Velocity Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Velocity Credit Union Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Velocity Credit Union President and CEO Debbie Mitchell
Debbie Mitchell
10 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive environment, they promote within. Sales incentive program wonderful.

    Cons

    Training is lacking. They send people to branches "trained" without knowing how to do anything, or any of the regulations or procedures.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2018-01-05
  2. "good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Operations Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the better credit unions

    Cons

    existing staff issues need to be reviewed

    Velocity Credit Union2019-09-23

    Velocity Credit Union Response

    October 7, 2019HR Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Branch Assocoate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good health plans, PTO, and benefits overall. Your team becomes your family. Friendly staff overall. My supervisor is extremely flexible and easy going. He/She have an open door and always welcomes good or bad feedback.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t all that good. Most settle and think “ehh it pays the bills. If we can’t get competitive pay then at least treat your team to “taco thurdays”, “friday happy hour”, or “massage monday”, etc. We’ll take anything but we need an appreciation.

    Velocity Credit Union2018-06-23
  4. "Work Here To Get Experience Then Leave For Better Pay Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Services in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very friendly co-workers and a relaxed work environment. -There is a 4% 401k match. -Pretty good medical benefits.

    Cons

    -The pay for non-management positions is not competitive with other Credit Unions in the Austin area. -There is no procedural consistency between the branches, they all do things their own way which causes problems for everyone. -There is a very high employee turnover rate due to low pay. -Velocity values seniority more than anything.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2018-02-02
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Nice air conditioned offices and you do learn a lot about the banking industry.

    Cons

    Pay isn't comparable to other jobs in this industry.

    Velocity Credit Union2017-11-28
  6. "Part Time Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Great credit union. You learn how credit unions work and also gain knowledge on services they offer for members.

    Cons

    There was really nothing wrong working at Velocity.

    Velocity Credit Union2017-09-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Going nowhere fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive benefits and a generous PTO package, but good luck getting it approved with such dreadful staffing and turnover. The marketing department is a gem in a dumpster full of rocks.

    Cons

    Upper management is completely out of touch with branch staff and needs. Pay is not competitive, especially when compared with other FIs that have streamlined technologies and procedures.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2017-10-25
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Culture, Benefits and People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union for over 16 years and really enjoyed my time there. I can honestly say that I grew up there! The people and close friendships you develop are the what I enjoyed the most. Velocity still remains my financial institution of choice even after moving on to another organization. Their products, culture, benefits and the people are what makes Velocity such a tight knit community. Their banking products I believe in and use! There are not many institutions that offer so many services for FREE. They also offer a rewards debit card that is awesome and unheard of. Employees get the perks of having these amazing products, too. The culture is welcoming. New employees are given a few weeks of new hire orientation which is also unheard of in some organizations. Executive management and middle management are friendly and supportive. I was never afraid of providing my opinion even when I knew it may not be liked by others. Velocity values change and new ideas and always allowed me to express my thoughts when I wanted/needed to. Benefits - Wow is all I can say. I sure do miss the benefits. When they say they don't get better anywhere else, listen! Their paid time off accruals are amazing and really allow for a good work life balance. Their medical insurance, dental and vision plans are stellar and above the rest. Did I mention their 401(k) plan yet?! Again, amazing! I could go on and on about their benefits alone. Work for the State of Texas? Doesn't matter! Velocity can match and beat it! Pension plan - YES! My experience at Velocity was top notch. Had they had a position for me to grow into, I would have absolutely retired from there. Velocity does not keep employees that are not willing to put in the work and effort unlike other companies with poor morale. They truly have top tier customer service in the market and have high expectations.

    Cons

    The only con I would say is that I was not able to stay to grow in my career at Velocity as they did not have a higher position for me. However, I give them credit as I cannot count how many promotions into other positions I had during my time there. I can't believe the other reviews where people mention there is no room for growth. I was part of that growth and grew many employees into better positions that are still there. I am saddened to read some negative reviews on Velocity, but perhaps these are employees that are non-performing and not tenured. Growth comes with exemplary performance and over time. It does not happen overnight.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2017-05-18
  9. "Which they had better pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    My coworkers were awesome. I built a great relationship and I enjoyed meeting the members. They give bonuses around Christmas and have a party!

    Cons

    Upper management does not get to know you. They didn't know I was even working there until about 8 months after I started working there. The pay was okay but for all they have you do and the way they expect you to keep the credit union in good light it isn't enough. They have really low retention rate because of the low pay scale.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2017-05-15
  10. "Inferior to local competitors, go elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Velocity Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are very helpful and friendly. They offer a pension if you can stand it here long enough to retire.

    Cons

    HR and Training departments are a joke. There is no procedure manual or employee Intranet. The one reference tool available is a search tool that brings up 3 outdated procedures for every 1 good one. Employees here are expected to perform far more work than better paid employees at the competition. And the cherry on top is that all of the above make for excessive turnover.

    Continue reading
    Velocity Credit Union2017-05-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews