside time and effort put into developing the lesson plans.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

    Sell for no commission

    Oct 19, 2021 - Educational Sales Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent hourly Remote work from home Equipment provided

    Cons

    No commission On the phone entire shift Glitchy system - hard to maneuver

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    job

    Sep 16, 2021 - Tutor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work from home and enjoy your passion

    Cons

    pay could be better than it is

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Decent Side Job

    Sep 13, 2021 - Online Tutor in Warminster, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Able to work at your pace Gets to meet a lot of new people Able to work from home

    Cons

    Low salary especially compared to how much they charge students

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.seasonal-current

    Training is nothing like the job

    Sep 11, 2021 - Educational Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employers are very friendly, the pay is good, it's a work from home position, they supply you with a laptop and headset

    Cons

    They force us to keep the price of services a secret from customers until the end of a consultation, which can last around 20 minutes, even if they ask upfront and then train us to haggle them down while feeding us the idea that the customers are usually okay with that. The first part is consultation, the last is purely a sales pitch and we're made to think that it isn't. It upsets a lot of customers that after they tell us they won't be able to afford our services that we are pushed to talk about different packages, knowing it takes away from the sincerity of the initial consultation. It's upsetting to customers to feel like their being fed a sales pitch and it hurts me as an employee to feel like if I don't do this, I could get in trouble. Customers get upset, talk down to me, and hang up mid conversation because they know we won't stop. If I were a consumer I would be just as upset

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Tough to get Started

    Aug 29, 2021 - Online Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The interview process was straightforward - It is a decent work from home opportunity

    Cons

    - It's difficult to get that first client, expect to spend a week or two applying to opportunities before you get a student.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Temporary Employee

    Not bad but not perfect

    Aug 13, 2021 - Educational Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer a nice flexible work-from-home ability, technology is provided, excellent hourly rates, and there is a positive environment from the whole team.

    Cons

    There can be a feeling of needing to always be available for overtime because they're constantly asking for people to cover weekends (you aren't required to but there are lots of repeated requests), the training can feel a bit rushed since it's only about 4-5 days, converting from temporary/seasonal to full-time can be difficult because you need to hit certain metrics over the course of your time with them and if you get into an early hole it can be very hard to dig yourself out. The HR & IT teams don't always seem to be in good communication or very speedy in processing necessary things.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0