Vend Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Vend Interim CEO Ana Wight (no image)
Ana Wight
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is generally speaking very flexible, you can work flexible hours, work remotely and also work from home from time to time(in 15 reviews)

  • "I had a good work-life balance and got to work with some very smart and kind people(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Working in Melbourne is like being in high school(in 6 reviews)

  • "No real path to career development (But that is being fixed and changes are already noticeable)(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the most exciting opportunities you'll come across...

      Nov 26, 2014 - Marketing in Auckland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has a legit chance of becoming the best in the world at what we do, which is super inspiring and makes you jump out of bed in the morning to get to work. The projects and opportunities available to you are endless, and you can really rise within the company to whatever you're capable of.

      Cons

      The pace at Vend is super fast, so if you're not on the ball and on top of your game then you can get left behind. Also, you'll need to adapt well to change as the company is growing rapidly.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful

      Vend Response

      People Experience Partner

      Hi there, Thanks for your review and the positive feedback. Great to hear you're loving Vend and excited for our future. Best Heather (People Experience Partner)

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      An interesting time...

      Apr 20, 2021 - Customer Advocate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice colleagues and cool team events.

      Cons

      Knowledge articles that are to be used as guides for troubleshooting are often missing steps or aren't very clear. Team leads seem to think that there's one easy-fix for problems that are actually more complicated. When asking team leads for assistance they often just redirect you to the same uncomprehensive resources because they themselves don't know the answer or have a solution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great success story

      Apr 24, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, strong CEO a lot of growth potential

      Cons

      Could pay a little higher

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice place if you need a job and not much more

      Dec 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      vend hires friendly and kind ppl that always want to help you in your job culture is always have good time and celebrate each other open to LGBT+ and multi culturalism and diversity

      Cons

      managers are not competent and do not know your workload and will work you till you are burned out many managers are robots and do not think on their own and only pass on ideas from executives and vice presidents which makes it very frustrating career grow is very limited in this company so i suggest only take if you need money not because you think will have room to develop product is buggy and customers will be rude to you because the product does not work even though inside vend everyone celebrate product like best thing since slice bread you will not get much support from your managers and you left to figure everything out yourself and if you dont like it i think you should fix new resume instead of try to fix the company there is also bad high school vibe here. if you are the cool kids then you be okay but if not then you will know quickly and you should plan to leave because if you are not in the cool kids club then you will not get anything from the company everyone say they are happy everyday but you talk to them more than 30 minute they tell you that they are stressed and the job is not so good

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Vend Response

      P&C

      Hi there! Thank you for leaving a review. We certainly agree we have a great team here! However, I'm sorry to hear you are not having a great experience with your manager and that you feel they are not empowered. I'm also concerned that you are not getting the support that you need and that you feel there is no growth opportunity. I'd love to talk to you more about this to understand your situation. Please reach out to me so I can see if I can help Lisa P&C

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice working environment

      Mar 29, 2021 - Payroll Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High salary package, nice and friendly colleagues, Good leader.

      Cons

      not much of health insurance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Supportive and Enjoyable

      Mar 24, 2021 - Quality Assurance Specialist in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great development opportunities Lots of time for personal development and it's highly encouraged

      Cons

      Departments operate in silos at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 21, 2021 - Channel Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      too many to list, great office space

      Cons

      growing pains, hq in APAC makes some meetings hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pretty good

      Apr 19, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work in general

      Cons

      Rapidly changing environments and processes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture

      Mar 20, 2021 - Sales in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, office space/work environment.

      Cons

      Weak sales leadership, limited hands on sales experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Start your career!

      Jun 7, 2020 - Retailer Advocate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great office environment with really cool people and culture. I made some great friends here , and it really did feel like a family. Vend is an excellent place to start your career if you're new to the job force. If you grab an entry level position and excel at it, you can quickly grow and develop and the management team will help you do that (and even proactively encourage it!). Vend takes a serious investment in the development of its people. They foster an environment where an idea from anyone in the company can come into action as long as the idea is solid. If you have skills but little experience and want to start your career on the right foot, Vend is a great place to do that. Compensation is also somewhat above average for the type of work you'll be doing.

      Cons

      Recruitment for management needs work. Middle management positions are often awarded to those who, while well intentioned, are not equipped for the role. These people struggle, and then look to higher management for guidance, meaning that higher management actually has a disproportionate say in the day-to-day. While Vend does this to encourage the development of its people as mentioned above, this is sometimes at the detriment of teams. In my time at Vend, I saw a few external managers hired. They were very impactful, and blended into the culture seamlessly. Vend should not shy away from external leadership hiring if that’s where they need to go.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vend Response

      P&C

      Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time and got to develop your career. We put a lot of focus on our people's development and are so happy to hear about it live in action. We also strive to always have the right people in the right roles, whether that be as an internal or external hire. Where ever they are from we do our best to develop them and to learn from all the great people here at Vend. Thanks Again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 163 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Work at Vend? Share Your Experiences

    Vend logo
    or