Veterans First Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Veterans First Mortgage Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Gates
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "As a contactor at IFreedom direct, I have observed the following: It is a goal oriented work environment with an uncapped earning potential(in 9 reviews)

  • "Veterans First really invests in their employees(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "embarrassing and a lot of work for peanuts)(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Besides the soda machines, one of the biggest benefits and pros about veterans first is that the management wants to see you be as successful as you possibly can.

    Cons

    I dont have any negatives or cons about this company.

    Veterans First Mortgage2018-12-06
  2. "Lucky to have this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Veterans First really invests in their employees. Not only is the culture amazing but they give all employees the equal chance to be very successful. If you're "hungry", this is the place for you. Good leads, great location, Fun and upbeat environment

    Cons

    To be honest, I haven't seen any thus far

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Veterans First Mortgage2018-12-05
  3. "Opportunity to Give Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Employment with Veterans First is more than a job. Every single day the company supports our military community with homeownership goals. It's very rewarding to know that we are all helping active duty service members, retired/separated Veterans and Surviving Spouses to purchase or refinance their homes.

    Cons

    We need an office in Hawaii.

    Veterans First Mortgage2018-11-29
  4. "Contact Center Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Veterans First Mortgage

      Pros

      Great aptomshpere. Laid back work environemnt and room for growth.

      Cons

      Calls can get repetitive. Other than that it is great!

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-09-12
    • "Great atmosphere, amazing managers but a business after all."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Veterans First Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The atmosphere was amazing. Managers were very helpful and definitely treated everyone as equals. A base salary is a good thing to have in a sales field and they were willing to do this as long as sales were met. Training was amazing and I really had a feel of a family.

      Cons

      A veteran geared company but at the end of the day is still a business. There were times I felt I shouldn't be trying to push a mortgage off onto a veteran but I had sales goals to meet.

      Advice to Management

      Management does an amazing job here and was extremely helpful. I can't think of anything that management could do better. I just was a square peg in a round hole

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-05-03
    • "Anonymous Title"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      Caring management that have been there a long time. Friendly atmosphere competitive pay and focus on Veterans is amazing.

      Cons

      Growth is slow and not a lot of opportunity for advancement past mid level management.

      Advice to Management

      Keep working on growth and opportunities for advancement.

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-04-28
    • Helpful (9)

      "Disasterous Slave Shop"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Salt Lake City, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Veterans First Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free sodas, the view is really nice from the office

      Cons

      This is the classic call center experience. Expect to be on the phones and not allowed to leave your desk for restroom breaks or to be told to get back to work while you're clocked out for lunch. The clients and management are cruel. The leads are usually ineligible for VF's product offerings and you are audited and scrutinized to sell hard on each client. Every issue encountered with each client will obviously be the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get over your egos please and actually listen.

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "My thoughts on Veterans First"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great leadership Good music Weekends off Cake once a month for all the employees Fun work environment The effort you put into everyday definitely reflects on your pay check

      Cons

      sometimes you have to push yourself outside your comfort zone and some shifts are really early (6am)

      Advice to Management

      I only know some of the managers but all the ones I have met: keep doing what you’re doing me

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-03-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "LO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veterans First Mortgage full-time

      Pros

      Great culture and employee training

      Cons

      Sometimes market conditions make it tough

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-03-02
    • "Loan Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Loan Officer in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Veterans First Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There were so many pros to this company, I miss working there already. What made me like this place so much is the people I worked with, and my manager. Honestly the best manager I have had! The only reason i left was because i had an opportunity I couldn’t pass on, or I would still be working there.

      Cons

      None really. Just stay consistent with your work habit, or else it is really difficult to gain momentum with closing loans.

      Advice to Management

      Keep growing! You guys are doing a great job!

      Veterans First Mortgage2018-01-18
    Found 55 reviews