VetCor Reviews | Glassdoor

VetCor Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
VetCor CEO Dan Adams (no image)
Dan Adams
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "From management questions and medical protocols to employee questions/problems(in 7 reviews)

  • "The veterinarians are incredible(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Been part of Vetcor since 2013 and really have no complaints(in 5 reviews)

  • "If you make a mistake you will be shamed in front of other staff members(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great QOL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief of Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent support for veterinarians, great benefits and PTO, responsive with concerns, quality medicine, no cookie cutter medical recommendations.

    Cons

    Not always quick when getting new equipment.

    VetCor2019-10-23
  2. "Becoming part of VetCor was an excellent decsion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CMO in Duncan, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    VetCor provides exceptional management support and benefits.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent management skills. Thank you.

    VetCor2019-10-11
  3. "Wonderful place to work, they focus on doing right by their employees, clients and patients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great support Wonderful opportunities for continuing education and flexible schedule Not your typical corporate practice

    Cons

    We can no longer have an online pharmacy

    VetCor2019-10-09
  4. "Varies between each location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff Fun working environment Good client base

    Cons

    Lacking good benefits Long work days Prices are high

    VetCor2019-09-17
  5. "Hm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits given for employees

    Cons

    Little upwards mobility for good employees

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your shining stars

    VetCor2019-08-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very Pleased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Veterinarian 
    Recommends

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company employees are very friendly and easy to work with, and they seem to stick to their philosophy of allowing each individual hospital to practice medicine in its own way.

    Cons

    I've only just started working for this company in my current position, but so far I can't think of any significant downsides.

    VetCor2019-08-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VetCor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I do not have any

    Cons

    They keep the staff members that are toxic to the practice, but let the ones that have been there for 15 plus years go. Because of false information.

    VetCor2019-08-31
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospital Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time

    Pros

    Great corporate support, freedom to choose what’s best for the individual hospital, focus on employee wellness, frequent meetings to get to know others in corporation and provide guidance.

    Cons

    Pay is too low, disconnect between hospital management and corporate departments.

    VetCor2019-07-29
  9. "Rate a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Veterinarian in Fort Branch, IN
    Recommends

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great work environment, excellent blend of the benefits of corporate business expertise while still maintaining the freedom to practice medicine without interference.

    Cons

    No negative comments at this time

    VetCor2019-06-28
  10. "Not your typical corporate practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Veterinarian in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VetCor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have very generous salary and benefits. To date they have been very hands off and not the typical corporate where they brand and control everything. I was honestly dreading the change from private owned to corporate and truth be told, a year later it doesn't feel any different as an associate. :)

    Cons

    They only cover 1 membership fee (AVMA vs. state vetrinary group vs. AAFP, etc.).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to manage but allow each clinic its independence as you have... this is why I write a 5 star review when many other corporations and not viewed as positively.

    VetCor2019-06-23
Found 128 reviews