Venn Group "lunch break" Reviews | Glassdoor

Venn Group Employee Reviews about "lunch break"

Updated Mar 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Venn Group Chief Executive Deirdra Moynihan
Deirdra Moynihan
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team Commission Structure is really great, it gives you invaluable support when creating new business in multiple markets(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good training structure for a junior, team based so opportunity to take home good commission early doors(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency(in 42 reviews)

  • "Only allowed 20 minutes lunch break which you’re expected to work through too(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lunch break"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great start to recruitment but soon lacks opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group

    Pros

    The team structure can be a great environment and a plus for clients, if you have a good team. The social side of the job is great and you need to work hard to hit KPIs but that’s recruitment/sales in general. Pathways & milestones is transparent and you get pay rises based on what you bill, as opposed to other agencies where some get preferential treatment. As long as the team billing is strong, the team commission can be strong too.

    Cons

    Managers really need ongoing training and more accountability. High turnover of new employees isn’t a good enough reason to ignore unfit management. Only promoting internally is a great selling point of Venn but can allow for incompetent managers in-post due to a lack of alternatives. Genuine concerns raised internally are ignored or dismissed as the consultant’s fault. Real lunch breaks should be allowed as forcing employees to stay in the office when the team isn’t working anyway doesn’t increase productivity, it does the opposite. Venn Group is a great start for a recruitment career but other agencies offer more in the long run. The previous review mentioning no opportunities to progress is true. You won’t get promoted unless a manager leaves and if you don’t want to pursue that route, pathways & milestones only provides pay rises if you have a lucrative market. Overall, I would recommended joining if you’re new to recruitment and providing you have a competent manager to report to. If it works out - great, if not - there are other agencies out there and you’ll then have the experience to know what to look for.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2020-03-08

    Venn Group Response

    March 13, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and great to see the positives you have experienced so far at Venn Group In relation to management, we are currently piloting external training for existing managers. We believe in continual learning and development for all employees and hope to roll this out to other managers in the coming months. If you have any concerns we encourage you to speak with your director or the HR team. All employees are allowed to take time away from the desk, and this is actively encouraged. Time away from the desk is important to recharge, refocus and set you up for the afternoon ahead! Your comment about managerial promotional opportunities is however incorrect. You are right in that the number of managers that leave Venn Group are few, however many employees who have been promoted to manager have done so because they have expanded a market and created another team in that market. The number of managers at Venn Group over the last few years has increased year and year, showing there are lots of opportunities to be promoted to manager.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Evil company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all. Everything terrible.

    Cons

    Every single day I felt anxiety in the pit of my stomach just walking through the door. A truly evil and horrendous company to work for. I never had a lunch break and I was constantly shouted and bullied on a daily basis by management. The targets were absolutely ridiculous and on more than one occasion I saw people almost crying. Please don't work here, you're worth so much more. They don't even pay you well.

    Venn Group2019-09-23

    Venn Group Response

    September 27, 2019Senior Manager

    I am very concerned to read about your experience working with us. Your comments regarding the conduct of management and lack of lunch breaks go completely against the ethos and values of Venn Group, so I would request that you get in touch with us so we can investigate further. You can reach us at info@venngroup.com.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None at all the worst company I’ve ever experienced.

    Cons

    Bullied by management, no such thing as a lunch break or anytime to eat anything at your desk, 12 hour days and still made to feel bad for being the first to leave, just overall a horrendous experience.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-09-23

    Venn Group Response

    September 27, 2019Senior Manager

    I am very disappointed to read your review. As you will notice from other responses on this website, we are always happy to take on board constructive criticism and feedback, and regularly request further details from reviewers so we can address issues internally. However, there are elements of your review which cannot be true of someone who has worked at Venn Group. It appears that there is a trolling effort on our Glassdoor page, as we have had four bad reviews in quick succession, which does not correlate to the number of leavers we have had. Your statement about spending 12 hours in the office is fabricated, as none of our premises are open for 12 hours a day. In any case, while the working hours in recruitment can be longer than in other roles, we have introduced reduced hours after a successful trial this summer and enforcement from our senior management. We also recognise the importance of lunch breaks, with initiatives such as our London running club introduced to encourage positive use of these; which you would have certainly been aware of. Our team-based structure fosters a supportive and social working environment, yet your review completely contradicts this. We certainly do not condone any form of bullying or intimidation in the workplace, so please let us know the details by emailing info@venngroup.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Long day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Good people Structured progression Sociable company

    Cons

    Very very long days No lunch break

    Venn Group2019-06-17

    Venn Group Response

    June 27, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. It’s positive to read your appreciation of our people and the opportunities we offer to progress. We are a sociable company and our team based structure fosters an environment of support and collaboration meaning that there is always someone to cover your work when you leave the desk. I am therefore surprised that you were unable to have a break and would like to open a dialogue as to how this occurred, we take mental health seriously and breaks are the most basic requirement. So please contact me at vgcomms@venngroup.com so I can investigate. We work industry standard hours of 8:30 to 18:00 supporting professionals who work similar hours. I apologise if this was not conveyed when you were offered the role as we always try to give an accurate portrayal of the role. I wish you luck in your future career. Elly Hanna Head of Communications

