Venn Group "team based" Reviews | Glassdoor

Venn Group Employee Reviews about "team based"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Venn Group Chief Executive Deirdra Moynihan
Deirdra Moynihan
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team Commission Structure is really great, it gives you invaluable support when creating new business in multiple markets(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good training structure for a junior, team based so opportunity to take home good commission early doors(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency(in 42 reviews)

  • "Only allowed 20 minutes lunch break which you’re expected to work through too(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team based"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good for experience when starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training structure for a junior, team based so opportunity to take home good commission early doors

    Cons

    Not so great for more mature consultants, no path other than management, and not enough management ops

    Venn Group2020-02-07

    Venn Group Response

    February 12, 2020Senior Manager

    Thank you for the review, and great to see your positive feedback. I was surprised to see your comment about no path other than management. We have a clearly documented progression structure for those who do not wish to manage a team within our Pathways and Milestones scheme.

    Continue reading
  2. "Excellent start to recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Venn Group offers excellent training to new consultants and the team based commission structure creates a fantastically supportive and collaborative environment. If you are driven and want to progress your career, the senior management will support you all the way and training continues right into and through management.

    Cons

    The job is very KPI and target heavy, but from founded reasons. Just be prepared and make sure that you will be motivate by that kind of environment before you start.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-11-08

    Venn Group Response

    November 11, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it's great to hear you've had such a positive experience. We've taken you comments on board about targets and wish you luck with your new employer!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Genuinely supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Venn Group for over 5 years and am really sad to have left ( move abroad) . I joined with no experience and was able to take advantage of excellent training and a really supportive team based environment where colleagues and management genuinely support each individual's progress. You are able to have real control over your financial rewards and your career progression and it is a genuinely meritocratic environment . Yes, people work hard but there is also a lot of fun to be had and a lot of social events that happen . All the Directors and management work alongside all the staff and you are able to input ideas and see positive changes made .

    Cons

    The London office Thursday running club runs too fast !

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-30

    Venn Group Response

    August 12, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Venn Group. We believe our team structure and emphasis on collaboration makes us unique in the industry, facilitating a truly supportive environment. Everyone, from consultant to director level, takes pride in sharing their knowledge and experience with new starters, and when combined with our exceptional training this allows them to progress rapidly in their careers. Recruitment is an industry where hard work is of paramount importance, but you correctly state that it is very meritocratic; with many rewards coming as a result of your efforts. There is also a real comradery amongst colleagues, which makes the office a social, supportive and enjoyable place to work. Thank you for all your hard work during your 5+ years at Venn Group. Good luck in your move abroad; we wish you every success in the future.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone genuinely friendly, team based commission so there are no cutthroat attitudes, everyone works hard but has time for a laugh

    Cons

    Long hours, but to be expected for a recruitment agency

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-25

    Venn Group Response

    July 30, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with Venn Group so far. Our team-based structure gives all new starters immediate access to a wealth of knowledge from their experienced colleagues, allowing them to learn and progress quickly. You rightly point out that our team commission scheme further provides incentive to your team members and management to get you up to speed as quickly as possible, which leads to a genuinely supportive environment. While the hours can be longer than in other industries, we believe the welcoming working environment and comradery amongst colleagues makes Venn Group a great place to work. It is fantastic to read that you agree. We wish you every success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Enjoyable place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Venn Group as a Manager for the last 6 years. Venn Group offers realistic career progression, organic growth and a team based commission structure that is like no other. To say "get out what you put in" couldn't be more appropriate. Directors and Senior Manager work along side staff at all levels and have real input to associate consultants and other trainee positions. The offices across the board offer a good social life and implement positive changes based on staff feedback on a regular basis.

    Cons

    May not be suited to individual minded Sales Consultants

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-07-18

    Venn Group Response

    July 24, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you have reaped the rewards of our distinctive approach to recruitment, and would like to thank you for your hard work over the last 6 years. It is true that our employees are invested in each other’s success, with everyone from our Directors to Support Staff sitting on the same open plan sales floor and promoting only from within. This fosters a collaborative and supportive environment, which offers great opportunity for new starters to learn from those with a wealth of knowledge and experience. You rightly point out that Venn Group is unique in the industry and may not be suited to everyone, due to its emphasis on team based working and commission as opposed to more individually minded agencies. We wish you further success and happiness in your Venn Group career.

    Continue reading
  6. "Lively, rewarding and a great team based role to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant support from managers and directors who are approachable and grounded. You are given independence and are not treated like a child-you are expected to work to a certain level and to be proactive which suits how I prefer to work. There is also a great team spirit as there is always someone to help you and assist you with finding clients and candidates-the team based commission is a great idea and motivates each individual.

    Cons

    The only thing negative I can think of(which I understand why it happens but maybe the amount of time it takes place could be reviewed) is the fact that you don't earn commission until 3 months into your career at Venn Group. Within a couple of weeks you are doing the same role as your team and finding candidates for them and getting jobs on, however you are not reaping the financial rewards that they are. Some people may find that demotivating. You are praised for your work and get gratification but it may be disheartening for some to see that their performance is not getting the same financial benefits as the rest of the team.

    Venn Group2019-04-15

    Venn Group Response

    April 25, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you for providing this review. I agree that our collaborative environment provides consultants with the tools to excel in their careers. By gaining exposure to and support from experienced colleagues, new starters can develop rapidly. As you rightly point out, our team commission scheme (TCS) means it is in your team’s interest for you to succeed, which in turn fosters an encouraging working environment. We are always looking to improve our offering as an employer, so thank you for your feedback on the eligibility for our TCS. This three-month period before your entry to the TCS is a time of intense training and support, where new consultants are given huge amounts of time by all members of the team. It is fantastic that you are feeling so confident, however I can guarantee there is still a lot to learn and your passage will have been eased by your team to ensure you feel positive and motivated to keep developing, and eventually progress along the Pathways and Milestones scheme. It is also worth noting that you are entitled to the individual element of commission on your own placements as soon as they occur, irrespective of probation. If you need further clarification of our pay structure, please speak to your manager or speak to Kirsty MacDougall our HR Manager who you will meet, or have already met, in your probation debrief. We wish you every continued success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent team based commission structure - it is highly beneficial for both new starters (allowing them to increase earnings quickly) and established billers (no longer hitting a ceiling and taking home a small % of their earnings) Progression opportunities are there for those who want them, there are always new teams starting or evolving, and as Venn Group only promotes from within, then the cream tends to rise to the top. Really good social aspect to the company, with paid for month end drinks and activities throughout the year.

    Cons

    As with any recruitment agency, the hours can be long and the work-life balance is often difficult to get right. Starting salary is lower than most of our competitors - this is quickly remedied with team commission structure, and you'll probably make more by the end of Y1 with Venn Group than elsewhere, but this can be difficult to explain to potential talent.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2019-03-21

    Venn Group Response

    March 25, 2019Senior Manager

    Thank you very much for providing this review. I agree that our team based commission structure offers a great financial incentive for both new starters and established consultants. This is complemented by the opportunities for progression within Venn Group, reinforced by our commitment to promoting from within. This has been made especially transparent by our Pathways and Milestones model, which has seen record numbers of promotions since its implementation. I am also pleased to read that you enjoy the social aspect of Venn Group. You rightly point out that the hours can be long within the recruitment industry, but we are focused on fostering a welcoming atmosphere and comradery amongst colleagues, both in and out of the office, to reward them for their hard work. We wish you every continued success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  8. "Venn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venn Group full-time

    Pros

    Venn Group is different to other agencies! It is team based, which means that your colleagues are able to support you throughout. This also generates a really friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Not really a Con for Venn Group but for the industry as a whole, be prepared to work longer hours throughout the week.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2018-03-07
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I recently left Venn Group after a great 2.5 years that saw me progress through the company. It was a difficult decision to choose to leave but I decided it was the right time to try a new career. One of the main reasons I was successful at Venn Group was because of the great support network that is central to the team based ethos. Having a team behind you who are there to guide you every step of the way through your career certainly helped me. This is very unique in the recruitment industry but is ultimately why I was able to enjoy my time at Venn Group. The training provided is not only thorough but also innovative and engaging and is what best prepared me for a career in recruitment. The mix of theory based and practical learning is key in ensuring employees are ready for both the client and candidate facing sides of the role. The open plan office structure is a great way for new employees to engage with senior people throughout the business from day one. Again, I think this is rare within most companies for employees to speak to their CEO’s/Directors on a daily basis. The social culture at Venn Group is great, as there are many team nights out, company charity days and month end work nights out. Working with great people who I was more than happy to engage with both in and out of the office environment was fantastic. I am very grateful for the opportunities, guidance and support that I had whilst I worked there.

    Cons

    Long Hours - this is the nature of the recruitment industry/ most jobs though!

    Venn Group2017-10-04
  10. "A steep but enjoyable learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Consultant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venn Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A strong team based culture that runs rich amongst the office (Milton Keynes in this instance). The ability to share ideas or discuss anything with senior management at any point. Team based commission. Strong learning and development initiatives. Incentive based rewards scheme that credits top performers. The list goes on...

    Cons

    None from my end. Some people may see the hours as a con, but the right person for this job will appreciate that putting in the graft will yield excellent results. If you're scared of working long hours recruitment probably isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Venn Group2017-06-29
Found 21 reviews