KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Veracode

Engaged Employer

Veracode

Add a Review

Veracode Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 255 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Veracode CEO Sam King
Sam King
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and the team spirit is awesome(in 14 reviews)

  • "Interesting work, energetic employees, bi-annual 3-day hackathons, social events(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing really can be said, growing pains(in 10 reviews)

  • "PM (Product management) while getting better is still WAAAAY behind in talent compared to PM at most other companies(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, strong leadership

      Oct 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid work-life balance Strong upper management Lot's of opportunity for taking on impactful workRecognizes people who get stuff done

      Cons

      - Competitive app security market

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      Feb 26, 2020 - Support Engineer in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team orientated from management down. The culture here is great. Good work-life balance. Everyone has a great attitude.

      Cons

      Working in a support environment it could be loud at times.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      357

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Associate Security Program Manager

      Apr 1, 2019 - Associate Security Program Manager in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, team atmosphere, culture, training structure, opportunities for advancement, benefits, work life balance

      Cons

      nothing yet, recent hire. Thank you.

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Innovative technology / losing it's culture

      Aug 9, 2018 - Manager in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Talented people - *Some of the technology is really great * Fair pay for some * Overall Benefits (at or above average)

      Cons

      * Work - Life Balance * Loss of Culture * Terrible at internal promotions * Gossiping deep at all levels * HR has completely gone by the wayside * Lack of care around current / internal employees

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      overworked uncertainty

      Sep 22, 2018 - Solutions Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working directly with customers and working from home. Being able to use my deep technical / industry knowledge The senior leadership people in sales (RVP,'s etc) are outstanding, they help kind of take away the negative that we feel directly from the AE's or other sales people.

      Cons

      Work / Life balance. We are at the disposal of the sales staff. Our resource model doesn't work, we are overworked, pay is fair to good but the load that is put on us especially from certain AE's can be unbearable. It is very easy for a sales person to push all their sales activities as the "experts" and give really really unrealistic timelines that completely disrupt our personal lives. While working remotely is a pro, it can at the same time be a con especially in the way of required travel to HQ or in feeling connected.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Business Development

      Nov 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance and the team spirit is awesome

      Cons

      Nothing really can be said, growing pains

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Company I ever worked

      May 22, 2017 - UI Developer Intern in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance. Flexible working hours, Helpful colleagues, and very nice working environment.

      Cons

      No Cons so for. I just felt interns are being payed a bit low.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work, Bring Your A Game

      Nov 8, 2016 - Associate Program Manager in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Growing field - Lots of opportunity for internal mobility/growth - Vibrant culture - Great work/life balance

      Cons

      - Still has some "start-up" problems - Management can be good or bad - Demanding when "on-the-clock"

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Veracode Response

      Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to write this very thoughtful review and we do appreciate the comments. We are always looking to improve and we value the opinions of our employees. Thank you.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It's what you make of it

      Oct 13, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company culture, events, and amenities are amazing. Some of the highlights: Hackathons/parties, free food/drink/gadgets, and great office facilities. Virtually anywhere in the company, you'll find yourself surrounded by passionate and competent coworkers. It's an exciting field to work in, and Veracode provides ample opportunities for advancement and change -- both vertically and interdepartmentally.

      Cons

      Employees often get enough autonomy to cause problems for themselves. While management doesn't ask for anything impossible, overachievers and perfectionists can easily find themselves working late nights and weekends. Management isn't going to keep a pulse on you to be sure you don't burn yourself out. If you struggle with the self-enforcement of a work/life balance at all, this company can bring out the worst of it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Veracode Response

      Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the time spent writing this review. We value our company culture and feel it is one of the many aspects that makes our company great. We are glad you feel the culture is commendable and we appreciate your candidness and responses.

    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Between 'good' and 'great.' We are catching up with our aspirations, though

      Jul 7, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of really great people. Interesting problems. Ongoing positive change. (More bottom-up decisions from engineering, so it's finally getting balanced compared to how 'top-heavy' it has been in the past.) Fairly agile, in the sense of iterative (though not really in the sense of lean/fast). I really do feel good about the future here. Luckily my own manager and team are really excellent. Other teams I interact with often also seem optimistic and motivated. And many of us are given great trust and opportunity. Also, there's some very fun things, such as Hackathons; and a lot of good culture. I am able to achieve great work/life balance. However not everyone is so fortunate. I can't tell exactly what determines this. This a problem to some extent in every company. OVERALL I think we are 'pretty good' in this respect.

      Cons

      Enterprise problems? It could certainly be worse, far worse. But there's a gap between where we are, and where we need to be to achieve our ambitious goals (and then the next goals after that, and the next goals after that). I'm about to lay into 'some' managers and such, but first let me point out: my direct manager is AWESOME, honestly the best I could imagine. This is a big part of what keeps me here through frustrating patches. I really care about the success of the company, so I get disappointed when I see signs that not all teams are so lucky. (And I know first hand: I've been on one unlucky team for a span... I got really burned out. But thankfully I'm away from it now.) Sometimes of course, corners are cut to get something shipped "faster." Caution quotes, because if it's even "faster" it's only "faster" momentarily. Techdebt compounds, more and more failures happen. Net effect: we are forced to go artificially slow, even *if* we keep cutting corners. God forbid we invest some time to make things better. This then grinds up against the pressure. Familiar stories to many I'm sure, but we also all know it doesn't have to be this way. And I personally think it's not sustainable for a SaaS business to stay that way. On some teams it's a lot better than others. Overall, there are some really great initiatives, and AWESOME cross-team collaboration happening to fix these cons, and get better at getting better. Despite the cons, I'm optimistic.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Veracode Response

      Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for this very insightful review and feedback. We certainly appreciate the time you spent and the comments and we will do our best to evaluate all of your thoughts with the appropriate leadership.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Veracode Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Veracode? Share Your Experiences

    or