Versatile Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Versatile Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Versatile Communications CEO John Barker (no image)
John Barker
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Trainer/Facilitator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainer/Facilitator in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Versatile Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company EVER! John Barker is the best "boss" you could work for, because he treats his employees like consultants rather than minions and trusts them to get the work done.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons. Support here was fantastic.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the trust you place in your people

    Versatile Communications2017-01-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting growth and renewed focus!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Versatile Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company stays ahead of technology to take care of customers. Great energy on the sales teams. Engineering and sales work well together. Negative employees have left or were no longer tolerated. (It’s much better for those of us that have remained). Senior management is doing better at communicating where we are headed. People in the company and outside seem excited and confident about the growth and direction of... the company with the new structure and people within company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours. Some people struggle with letting go of the past.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing! It’s working!

    Versatile Communications2018-04-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Not so great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Versatile Communications full-time

    Pros

    This company really does give you the potential to grab hold and take over whatever technology the company and yourself see fit. Good benefits and great people. Excellent Engineering staff pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Management, HR and Finance Dept. The Eningeering staff is what keeps this company going. There are no sales. HR and Finance staff are more political than they are ethical, if you are not in their circle then you do not matter. Management does have little or no direction. What made this company great at first has quickly swung a 180, what used to have a purpose is mostly pointing no where, almost... directionless.

    Show More
    Versatile Communications2018-01-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent Company for IT Sales Folks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Analyst in Marlborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Versatile Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company and good people, but in my case, I was a Cisco oriented individual and they are not a Cisco shop, therefore I had no fit among the MSP environment, which drove me to a lack of confidence from their point of view in my abilities to perform IT works. But I do not have any negative comments towards the company and I am grateful that I had a job for over 2 years with them. If the MSP manager is still there,... I have great respect for him and he is a manager many people would want to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sales oriented MSP, not much to look for in regards to developing oneself as a Network System Professional.

    Advice to Management

    The President you hired in 2014 to supposedly structure the business to the better came to destroy your company terminating great talented individuals in the Professional Services, Managed Services, and Sales unjustly and had no intention of making the company better. Please do not do the same mistake again.

    Versatile Communications2017-04-13
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Where to even begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Versatile Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and average benefits. The pro and managed services teams really are the lifeblood of this place. Really dedicated group of guys.

    Cons

    Here is where it gets really disheartening. The operations side of the house (HR, finance, office management) is a real problem. From unnecessary gossip to unprofessional behavior, it really makes working here extremely difficult. Trying to approach HR is like asking your parent to go out after getting grounded; walking in at the start of the day and saying good morning to the front desk and not getting a response.... Not a good experience at all. I do not see a lasting future here for myself or some of the new folk at all. There are way too many unnecessary "clicks" that make the culture and environment toxic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would seriously recommend doing a complete overhaul of HR and finance. Source people with people skills to make newcomers welcome.

    Versatile Communications2017-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Versatile Communications full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth, great benefits - especially for a small company (or any company for that matter), ability for sales and technical people to get trained and certified excellent, they take care of their employees, flexible work schedule as long as you do you work, management is very approachable, they are open to new ideas that will help the company grow, pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Hours can be long sometimes, but your work is recognized. Management has struggled with communication in the past, however they have/are making significant improvements.

    Versatile Communications2017-01-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Management is their own worse enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Versatile Communications

    Pros

    Great pay and affordable benefits. The majority of the people are helpful, professional and interested in doing the right thing for the customer.

    Cons

    Employees not aware of company direction and goals. Sales reps have no quotas. Engineers overworked. Each project feels like it's the first one the company has performed. Understaffed engineering team.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Versatile Communications2015-04-03
  8. "weak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Versatile Communications part-time

    Pros

    none that i can think of.

    Cons

    No communication skills from the company.

    Versatile Communications2018-10-01
Found 8 reviews