Vedder Price Reviews | Glassdoor

Vedder Price Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Vedder Price CEO  Michael A. Nemeroff
Michael A. Nemeroff
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "Come join us in the 21st century(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly Atmosphere Shared Value Positive Changes in benefits, systems

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Advice to Management

    One of the best places to work. Great people, always friendly and personable on all levels, not stuffy and unapproachable like some other firms. Lots of changes in the infrastructure, benefits, policies, etc. but all moving in a positive direction. Change is difficult at time but when you see the genuine care it's easy to hold on to see what's next.

    Vedder Price2018-10-11
  2. "Great support and mentor ship, sky’s the limit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mentorship, deal flow, autonomy

    Cons

    Travel, selling to clients, repetitive work.

    Vedder Price2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "They are hiring. Do not work here. You have been warned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job. Better than being unemployed.

    Cons

    Toxic, racial and gender discrimination. Bullying is allowed and often encouraged. Abusive environment and very high turnover. Benefits, time off and "bonus" are all trash.

    Vedder Price2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "DO NOT Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vedder Price full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location, it’s close to the river

    Cons

    This place is unprofessional, has antiquated systems, management does not manage their employees, and no training. The culture is horrible, if you are not an attorney you don’t matter. Secretaries act as if they are attorneys and talk down to you. I literally was yelled at by a secretary in from of my department and aggressively approached. When I told my manager what happened she responded with, I’ve seen worse. On... boarding is like a hazing process. People ask you to do things they know you aren’t supposed to do just to make their job easier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manage your team like people and not a process

    Vedder Price2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Micromanagement at it's finest!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty much my co-workers and a few of the wellness classes

    Cons

    upper management has no idea of the favoritism in some of the departments. High turn around, that say's it all!

    Advice to Management

    Management needs training! Horrible atmosphere and employee moral at it's worst!

    Vedder Price2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Awful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is nice and the pay is good.

    Cons

    The way work is distributed is just awful and the culture among the lawyers is toxic.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize associate satisfaction and change the open market work distribtuion.

    Vedder Price2019-05-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Micromanaging at its top priority!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vedder Price full-time

    Pros

    The benefits package was the best part.

    Cons

    Some of the most unhappy secretaries and manager I've ever worked with.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so condescending and one-sided. The firm could have great potential.

    Vedder Price2019-05-23
  8. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time

    Pros

    Many long time employees, which says a lot about the firm.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons.

    Vedder Price2019-02-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vedder Price full-time

    Pros

    Mid-size firm platform with growth of business. Lots of responsibility for matters early in career and great mentorship.

    Cons

    Firm needs a new timekeeping system but that is coming soon we are told.

    Vedder Price2019-01-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best Staff Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vedder Price full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The staff is the best. Most (there are always a few) of the staff work together and help each other. Some of the best I have ever met.

    Cons

    Come join us in the 21st century.

    Advice to Management

    What management?

    Vedder Price2019-02-24
Found 60 reviews