Verizon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Verizon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Verizon CEO Hans Vestberg
Hans Vestberg
949 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Awesome benefits

    Cons

    Not enough work life balance

    Verizon2019-11-13
  2. "Lots of Pros, Lots of Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Manager 

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, the best health, vision, 401K plans, lots of paid vacation. leadership supports movement upward in the company and career development. Company supports modern management and leadership best practices.

    Cons

    long unpredictable hours, nights, weekends, no set schedule. the demand to perform and responsibility of management lead to no work life balance.

    Verizon2019-12-06
  3. "Comprehensive and in depth management training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Verizon is one of the highest rated corporations year after year in the area of comprehensive employee education.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance can be challenging.

    Verizon2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Limited career progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS4 in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, can carry over all vacation and stops accrual at 150%, good work life balance, good pay

    Cons

    Can be challenging with with high churn rate, very limited promotion unless you are a ‘pet’ employee and very visible which is very seldom, performance reviews are useless, you can be on the same position for 10-15 years

    Verizon2019-11-26
  5. "Decent place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, and pay moderate work life balance

    Cons

    Figure out a way to get 2 weekends off a month

    Verizon2019-11-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company for Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Good Pay

    Cons

    Lack of Work life balance, too many projects in the pipeline

    Verizon2019-11-12
  7. "Solutions manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Manager in Nash, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, commissions, great health benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance, you have to be willing to move to get promoted most of the time

    Verizon2019-11-13
  8. "Overall good place to work with lots of great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - User Experience Writer in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verizon for more than a year

    Pros

    Chill atmosphere with lots of open-minded & talented people to work with and learn from. Great work/life balance!

    Cons

    In April 2019, the "2.0" business re-org went into effect where Verizon Wireless and Fios operations joined forces internally. In the long run, this will be a good thing, but at present, there are growing pains and things feel disjointed as roles and responsibilities get sorted out. As a contractor, there's always an undercurrent of feeling like a step-child instead of biological child (ie, full-time employee).... We have fewer "work from home" privileges, get invited to less company events, aren't kept in the loop as much as our fellow coworkers who are full-time, even though we work on all the same projects and the same hours. I suppose that's inherent to being a contractor, but still...

    Show More
    Verizon2019-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Surveys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They pay on time Some groups allow working from home and work life balance (or so the legend goes) Benefits are ok but slowly getting worse.

    Cons

    They’ll survey you till you die or conditions improve. They’ll do nothing but talk about surveys and how good they are no matter how low they have to set the bar.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the surveys already. I think they next survey may ask if we have solid flooring in the offices and oxygen to breath just so you can raise results.

    Verizon2019-11-20
  10. "I Stayed for 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager- Business Transformation in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Advancement opportunities and Growth

    Cons

    You get paid well, and at times expected to give up work life balance

    Verizon2019-11-04
Found 2324 reviews