Venn Group "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Venn Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Venn Group Chief Executive Deirdra Moynihan
Deirdra Moynihan
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team Commission Structure is really great, it gives you invaluable support when creating new business in multiple markets(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good training structure for a junior, team based so opportunity to take home good commission early doors(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency(in 42 reviews)

  • "Only allowed 20 minutes lunch break which you’re expected to work through too(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Work life balance zero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team commission, some good clients

    Cons

    Long hours, no incentives, no work life balance, bad senior management

    Venn Group2019-10-07

    Venn Group Response

    October 16, 2019Senior Manager

    I am disappointed to read that you did not have a more positive experience working with us. And while I am glad you saw the benefits of our unique team commission structure and had exposure to working with some of our many interesting clients, I am surprised by your comments about your work life balance. It is true the hours in recruitment can be longer than those in other roles but we foster a social culture to encourage work life balance including many team business unit and office after-work socials and activities. In addition to a successful trial this summer our senior management have implemented reduced working hours across all our offices. We also believe our incentives are very competitive, one of which is our team commission structure which you have listed as a positive aspect of our experience at Venn Group. Others include our all expenses paid celebration meals, Vennture Rewards points system and clear Pathways and Milestones progression structure. We wish you well in your new career.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very clear progression structure and clear pay increase guide

    Cons

    Long hours, felt like cold-calling, slow paced to say it was recruitment, clicky office

    Venn Group2019-08-30

    Venn Group Response

    September 2, 2019Senior Manager

    I am surprised and slightly confused regarding your comments about us being misleading, as you have clearly cited the clarity of our progression and career development as pros of working at Venn Group. A career in the recruitment industry does involve working longer hours than other roles and cold calling enables us to win new business. We are very transparent about these elements of the job, and they should have been relayed to you during the interview process. I am sorry if this was not the case. We wish you success in the future.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone genuinely friendly, team based commission so there are no cutthroat attitudes, everyone works hard but has time for a laugh

    Cons

    Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-25

    Venn Group Response

    July 30, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with Venn Group so far. Our team-based structure gives all new starters immediate access to a wealth of knowledge from their experienced colleagues, allowing them to learn and progress quickly. You rightly point out that our team commission scheme further provides incentive to your team members and management to get you up to speed as quickly as possible, which leads to a genuinely supportive environment. While the hours can be longer than in other industries, we believe the welcoming working environment and comradery amongst colleagues makes Venn Group a great place to work. It is fantastic to read that you agree. We wish you every success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Company, Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Over my 5 years with Venn Group I have been privileged to be a recipient of their training and I worked under great Managers who helped mould my career to the point where I was able to progress and develop. The help and support from the staff and management makes you feel very welcome and they show faith in all consultants which results in a feeling of job security.

    Cons

    Recruitment in general can be long hours however Venn Group is one of the best for work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-17

    Venn Group Response

    July 24, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We truly believe that our fantastic training, supportive working environment and team-based ethos make Venn Group unique in the industry and are what help our consultants to succeed and progress through the company, even with no prior recruitment experience. It is great to read that you found this to be the case when working with us. Thank you for all your hard work during your 5 years with us. We wish you every future success in your career.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team basis is brilliant when starting out in the industry, excellent on desk and formal training from the Managers and Training & Development team. A very social culture in the office with some great non work activities, nights out, football team, etc

    Cons

    Hours are long, but that is recruitment in general

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-18

    Venn Group Response

    July 24, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for providing this review. As you point out, teamwork lies at the heart of Venn Group, evidenced in its simplest form by our team structure. This gives our new starters immediate access to a wealth of knowledge and support, alongside exceptional training from Management and our dedicated in-house training team. We believe this focus on working together transpires outside of the office, so it is fantastic to read that you have found this to be the case and have enjoyed the social side of Venn Group. The hours can be long and recruitment is by no means an easy industry, but it is great to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and reaped the benefits of what Venn Group has to offer as an employer. We wish you continued success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Work closely with managers Clear structure to the day

    Cons

    Hours are long Oversold on progression/comission

    Venn Group2019-07-04

    Venn Group Response

    July 15, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time at Venn Group and appreciated our friendly and collaborative working environment. While the hours of a Recruitment Consultant are longer than those you might find in other roles, ours are standard for the industry. We have also taken steps to improve the transparency of progression within the company through our Pathways & Milestones structure, and encourage all consultants to speak to their senior management if any further clarification is needed on promotions and commission. We wish you every success in your future career.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group for less than a year