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Better off Unemployed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There aren't any pros to working here

    Cons

    The management team don't know how to manage, instead they bully you and threaten you into working hard, you don't get a lunch break, or any sort of break. Feels like you are still at school, might want to ask to go to the bathroom just in case. If you thought you were an adult, Venn will make you feel like a naughty school child. They will sell it to you really well but its the opposite to what you expect. They only recruit grads, and rather than being a valued member of the team, you are treated like a minion. A very childish atmosphere- recruitment is a tough industry, but Venn is backwards.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-06-05

    Venn Group Response

    June 10, 2019Senior Manager

    I am very disappointed to read your review. All our managers started with Venn Group as consultants and learned how to manage by combining their experience with bespoke development from our training team. This means they fully understand how it feels to start out in recruitment and how tough it can be. Our recent Learn 2019 survey captured that 92% felt fairly valued so your experience is definitely not typical, and I would welcome the opportunity to investigate further. With regards to lunch breaks, we actively encourage positive use of breaks with running clubs and lunch offers, so as above I would value more specific information. Please email vgcomms@venngroup.com where we can open a dialogue. Thank you

    Continue reading
  6. "Money Motivated? Then this job is for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Provide good parties and good commission structure and progression.

    Cons

    Long hours in office environment. You're paid to be a hindrance to clients, and there's no way round it. No proper lunch breaks.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-02-27

    Venn Group Response

    March 4, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed the strong social element within Venn Group whilst also appreciating our excellent commission structure and career and recognition scheme “Pathways and Milestones”. The hours can be long, but this is normal in the recruitment industry, as the excellent service we provide often needs to take place outside of the 9-5. As a company, we find people new jobs and place crucial staff into organisations. On average we place 17 positions a day, so rather than a hinderance I would suggest it is a necessary and vital service. Our management team have progressed to their positions from being consultants themselves, and are therefore enjoying the success and rewards that Venn Group offers for excellent performance. We wish you well in your future career. Kind regards Elly Hanna

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A great way to get your foot in the door to learn about the big wide world of recruitment, but that’s about it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brand new office to work in Really good training programme the skills you learn can be transferred into any recruitment role Team commission structure Work colleagues are very sociable Team and charity nights out Flexi days You are allocated a buddy who helps and supports you through your probation period Easy interview got hired in 2 days It is a sales role, so it is very target driven, if you work hard the results will show.

    Cons

    High turnover of staff Very long hours, 8-6 everyday. You are promised an hour lunch break but you are lucky enough to have 15 minutes to yourself. If you left at 6pm you were questioned about your work ethic. By the time it was the weekend I was drained out. Micromangement style of managing employees I never felt I could be left to my own devices and work independently. I often felt like I was back in school. After a while it knocked my confidence as I just felt like I was just a target who was only there to make 200 calls.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-02-02

    Venn Group Response

    February 11, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read all the pros about your experience with us; we pride ourselves on our on boarding of graduate/non-experienced intake. All our growth is organic so our training and buddy system ensures people can succeed and attain promotions and monetary reward. In the recruitment industry there is a higher turnover of staff at the associate consultant/entry intake, as it is in this period that new consultants really learn what is required of them and if this is the career for them. Our hours are not unique in this industry, as we work with professionals who also work these hours, but your lack of breaks is concerning and I would urge you to contact me in order to investigate further. In London we have implemented running clubs and lunch groups so these should not have been limited for you. Our KPIs and management of newer consultants is exacting, and it is this style that has enabled so many to progress and succeed rapidly to have independence, but we do appreciate it is not for all. We wish you luck in your future career and hope the skills you learned are useful. Kind regards

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Training isn’t bad, good eye opener to the kind of recruitment company you don’t want to work for

    Cons

    -Expected to be in work at 8am and work until at least 6pm. Only allowed 20 minutes lunch break which you’re expected to work through too. -Usually spend at least 6 hours a day cold calling -Company likely in breach of data protection laws and underpay contractors to make a bigger margin for themselves. -Heavily targeting environment, will have KPIs for roughly 150 cold calls per month. -Commission structure is appalling, only earn commission on placements made when you’ve won the business so takes 12-18months to earn a liveable wage -Toxic environment with a ‘lad’ and ‘work hard, play hard’ culture, including drug abuse -Managers shout and swear at Consultants and generally bully

