KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

VerbalizeIt

Is this your company?

VerbalizeIt

Add a Review

VerbalizeIt Translator Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 48 reviews

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
VerbalizeIt CEO Ryan Frankel (no image)
Ryan Frankel
12 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Sales Engineer

Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

847

312 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    On time payments, acceptable rates, good communication

    Aug 19, 2015 - Freelance Translator in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Project Managers are very supportive. Easy to reach via email. They often message you in advance regarding upcoming assignments. Although sometimes a little "pushy", that proves their interest to offer a good outcome to both (client and freelancer). Payment have been always on time (within 30 days, usually less). No need to submit invoices in a specific timeframe or using rigid templates; PayPal receipts are enough for them.

    Cons

    Their web interface for translations/reviews has its limitations. Some of them are annoying, nothing too serious. Rates could be better (always, any company). Zero benefits as freelancer (again, same as with any company).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    VerbalizeIt Response

    Co-founder

    Thanks so much for the feedback. You're right in that we may come off as pushy some times, but it's only because we hold ourselves to a very high standard when it comes to our customers and translators. Your feedback around asking for feedback is well-received. You'll be hearing a lot more from us in the months ahead :)

  2. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 8 years

    WORST Company to work for

    Jan 22, 2020 - Transcriptionist; Translator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexibility of time and work from home

    Cons

    low pay bad communication extremely difficult to use platform strict they don't care about their employees they treat employees like disposable tools no room for career advancement no benefits completely profit driven because California AB5 law came out to protect workers classified as employees to greater labor protections, such as minimum wage laws, sick leave, and unemployment and workers' compensation benefits. Verbalizeit does not want to give benefits and hire full time employees because it costs more money so they terminate their independent contractors who they've relied on for years, and they do not even have the decency to explain why the independent contractors are being fired. The company is all about making money.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Standards not well defined, highly subjective

    Mar 8, 2018 - Translator in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's good experience that you can take elsewhere.

    Cons

    The test is highly subjective. I see people on there who have no business translating or transcribing and I know of others who were turned down in what is a highly subjective test. A community of translators grades tests. Much of the test is a judgement call. A veteran journalist and translator was turned down. What a waste of time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Poor Business Model

    Jun 29, 2017 - Translator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours to work with

    Cons

    Lowest pay I've ever received in my 20 years of translating. These are scam artists making a lot of money by grossly underpaying their translators and interpreters, an instead of addressing it, they rely on the notion that employees are expendable. Regardless of how many positive reviews the company tries to spin, there's a high turnover rate for a reason.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    reviewer

    Mar 16, 2016 - Translator/Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is flexible. You can work when you have time. When you do not have time, you do not need to work.

    Cons

    I cannot believe there are so many positive reviews out there. I feel they are not written by actual employers because the pay is very very low. There are no benefits what soever, even you pay for your own computer and internet. Pay is below minimum wage, averages to $6/hr.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Freelancer

    Uses their workers for far less than minimum wage

    May 24, 2015 - Translator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None to speak of whatsoever.

    Cons

    Everything. I worked for at least a 1 month only to end up with about $40, being promised that I and my fellow translators would get paid more. Trust me, it's really not worth it to work here. Also, there's a high turnover rate. Senior management talks to you like you're 12 years old, and there are no benefits to speak of. Perhaps you can get away with putting it on your resume that you've worked here for at least 1 year, but by then you'd only have made $200. Be warned.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    VerbalizeIt Response

    Co-founder

    Hi there. Really sorry to hear about your experience on VerbalizeIt. As we work with hundreds of translators everyday, and translations are routed based on language, geographic and industry expertise, it is possible that you've not received a satisfactory amount of work for several reasons. Regardless, I'd love to personally resolve the situation if possible. Please reach out to me (first name @ verbalizeit.com) when you get a moment. Thank you, Kunal

  7. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Don't bother

    Oct 9, 2014 - Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They do their best to make the client happy (not their contractors, though!).

    Cons

    Low pay, when they do pay. They are two months behind with my latest payment and do not reply to my e-mails. It looks like their small team is not able to handle the amount of work that they receive, and contractors suffer as a result.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Zero communication

    Jun 11, 2014 - Translator-Transcriber 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The tasks are interesting and the work can be fun. The platform is easy to use and you get the hang of it quickly.

    Cons

    There is zero communication between the company and the contract employees. Emails go unanswered and inquiries posted on the community forums are often ignored. Tasks are few and far between. There is not much earning potential here; not even to supplement your other income.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Exploitative

    May 9, 2014 - Translator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can do it whenever you have time.

    Cons

    you are probably going to have to be refreshing the page every ten mintues to find a task that is usually 1 hour long and for four dollars (if you are lucky). When you do the job, if the quality team doesn't like your translation or if you made a typo... you are probably not going to get paid for the job and receive a humiliating feedback (which is going to be full of their own horrible grammar and spelling mistakes).

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Highly recommended

    Aug 2, 2019 - Freelance Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Payment on time, per video minute rate rather decent, great PM & support, bonus system

    Cons

    Can't think of any, really.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Popular Careers with VerbalizeIt Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at VerbalizeIt? Share Your Experiences

or