Veson Nautical Reviews | Glassdoor

Veson Nautical Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Veson Nautical CEO John Veson (no image)
John Veson
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing, Friendly, Understanding Work environment -Knowledge is everywhere if you are willing to look for it -Amazing client experiences. - Great place to start and grow out of college

    Cons

    -While you grow quickly here, there isn't a structure on promotions. Having a structure of goals to reach in order to receive a promotion would be nice

    Advice to Management

    -Work to create a structure based on employees interest to help with promotions

    Veson Nautical2018-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Veson Nautical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great, smart, personable people Always work to be done Benefits - mostly - are second to none. PTO is lower than competitors but healthcare is better than anything else I have had before. Work life balance is excellent. You can easily work from home when needed or work around doctor's appointment, etc. Compensation is competitive for your role. Developers get offices (though this is definitely a... con for some, as communication is lacking as a result)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Knowledge silos are huge - Backend codebase is from the 80's, and desire to re-architect or update is low. There are very apparent pains with the current code base while transitioning to a SASS model. - Development process is top-down, not all-inclusive. Decisions are made without input below. Sales will inflict deadlines without knowing the engineering impact. This is slowly changing though for the better... though. - Career Opportunities are almost purely dependent on someone above you leaving. The company is too small elsewise.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing for the most part. Work on bringing more people into decisions and working in a more agile manner. Keep hiring!

    Veson Nautical2018-09-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "An engaging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The culture here at Veson is second to none. People are friendly, personable, and always eager to help. It's this collaboration and the willingness to help other departments when in need that makes us so unique. -Everyone at the company shares a similar goal: to improve the breadth and depth of our product. That's the singular mission, and everyone is aligned with it, a feat that is not easily... won -Management listens and can adapt quickly. Management heard concerns of being a bit understaffed the previous year, and have really cranked it up by fielding more candidates and hiring more of the right people. -Benefits, compensation, bonuses, vacation is all at least average to the Boston area. -Free catering a few times a week, and a fully stocked kitchen are great!

    Show More

    Cons

    -A work/life balance here can swing precariously close to being much more "work" than "life". We're all passionate here, but we do need time off, cool down, and take a break.

    Advice to Management

    -One thing we really need to improve upon is a bit more structured approach to promotions, and where we can grow from in our current role. I know this has been in the works for a bit now, but sharing even a work in progress would be helpful to someone who has been in a more entry level position for a few years.

    Veson Nautical2018-05-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Veson Nautical

    Pros

    Everyone was incredibly friendly and kind. Flexible schedule. Great perks

    Cons

    Management was stressed, as an intern I definitely saw some growing pains

    Veson Nautical2018-04-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A Rewarding and Exciting Company - A Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Veson Nautical is an excellent place to work. A smaller-sized company, everyone knows and values each other. The company culture is fast-paced, highly social, and very welcoming. I can honestly say this is my favorite job I have ever held, largely due to the company structure and culture, along with the expectation of excellence that elevates the work being done. - Management is incredibly accessible and responsive... to employee feedback and needs. - The product is innovative, continually developed, and powerful in the market. - The people are insanely smart and dedicated, while also being very fun to hang out with. - Employees are empowered and trusted. - Cold brew on tap and free lunch twice a week!

    Show More

    Cons

    People work hard here - you have to be willing to put in effort. That being said, the work is rewarding, and every day is a new challenge!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Don't let company culture fall to the side as we scale. Don't sacrifice current practices, hiring standards, etc. to solve immediate resourcing issues.

    Veson Nautical2018-03-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fast paced market leader, Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time

    Pros

    -dynamic industry -clear market leader -Company growing -Always challenged -Opportunities to move across departments -Fun culture -Awesome benefits -Global Business

    Cons

    -hiring pace not fast enough (although mgmt recognizes and seems to be solving)

    Advice to Management

    Invest for sustained growth not just to solve current headcount gaps.

    Veson Nautical2018-02-28
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Forward-thinking Company That Takes Care of its Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Veson Nautical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many pros to Veson Nautical but here are the ones that meant the most to me over the years: -Incredibly smart people. Hiring process is thorough + difficult and you should be proud if you make the cut! The current employees have set the bar very high. - Interesting industry. Maritime software is very niche but full of fascinating people and things to learn. - Beautiful and conveniently located... offices. The Boston, London, and Singapore offices are newly renovated and have all the necessities (and more!) to get your job done. The former owner put a lot of pride (and love) into each space. - Good growth opportunities. Management wants you to grow with the company and will create opportunities to keep top performers engaged. - Amazing benefits package. It is difficult to find another company that offers as much to its employees as Veson does. Beyond benefits, the company gives you tons of swag! They love giving Patagonia gear. - Veson was originally a family owned company and the owners made you feel like part of their family. The employees who were there when the company was small would continue to instill that family feel for the new employees joining. The employees made it a special place.

