Cover image for Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Logo
See All Photos

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Engaged Employer

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Add a Review

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Employee Reviews about "vertex"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 880 of over 883 reviews
4.2
82% Recommend to a Friend
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
88% Approve of CEO

Found 66 of over 883 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
292 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and really want to help patients(in 144 reviews)
  • "Great people; everyone is very open and willing to help.(in 87 reviews)
  • "It used to have a great culture.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Good pay and office location(in 27 reviews)
  • "Great colleagues(in 23 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Vertex Pharmaceuticals and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "vertex"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company! Great Mission! Great Culture

    Dec 1, 2021 - Associate; Director Information Systems Management in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Innovation, Collaboration, Visibility, Growth, Compensation and Sense of Belonging are few of many reasons why it is great to work at Vertex.

    Cons

    I have not found any cons in my engagement so far.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Sr. Director

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.

  2. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Great Place for Interns/Co-ops with a Great Outlook for Full-Time

    Sep 17, 2021 - Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vertex is an absolutely great place to work. From the beginning of my co-op, everyone was very friendly and welcoming. There is an immense respect for one another in Vertex and that is something I am very thankful for. I have a great amount of support from coworkers in multiple areas of the company, and people are always glad to hep if you reach out to them out of nowhere. The company is always evolving to become the best form of itself, whether that be in its aim for inclusion, diversity, and equity or within its research and development. Also for interns, there are so many opportunities at Vertex if you wanted to continue working full-time, there is almost always a way to stay involved with Vertex. I have enjoyed my time at Vertex greatly and am looking forward to my future time at Vertex.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything negative to say about Vertex! The work environment is very flexible and understanding of work-life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    best workplace culture ever

    Nov 16, 2021 - Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked with incredible people in many different departments. Vertex walks the walk about diversity; all of my supervisors were people of color. Life at Vertex is comfortable too. The cafeteria is delicious and extremely affordable. I ate my breakfast there for about $3 a day. Lunch at the cafeteria was great too, but many of my meetings were catered as well.

    Cons

    Vertex makes incredible products, but they are some of the most expensive drugs on the market. Felt a little weird knowing that patients were paying ~$300k/year just to breathe. Pharma is pharma.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Heading towards wrong direction

    Sep 2, 2021 - Senior Clinical Trial Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you will learn how to operate in a very fast paced environment. plenty of opportunities to grow if you look for them. great benefits.

    Cons

    When I first started working at Vertex even though we were always working at a fast paced the environment and the people were much friendlier and happier. With the new senior management things are heading towards the wrong direction. Everyone is stressed out trying to keep up with demands and timelines that are not feasible by any means. Employees are either leaving or burning out completely .

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. As a current employee, we suggest you speak to your manager about your concerns on timelines and demands. You should also consider reaching out to your HR business partner for guidance.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great benefits; limited growth/change opportunities

    Oct 24, 2021 - Scientist II in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Excellent benefits and compensation for FTE's, especially after 4 years when RSU vesting stacks + Highly organized and resource-abundant, even if it gets chaotic in terms of workload; lack of expertise or funds is usually never the issue when problems arise + Really smart people and experienced leadership + Great track record for deploying new drugs; multiple NDA's in a 5-10 year span is stellar in this business + Would recommend Vertex to any Scientist who is ambitious, driven by company success, high compensation, and doesn't mind tedium or long hours.

    Cons

    - Poor work/life balance on some teams/departments, especially the technical ones (CMC for example) - Focus is on efficiency and productivity at the cost of developing institutional knowledge and addressing problems on a scientific basis; leadership opts for bandaid solutions in order to punch things through instead of giving scientists time to investigate or development improvements. - Many scientists are pushed into heavy specialization on the technical side with limited opportunities to move laterally or explore other options - Promotions and visibility is reserved mostly for managerial tracks, whether it's managing a team or managing a project/program. - Would not recommend Vertex to anyone who has passions outside of work, demanding family responsibilities, or seeks specific fulfillment or growth in their day-to-day work.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate your time providing us feedback. We take feedback very seriously and will provide this to the proper departments.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Vertex Cyber Security And Resilience

    Nov 8, 2021 - Access Management Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vertex is an exciting and dynamic place to work right now. The Cyber Security and Resilience team has new senior leadership and a renewed commitment of investment and growth with lots of interesting challenges. Vertex has a flexible work schedule allowing regular work from home days.

    Cons

    This position does require being local to Boston area but Boston is a great city and the range of Local stretches to Southern NH, RI and central Mass.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

  7. 3.0
    Current Contractor

    Lots of Office politics

    Jun 14, 2021 - Research Scientist II in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing location to do research, with great equipment and multiple opportunities to learn new cutting edge techniques. Vertex is extremely involved in their community in efforts to give back to the city of Boston, and there are ample opportunities for people of all professions at Vertex to participate in this community work.

    Cons

    Contractors almost *never* convert to permanent at the Boston location because of a FTE head cap of 160-180. No matter how much you work, how well you do your job, or how much extra you take on as a contractor, it won't do much to earn you a FTE position with Vertex. FTE's are asked to take on extra responsibilities to climb the corporate ladder BEFORE getting a title change and salary increase to deem it a proper "promotion". You work the extra workload first, then if you don't crumble under the pressure "earn" the promotion. And of course, the grind to meet quarterly goals for various projects is met with roadblocks of bureaucracy where the higher ups deem your extremely productive project "less important" and take away people from the project pipeline. Anything can change at anytime with Re-orgs and turnover. Overall, Vertex is a great place to work. They are great at Acquiring talent. But not good at Talent Retention.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Vertex has changed

    Oct 23, 2021 - Associate Director, Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, time off, passionate, innovative

    Cons

    Very uncertain times at Vertex. Leadership has lost it's way. Under past leadership we worked for patients, now we work to make wall street happy. We work under tremendous micromanagement, to many zoom meetings, and VERY unrealistic timelimes. This is known by leadership, for a very long time, and now we are losing top notch talent due to this. Leadership needs to really realize the impact of your decisions and how it trickles down to the actual workers. Vertex has also become very woke and pushes it down our throats. We get it.

    15 people found this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The first value at Vertex is uncompromising commitment to patients. We would suggest you speak with your manager or with your HR business partner about your concerns.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Transparent, Supportive and fast paced

    Sep 28, 2021 - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vertex is consistently living their values when it comes to putting patients first, ID&E, collaboration and innovation. I'm really proud of what we are creating, and how we are investing in our people to change the lives of our patients.

    Cons

    Very fast paced - may not be a good fit for all - we go all in here!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to hear your opinion and feedback on ID&E.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    High Science and extraordinary leadership

    Oct 4, 2021 - Senior Director, Medical Affairs 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vertex is committed to transforming patients lives with rare diseases. We achieve the unimaginable and have some of the best scientists in the industry who work for us.

    Cons

    The pace is fast - sometimes too fast. But there is urgency to get these treatments to patients who have no other options

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 66 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Vertex Pharmaceuticals Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Vertex Pharmaceuticals? Share Your Experiences

or

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Careers

Cover image for Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Who We Are Vertex is a global biotechnology company that invests in scientific innovation to create transformative medicines for people...More

  • Our Team
  • Career Dev
  • Inclusion
  • Giving Back
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Vertex Pharmaceuticals

127 days ago

Culture
For decades, Vertex has worked to create transformative medicines for people with serious diseases. We’ve collaborated around whiteboards, in labs and in manufacturing centers. We’ve innovated during hallway conversations and on video conferences across time zones. And, yes, during these past few years, COVID-19 changed a lot of that! But Vertexians all around the globe relied on what made us successful in the past, while we learned new ways of working to go forward. This included being more flexible about when, where and how we work – a new way of working that we now call Flex @ Vertex. Learn about Vertex’s flexible work program, which emphasizes flexibility for all to meet the needs of their personal and professional lives while enabling teams to thrive so we can deliver on our promise to patients.
Flexible Work @ Vertex
youtu.be
See all

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Photos

+ Add Photo
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: Boston skyline
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: Vertex Headquarters
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: Great Strides
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: Office view
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: lunch garden view
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: lunch seaport view
Vertex Pharmaceuticals photo of: Welcome
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Job Seekers Also Viewed

Amgen Logo
Amgen

4.0

3,711 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 883 Vertex Pharmaceuticals reviews submitted anonymously by Vertex Pharmaceuticals employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Vertex Pharmaceuticals is right for you.