    Venn Group2019-01-27

    Venn Group Response

    February 11, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write the above. I will go through each of your statements: 1. Our contracted hours are 8.30am to 6pm. It is important however, to understand that we are a task-driven organisation and the type of individuals who excel are not driven by set hours. As you know, our clients and candidates are available at varying times which include early mornings and evenings so, like all professional recruitment companies, our consultants like to be available at these times. Whether the hours are long or short is less important than the ability to achieve and progress. 2. To place such a negative inference on “cold” calling is unusual. Our strength as a business is to train and develop individuals with no recruitment experience into consultants who are credible, capable and have the ability to take control of their (often sizeable) earnings. Part of this is learning to build business, build relationships and suffer setbacks. Phoning clients to develop business is a core skill of a good recruiter and our training means that these calls, although difficult, are vital to an individual's development. I would also point out that very quickly these calls are no longer “cold” calls and are “warm” relationships. To all of us who have done this it is a sizeable achievement. 3. a. We have an internal compliance team, data protection officer and GDPR risk consultant employed by us to ensure all data is secure. We take this very seriously and if you think there is any breach you should make us aware immediately so we can follow the due process. b. The people we work with are the key to our success, clients and candidates. As an 18 year old business there is no way we would actively work against our long term aims by not paying candidates appropriately. There would never be a situation where a candidate would take an assignment unless they agreed to the rate first and underpayment is not something we would ever do. 4. Again I find the negative inference on this unusual. We offer clear structured training which includes all aspects of the recruitment process and some very specific targeting. We believe in giving our consultants the tools to be a success. This job is challenging and we can use our experience to help teach habits that build solid foundations for the rest of the individual's career. When our staff start we make no excuse in setting out the structure of the day and the number of calls, meetings, training courses and interviews that are required, but as our staff develop then these targets alter. The structure then becomes dictated to us by the consultants, and our job changes to be one of support as we encourage and mentor consultants in their individual markets. 5. We operate a commission structure that has percentage of team commission to ensure new consultants benefit from their part in placing roles prior to creating their own portfolio. So I am not sure you fully understood our structure. We are highly competitive in earning capacity for graduates; we need to be as they have built our company. 6. Please contact me about this, as I need to investigate and take this very seriously. This is not something we are aware of or would accept. 7. Please contact me about this, as I need to investigate and take this very seriously. This is not something we are aware of or would accept. I wish you luck in your future career. Elly Hanna

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Nice people to work with, good opportunity to develop but long hours and oversold first year salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Far less cut throat than a lot of recruitment agencies you read about, friendly atmosphere and it's pretty hard to get fired even if you're not billing highly. Sociable atmosphere as long as you like to drink. High staff turnover as is industry standard but f you can stick it out then there's lots of opportunity to progress and increase your earnings substantially within 2 years. Team commission structure creates a nice team atmosphere.

    Cons

    They massively over sell the first year earnings, OTE £35k in your first year they say, however in reality you will start on an 18k salary and probably won't crack more than £25k with commission in your first year. There are exceptions who do make alot more than that in year 1 but there are a lot who will also make even less - it can be quite luck dependant depending on what team you are in. The 'graduate training scheme' is also not that at all - it is on the job learning and many consultants don't even have a degree. Its also very long hours - 8-6 every day and only a half an hour lunch break.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2018-11-13

    Venn Group Response

    November 20, 2018Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and recommend Venn Group. Collaboration is at the core of Venn Group, so I am pleased to read you have experienced our friendly, supportive and sociable environment. As you mentioned, our Pathways & Milestones progression and rewards scheme enables fast accelerated earnings and circa 35k is our average for this period. I was however concerned to read that you have not been given off desk training and would compel you to speak to your manager or director. We pride ourselves on the training and support we give to our new starters (who are not all graduates, as we now look to judge applicants on suitability and core competencies) to enable them to bill as quickly as possible. The hours are long, but the rewards do come in return. We can and do offer flexibility, so I would encourage you to ask your line manager. If you do experience any issues at this point, I would recommend you speak to our HR team. We wish you continued success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Good training in place for graduates

    Cons

    Archaic, boiler-room style environment heavily focused on KPIs and quantity over quality. Theres a reason they only hire graduates. Much better recruitment companies out there. Poor earning opportunities. Non-existent lunch break. Lots of micromanagement.

    Venn Group2018-10-31

    Venn Group Response

    November 6, 2018Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. I am pleased to read your acknowledgement of our excellent training, which for over a decade has enabled our new consultants to succeed in a career in recruitment. Our KPIs are also a part of this accelerated development plan. The best way to imbed learning and increase ability is through experience, and our aim is to give our new consultants the skills needed to increase their earnings as quickly as possible through our transparent and attainable Pathways & Milestones rewards structure. This programme was introduced last year and has seen 225 promotions for consultants reaching set benchmarks; a great success. We are proud of our recruitment model but realise it is not for everyone. I am concerned to read your representation of our working environment. While we expect our consultants to hit their targets, the atmosphere we foster is one of community and comradery, and our team structure means that it is in the interests of your colleagues to support you to succeed. Good luck in your next role.

    Continue reading
Found 29 reviews