    Show More

    Cons

    These are not big deals but worth mentioning: - The company went through a lot of changes (mostly positive) over the past few years. Leadership didn't always communicate the changes to the entire company, so some people felt out of the loop at times. Communication was one thing that Veson was always working to improve and I'm sure they will continue to do so. - There are a lot of employees who have been at the... company for a long time but the company is growing and bringing a lot of new faces to the group. Sometimes there was a clash between the "old Veson" and "new Veson" culture. I think the company could try harder to find a balance between the two. - "Cliques" and Events. This can be a con with many companies but it's still worth mentioning. "Cliques" can be difficult to deal with at small companies so newer employees could have a difficult time fitting in at times. Company events can be hard to keep fresh and exciting. Veson struggled with trying to figure out what the employees wanted and how to get people to attend.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Trust managers and employees more. Leadership is very passionate and likes to get involved, which I can appreciate. However, it would be beneficial to let employees take the lead more often. It can be frustrating when Leadership wants to get involved in every decision and employees may not feel like they have the power to take action or drive something. - Make sure someone is checking the pulse of the org and... paying attention to the team. Veson moves so quickly and someone needs to be dedicated to caring about the needs of the employees. - Keep being picky when recruiting! Veson is full of smart, talented people.

    Show More
    Veson Nautical2018-02-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company & people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture and collaboration Very team orientated Senior management open to ideas and suggestions Relaxed atmosphere while still getting the job done; lots of employee activities

    Cons

    Normal growing pains but its not really a negative

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the communication - its greatly appreciated!

    Veson Nautical2017-12-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Many Opportunities For Growth and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for to grow your career.

    Cons

    Low turnout at Company events

    Veson Nautical2017-02-04

    Veson Nautical Response

    February 15, 2017HR Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Career development for our team members is very important to us. I’m glad to see that your experience related to this area has been positive. As for our company events, we are always looking for fresh and fun ideas to increase engagement. I’d very much like to hear additional feedback on ways we might be able to improve our social outings. Please feel free to reach out to me at hr@veson.com with your thoughts. Kerry O’Brien Human Resources

    Show Less
  11. Helpful (6)

    "Well run small company with excellent benefits, fair pay, solid product and top-tier customer base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veson Nautical

    Pros

    Veson is a successful software company operating in a premier office space in Back Bay Boston, and offering employees market pay and excellent benefits like a 401K with company contribution, nearly super inexpensive medical and dental insurance (Blue Cross Blue Shield, with a Health Reimbursement account that pays for the medical deduction, and a FSA for dental deduction), 3 weeks vacation right off the bat... (increasing after 3 years to 4 weeks), paid lunches, a transportation subsidy, and much more. The company has won the business of most of the top companies in its space, and this provides us instant credibility when we contact other companies. Veson has achieved this success by 1) building a solid product that addresses a variety of needs in the maritime space, 2) hiring consultants who excel at product knowledge, the maritime industry knowledge and on how to run an implementation project successfully and 3) placing an incredible amount of emphasis on post implementation customer support to keep customers happy. Management is generally supportive of its employees and takes a long view on their development. Because its challenging to find people with maritime experience, the company invests in training new hires on the industry and in the product. My training lasted several months, and the company was quite patient as I came up to speed on the product. It's employees are generally top-notch, bright and committed individuals and I enjoy working with them. The management team from the Chief Operating Officer down are always available and ready to listen to ideas and issues. Their management style is collaborative. Also indicative of their investment in employees, unlike the last two small software companies I worked at, which outsourced HR and had a terrible relationship with its employees, Veson has set up a top notch HR department, that works hard to ensure employees' needs are addressed. I've worked in a number of software companies and this is the most fiscally conservatively run small software company I've every seen. This means that the company is financially stable, free of debt and of investors setting unrealistic growth goals. Because of this, when annual financial results are good, the company grows moderately and when the results are not as good, the company takes the long view and maintains their employee base. In summary, Veson Nautical is the best small software company I've worked at, compared to the other 5 software companies I've worked for in my career.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is run quite lean, and sometimes employees are left to figure things out on their own and make things happen using their own creativity. This can offer a great opportunity to develop skills but can also be uncomfortable for less experienced employees. The alternative is to overhire but this is counter to the company's financially conservative approach. It also hires a lot of young employees just... getting started in their careers. Some are very mature and talented, but some of the less mature ones can gripe of being overworked, thus some of the reviews you see here. There is a mixed message about working from home. I've been told the company discourages it but some managers seem to often work from home.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire employees in the middle of their career or later. Once you've built some trust with your employees, allow them to work from home. Spend more on marketing. We have so much to crow about but you don't take advantage of it. We are our own best secret.

    Veson Nautical2016-08-21

    Veson Nautical Response

    September 6, 2016HR Associate

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We appreciate the time you took to write such a thoughtful and detailed review. And, we’re thrilled to see you’re having a positive experience at Veson Nautical. Your comments related to our lean work environment, hiring practices, and policies will not go overlooked. We value your honesty and will use this feedback to see where we can improve. I’d like to hear any additional ideas you might have and hope you’ll continue to share your thoughts. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at hr@veson.com Kerry O'Brien Human Resources

    Show Less
Found 23 reviews