    Pros

    I have in the past seen clearly copied and pasted reviews on glassdoor, wherein a supervisor or manager had written the review for the employee. But i can honestly say that Venn Group has been fantastic. The environment is one of hard work but equal measures of fun. there is a great sense that if you work you can achieve. I am very happy at Venn group. My recruiter for Venn was alexandra Brown who made the process seemless: In the past I have been put off recruitment, mainly due to the overselling and unrealistic promises being set out by the internal recruitment department of other rec agencies. Additionally, the rumours of recruitment and its culture had delayed my eventual placement. But my interactions with alex completely put me at ease. My initial phone conversation with alex came off the back of a very taxing conversation with a rec to rec agency which promised exorbitant commission and idealistic promotions all within the first few months. Alex managed to completely change my perception of what recruitment can be like in a very honest and frank conversation, whilst also inquiring about my own skills. Alex’s capability to remain professional and getting to the point whilst at the same time remaining responsive was refreshing to come across. The next phone call was centred around my career background where I was able to demonstrate my suitability to the role without lack of understanding on Alex’s part. The speed and flexibility in which Alex was able to fit me into her schedule at all stages of the interview process was excellent and I felt that her professionalism in organising it so quickly was encouraging. The face to face interviews were exceptional and I felt that Alex gave me enough time to thoroughly go through my CV and explain how I would suit the role. The second interview and task which was scheduled only two days later, was a great way to validate my ability to carry out the role and the pointers Alex gave me to steer me in the right direction enabled me to demonstrate my abilities even clearer. The interview process was great and Alex facilitated my entry into Venn Group brilliantly.

    Cons

    Long hours, but that is to be expected in recruitment

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-03-07
  8. "Money Motivated? Then this job is for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Provide good parties and good commission structure and progression.

    Cons

    Long hours in office environment. You're paid to be a hindrance to clients, and there's no way round it. No proper lunch breaks.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-02-27

    Venn Group Response

    March 4, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed the strong social element within Venn Group whilst also appreciating our excellent commission structure and career and recognition scheme “Pathways and Milestones”. The hours can be long, but this is normal in the recruitment industry, as the excellent service we provide often needs to take place outside of the 9-5. As a company, we find people new jobs and place crucial staff into organisations. On average we place 17 positions a day, so rather than a hinderance I would suggest it is a necessary and vital service. Our management team have progressed to their positions from being consultants themselves, and are therefore enjoying the success and rewards that Venn Group offers for excellent performance. We wish you well in your future career. Kind regards Elly Hanna

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A great way to get your foot in the door to learn about the big wide world of recruitment, but that’s about it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brand new office to work in Really good training programme the skills you learn can be transferred into any recruitment role Team commission structure Work colleagues are very sociable Team and charity nights out Flexi days You are allocated a buddy who helps and supports you through your probation period Easy interview got hired in 2 days It is a sales role, so it is very target driven, if you work hard the results will show.

    Cons

    High turnover of staff Very long hours, 8-6 everyday. You are promised an hour lunch break but you are lucky enough to have 15 minutes to yourself. If you left at 6pm you were questioned about your work ethic. By the time it was the weekend I was drained out. Micromangement style of managing employees I never felt I could be left to my own devices and work independently. I often felt like I was back in school. After a while it knocked my confidence as I just felt like I was just a target who was only there to make 200 calls.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-02-02

    Venn Group Response

    February 11, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read all the pros about your experience with us; we pride ourselves on our on boarding of graduate/non-experienced intake. All our growth is organic so our training and buddy system ensures people can succeed and attain promotions and monetary reward. In the recruitment industry there is a higher turnover of staff at the associate consultant/entry intake, as it is in this period that new consultants really learn what is required of them and if this is the career for them. Our hours are not unique in this industry, as we work with professionals who also work these hours, but your lack of breaks is concerning and I would urge you to contact me in order to investigate further. In London we have implemented running clubs and lunch groups so these should not have been limited for you. Our KPIs and management of newer consultants is exacting, and it is this style that has enabled so many to progress and succeed rapidly to have independence, but we do appreciate it is not for all. We wish you luck in your future career and hope the skills you learned are useful. Kind regards

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Management and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A massive pro is the management and the training Venn Group provide. From day one, the team/manager support you and coach you into becoming a 360 consultant as well as developing your market knowledge. The culture is positive and hardworking, and is a very good place to work for anyone who wants a commercial type role with financial insentives. The biggest pro is being treated like a team player and being a valued member of staff. As long as this is still the case, I will continue to enjoy working at Venn Group.

    Cons

    The hours are long - that is just the nature of the industry. Different markets are harder than others, this needs to be recognised more and helped to even out. It can be disheartening to consultants putting in 100% but not seeing the outcome for a long time, whereas others see instant results/commision.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2018-12-12

    Venn Group Response

    January 8, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is fantastic to read that you have had a positive experience working at Venn Group. We foster a welcoming and collaborative culture, which combined with our excellent training, gives all consultants the tools to thrive professionally and personally. As you mention, there are good financial incentives to those who put in the hard work. However, with regards to the difficulties in different markets, I would encourage you to speak to your manager. They will have extensive experience within your market, and so will be well placed to help you reach your milestones. We wish you every continued success with us.

    Continue reading
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews