Venterra Realty "core values" Reviews | Glassdoor

Venterra Realty Employee Reviews about "core values"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Venterra Realty CEO John Foresi
John Foresi
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have worked with many different people, from the property level to corporate and I can say with confidence that our core values are consistent(in 26 reviews)

  • "We are all about promoting from within and do so regularly(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have found NO cons to working for Venterra(in 22 reviews)

  • "I’m not sure if the Core Values are intended to be in practice or just in theory to promote the company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "core values"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Outstanding Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During my recruitment Venterra made a point of selling their commitment to employee development and happiness in a dynamic and highly focused work environment. Since my arrival if anything my experience has been that the company undersold how serious they were about their 7 core values and leaderships' commitment to the business but as importantly their employees.

    Cons

    Through my first 5 months I really have no complaints regarding Venterra.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be honest with your employees and focus on their career development within the confines of the company, so far you guys have done a superlative job.

    Venterra Realty2019-05-08
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for 6 years and love the people I work with. We are like a big family. I have worked with many different people, from the property level to corporate and I can say with confidence that our core values are consistent.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative/cons to speak of. This company is a business just like any other business but our core values are what sets us apart from everyone else.

    Venterra Realty2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Extreme Favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers, nice properties, company's core values

    Cons

    Favoritism played by managers just as they play they games with regionals

    Venterra Realty2019-05-22
  4. "Changing for the Worst!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Leasing 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries, training, benefits and culture.

    Cons

    There is a growing disconnect between corporate and their existing properties. Company is continuously cutting the budget for things that made Venterra the great company it used to be. They cut down on small things such as welcome gifts, upgrades, hospitality items for prospects, event budget, employee compensation, etc. It may not seem like a big problem from corporate’s point of view but the... residents/prospects/employees are noticing and they are turning their eye elsewhere. The competitors around are investing into their properties. Meanwhile, we are cutting corners on small things and expecting consultants to step in and produce sells based on personalities alone. The thing is, the new leasing process is a step by step routine that leaves little room for personality. It’s all about the sale. You’re also getting tested on how well you follow the steps. See the issue? Lower management is pressured to make due with the budget that they have. It is becoming unrealistic. All of this happens while Venterra buys new property after new property. It is still a good place to work but I am afraid Venterra is heading down a bad path. This company is losing its core values along with some great people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I suggest to put on the brakes and evaluate where the company is heading. Take care of the properties you already have. You have a growing disconnect between corporate and lower management. You’re implementing new guidelines without first seeing if it works with the people who will be practicing the new methods. You’re more focused on growing than harvesting. If things don’t change, Venterra will be the same as... every other property management company in a few years: Numerous amounts of mediocre properties.

    Show More
    Venterra Realty2019-05-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "The sky is the limit with Venterra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Stafford, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I could never imagine working for a company other than Venterra! If you are looking for a company deep-rooted in their Core Values who values YOU on a professional and personal level, look no further! I have been with Venterra for 2 years and the opportunities that I have been given in my short tenure are unbelievable! I do not feel that I am an employee working for a company, I feel that I am part of a family, the... Venterra family! We work very hard but ALWAYS make time to have fun! I feel supported on a daily basis and am given the autonomy to make decisions. Venterra has made me a better person. We have education assistance to allow us to continue our journey in our growth and development. We are given the day off to volunteer through Venterra Cares, by helping others and enriching our own lives simultaneously. We have Fun Fridays allowing us to dress up in specified themes and have a blast at work with our team! Birthdays are celebrated with a paid day off, company anniversaries are celebrated, all milestones are celebrated! We have bring your dog to work day! The list goes on and on.... Health benefits, 401K...The money is great! We bonus quarterly and have the opportunity to earn commissions daily! The sky is the limit with Venterra, I believe that with my whole heart!

    Show More

    Cons

    I didn't find Venterra sooner!

    Venterra Realty2018-05-22
  6. "A True Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations & Communications Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Venterra Realty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Venterra is an amazing company to work for. Anyone who has the opportunity to work here should consider themselves lucky. They truly care about the people who work for them and the benefits are amazing. They thrive on both a strong employee and customer culture. They stand by their core values. I was lucky to spend nearly 11 year of my life with Venterra. I only left to follow my dream of traveling the world. And... when I made the choice, Venterra was very supportive.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons. It truly is an amazing company. I left to follow my dream of traveling the world. And they fully supported my choice.

    Venterra Realty2018-05-29
  7. "Extremely disappointing and unhealthy environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Sales Representative 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Venterra Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay checks cleared successfully on time

    Cons

    I’m not sure if the Core Values are intended to be in practice or just in theory to promote the company. Perhaps they are growing at too fast a pace for oversight that allows the intended culture to filter down and have no idea what is really going on in their different locations. Maybe the unhealthy management practices come from the top and it is believed to be best practice. I can’t imagine, but maybe. I left... as bewildered as I arrived. Some of my experiences were disturbing at best.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please visit the WBI website and make yourself aware, if you have not already, of the damaging effects that these tactics and behaviors can have on a Company if gone unfettered too long. Not to mention the damage it can do to a person. Even just one is too many and the onus is on you for prevention.

    Venterra Realty2018-06-12
  8. "So happy to be here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Better Living Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A great group of colleagues always striving to be the best that they can, make our work the best that it can be! Free day to volunteer, sports league, education assistance, amazing training, and we all want to do better and make ourselves the best version of who we are!

    Cons

    It is not for everyone, Venterra employees live by our core values and this does include hard work and extreme attention to detail.

    Venterra Realty2017-09-12
  9. "A Great 10 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have now been employed with Venterra Realty for 10 years. I have grown with Venterra both with responsibility and as an individual. I have been presented with many great opportunities over the years and have came to cherish the time spent working with such a great group of people. I have had the opportunity to see and experience the company grow over the years and have witnessed Venterra stick to their 7 Core... Values along the way. I can truly say, from experience, that this is a Great Place to Work.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't experienced anything negative during my tenure with Venterra

    Advice to Management

    Continue providing great Leadership as you have for so many years. Stick with our 7 Core Values. Honesty and Integrity, Humility, Never-ending Pursuit of Excellence, Candor and Openness, Unparalleled Service Excellence, Team First and Prudent Cost Managers.

    Venterra Realty2017-08-23
  10. "A "Good" Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Venterra Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with great Core Values. Plenty of employee events and employee culture. Everyone has a desire to do their job well and take pride in what they do.

    Cons

    As with anywhere, the company's values and culture is dependent on the leader you have. I came to this company because I heard all the great things this company does for the employees. I have seen and witnessed great things done for employees and residents. Unfortunately in my case, my manager is not quite up to par with the company's beliefs. The good treatment that I have received come from other managers in my... department. I admire the fact that the managers that I don't directly report to go out of the way to make sure I feel valued. My employee experience would go from "good' to "great" if my manager would treat us as valued members of the team and not make us feel "small" every time an evaluation comes around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please create more opportunities for employees to offer feedback regarding the work environment aside from the Leadership Survey. Situations change and often employee morale decreases and stays that way too long until burn out. Reach out to employees that you find are not happy and listen to their reasons. Recruit and develop leaders that have the mindset that aligns with the Company's beliefs. Keep in mind that... when an employee leaves, they leave their boss, not the company.

    Show More
    Venterra Realty2017-08-08
Found 30 reviews