Vena Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated June 14, 2018
56 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Shawn Cadeau
0 Ratings

56 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Most employees get to work from home at least a couple of days a week" (in 5 reviews)

  • "as far as jobs go, Vena is a great place to be" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "normal growing pains for such a fast growing company (eg" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Office space was limited and sometime conjested" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Challenging and rewarding. Given a lot responsibility at a young age with a company willing to give you a shot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fast growing, amazing, collaborative environment. Challenging roles that make great use of young talent. Very accepting of modern technology for specific job roles.

    Cons

    Management tends to be very hands off for the most part, which is understandable due to the start up nature of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Now at this time

    Vena Solutions Response

    May 11, 2017 – Chief People Person

    Thanks for your feedback. We're so glad to hear you've had a positive experience on our sales team! If you have any additional feedback don't hesitate to connect with me directly. - Tracey... More


  2. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vena Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Excel interface gets small business excited about product.

    Cons

    Product is limited to small business. Missing functionality for large enterprise especially around consolidation and ability to support large data.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about target market.

    Vena Solutions Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – Chief People Person

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Vena is a natural fit and relatively quick sell for our mid-market customers. Enterprises (5,000 employees plus organizations) certainly... More

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good, solid product that leverages Microsoft Excel better than any of the competition. The culture is also fantastic

    Cons

    Market presence. Many prospective customers have not heard of us.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in marketing

    Vena Solutions Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Chief People Person

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We agree with you that we could be doing more to enhance our market presence. We're planning to make this a focus area in the back half of... More


  4. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    PS at Vena is a great place to begin your career but keep your time here minimal.
    Fantastic opportunity to work with high-level execs, and run projects yourself.
    Exceptional sales team, you will always have work.
    Top notch office, right in Liberty. There are showers!
    Fantastic employees below management, Vena's great at hiring. I've never had such a sense of comradery.
    Half of the SMs in PS are terrific managers. Great people that you will learn a tonne from. Maybe mentors for life.
    No dress code.

    Cons

    Terrible environment; you're constantly being pressured to bill more at the expense of your personal life and client success. The targets are excessive even by consulting standards.
    Half of the SMs are horrific. They never meet you on anything and do not expect any guidance. They do contact you on billable targets or if your project has been escalated.
    There is no roadmap for your career growth and zero recognition on your performance and capabilities.
    Morale has become horrible since a jump in turnover. Management has started managing retention through fear, instead of improving the culture.
    Much of management lacks actual leadership, with very little care of anything other than company revenue.
    Tonnes of terrible sales, that are positioned for implementation failure. (Terrible contingencies, significant discounts in service hours, etc.)

    Vena Solutions Response

    May 2, 2017 – Chief Customer Officer

    I wanted to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us. I can say that, within our Leadership team and across our organization, our priority and responsibility is to provide an... More


  5. Helpful (16)

    "Eh!?! Typical Canadian culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Interesting compilation of existing technologies in the marketplace. They say Eh a lot! Granola bars and coffee in office :-)

    Cons

    Either you are in the clique, or out....but no managers will stand up for your work product, as they don't want to be considered an outsider. Not as easy to use unless you know Mongo

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the cronyism


  6. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vena Solutions part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Snack,s collaboration, no boundaries and agile work flow

    Cons

    Everyone is very busy, you have to be creative to grab time


  7. "Practice Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Director
    Current Employee - Practice Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great culture, fun, collaborative and progressive
    - Great office environment
    - Very successful company, growing fast, provides great career progression
    -Smart people, great to work with and learn from

    Cons

    -Fast pace and still has elements of a start-up/not overly structured is great for people who thrive in this environment, but not for people who like highly structured, well defined roles (i.e, working at a Bank or Gov't)

    Advice to Management

    A little more Strategic Direction.

  8. "Great Company with Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Vena has a great office & easy to get to location in Liberty Village. What I enjoy most is that I work with really smart, talented people that are passionate about what they do and about growing the company. This makes it enjoyable to come to work each day. Vena has great benefits, lots of social events and overall seems really open to any new idea that might be brought forward by anyone that works there. There is lots of opportunity for promotion with the growth the company is experiencing.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing positive change.

    Vena Solutions Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Chief People Person

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about Vena! Feel free to connect with anyone on the leadership team if you do have any suggestions going forward. - Tracey


  9. "Excellent company for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Developer in Toronto, ON (Canada)

    I worked at Vena Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good atmosphere and salary, intelligent people

    Cons

    there is nothing bad for this company

    Vena Solutions Response

    Apr 11, 2018 – Chief People Person

    Thanks for providing your feedback! If you have any specific suggestions don't hesitate to pop by my desk or send me an e-mail. - Tracey


  10. "BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDR in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - BDR in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    amazing company culture!
    great support team
    teamwork
    management always there when you need them

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about Vena. Truly an amazing organization to work for

    Vena Solutions Response

    Mar 9, 2018 – Chief People Person

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. It is really great to hear that you've been enjoying your time here at Vena. We're always thinking about what we can do to make things even... More


Showing 56 of 59 reviews
Reset Filters