Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 291 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "One of the best places to work(No seriously check the Forbes List)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing people -Great work environment -Culture and moral really keep the employees going -Happy to come to work each day -Strong tight knit community -Self expression is encouraged -Employee recognition -We are definitely a team

    Cons

    Haven’t come across one yet.

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, all ideas are welcome

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-03-05

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    March 6, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how happy you are working here!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    it's clear that employee morale is a huge focus. the benefits packagers are great, but I was even more surprised by all the rewards, prizes and just fun events that they do. They're all really good encouragement to come to work with the right foot forward every day, and it feels so nice to know that i'm appreciated by my employers

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-03
  3. "Best Company I've Ever Worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Culture, and time off are all outstanding. Company is constantly doing surveys to see how they could improve life for their employees. They are generous and appreciate hard work. Everyone is passionate and driven. I've had 5 different managers since I started here and they've all been amazing. I love everyone I work with and I couldn't be happier. I feel blessed to be working here.

    Cons

    I agree with some that HR often searches outside the company for new hires instead of hiring from within. But, they've recently stated that they are going to be offering more trainings to current employees so they can hire and promote from within whenever possible. I believe they will do that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-11
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and overall perks.

    Cons

    Extremely fast paced and driven

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Work!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medicinal Chemistry Coop in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people! Great learning experience and perfect career opportunity!

    Cons

    None. This is truly the most bodacious and credited place to work I have seen!

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fresh work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Vertex is a far cry from your traditional corporate style business, and for that I'm very grateful. Instead, their management is focused on new, fun, and creative ideas that are going to shake up the industry. Everybody's voice is heard and respected, which is appreciated because it doesn't happen nearly as often as it should. The personalities on my team reflect the company's forward thinking mentality too, so they've...

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't had any cons.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-05-22
  7. "An employer to be proud of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    My favorite thing about working for Vertex is that I know my work is positively impacting others on a daily basis. I'm not trying to change the world, but it's important to me that I'm doing positive work to be satisfied with my job. So I'm very happy to be working for someone that's helping people with their products and go the extra mile to do right by their consumers.

    Cons

    The cons are limited to none.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-05-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Patient centric approach to drug discovery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great facility and benefits

    Cons

    Too much favoritism and silos

    Advice to Management

    Value everyone not just your favorite people

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Front row seats to a dumpster fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr. Scientific Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location. Decent pay at first. Free beer. A lot of hardworking people who mean well but are quickly burnt out.

    Cons

    Not even close to what it used to be. Employees are taken advantage of, skipped over repeatedly for promotions with 2% merit increases. You can tell the reviews from people who have just started and haven’t witnessed the downward spiral. VMC is treated like a CMO at best. Will likely only be more turmoil and turnover in the coming years. With so many Pharma/Biotech options in this area, there is no reason to put up with...

    Show More
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation that you will regret later

    Cons

    People are treated as machines, senior management is incompetent, fight for supremacy and survival leading to blatant bullying cross functionally, severe lack of leadership competencies, no work-life balance, excessive workload leading to employee harassment.

    Advice to Management

    How can i advice people who harbour, encourage, and perpetuate toxic work culture?

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-06-04
Found 291 reviews