Veterans United Home Loans Reviews | Glassdoor

Veterans United Home Loans Reviews

Updated July 3, 2018
223 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Veterans United Home Loans CEO Nate Long
Nate Long
180 Ratings

223 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "From pay to work life balance, to equal consideration in the workplace- I couldn't say enough" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, casual dress code, awesome co workers" (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "com is that they are hiring people so fast it is very hard to keep up with every and there new positions" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Most of the negative comments I've seen are because the company is going through some growing pains" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "One Happy Loan Officer :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer
    Current Employee - Loan Officer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The VU Team, benefits, and training and support for new Loan Officers

    Cons

    Loan Officers are commissioned but clock in/out like hourly. Not a bad thing at all but takes some getting adjusted to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Great Work!! The work-life balance and culture of this company is phenomenal. It is evident that your hiring practices have been tried and proven as I have met some of the BEST people here.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Apr 5, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you so much! We try to do our best to make sure people have a great work-life balance. We try to find the best people we can and they are the ones who make our culture better each day.


  2. "Great for some. Not me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Progressive and fun (kinda) atmosphere

    Cons

    Very cut-throat internally. Trainees are in competition with each other, as if 6 are being trained, and the 3 best will be granted continuing employment.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Jun 28, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for the feedback. We do take pride in the fact that Veterans United is always looking for ways to improve which includes our training programs. Every day and every position is a little... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Clear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They have a fun work environment. You will be given tee shirts almost weekly and they are good about giving you gift cards here at home office and anything else to keep you not focused on the circus you’re joining.

    Cons

    As a fellow veteran, I couldn’t stand to see the lack of effort given as a whole. All execs up to the top claim they are open to feedback but it’s better to give it once you’re asked to leave.

    Advice to Management

    When you have it in your Mission Statement, “we embrace open and honest communication” try to truly mean that. Not everyone is at Veterans United for just a check, they want what’s best for the consumer, and when people can go to any other competition and save thousands of dollars, you need to be open to change and adapting. After all, don’t our Military deserve it?

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for your feedback. VU is always looking to improve and we will take your comments to heart. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t what most employees at VU experience.


  4. "Best place to help you advance in your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Columbia, MO
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training is valued and there is some freedom in what work we would like to accomplish.

    Cons

    Depending on which department you are in the career paths can be somewhat pigeonholed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work of bring out the best in your employees!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Jun 7, 2018 – Culture Rep

    We do value our training and trainers. We constantly look to see if there are better ways to train and new ways to implement ideas. Our employees bring out the best in us, thank you for your time at... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility and ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Management promotes friends rather than those who are qualified

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for being part of the VU family!


  6. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start working from out of town or as a first job.

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the crowd. Work Hard Play Harder... a little too hard.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    May 31, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for being part of the VU family! We are constantly thinking of new ways for people to feel valued as individuals and stand out if they choose to.


  7. "Good job, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    I am no longer employed at VU but I have nothing bad to say about the job other than it's an indoor, office job and that's not me. They truly invest in their employees and I would recommend working there to anyone.

    Cons

    Cubicle job, too intense for some

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Apr 5, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for your time with us! We hope you found a position that fits you and makes you smile. Good luck with everything in the future!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Culture and Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Applications Developer in Columbia, MO
    Current Employee - Web Applications Developer in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Being in IT, there are often times we have to deploy something during "off" hours, so before 8 AM or after 6PM, and it is still something I look forward to even when it's early in the morning because working here is so amazing.

    The people are fantastic, the culture and values here stand out right away and blow me away every single day. I look forward to coming to work, after which there are several times I will go hang out with coworkers and play games while we discuss improvements to our applications! :)

    I am treated like an adult. If there is some family issue that needs to be taken care of, I am told to go take care of it no questions asked. I am trusted and respected a great deal more than any other job I've ever had.

    Competitive pay and benefits definitely played a role in my decision to apply to VU, but it wasn't as big as the culture. While I was offered comparable Pay and Benefits, my overall decisions were based off of Culture and Leadership, which I continue to experience every day and I love this job even more.

    Cons

    I only get to spend so many hours at work, but luckily I can take my laptop home and work from home when I have an idea I want to improve on.

    Really though, I can't say a bad thing about working here. It has been absolutely amazing in every way and I hope to work here for a very, very long time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep. It. Up.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Mar 9, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Wow, thank you for the wonderful words. We wouldn’t be who we are without the awesome people, who we are lucky to have!


  9. "Solid Comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    - flexible schedule
    - great coworkers
    - professional and personal development opportunities

    Cons

    - silo-ed work environment
    -

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Mar 1, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Happy to have you here! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. Here's to a great 2018!


  10. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Columbia, MO
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, especially compared to industry norm. Lots of fun company outings like field day and holiday party.

    Cons

    High burnout and relatively high turnover rate for Loan officers. You will be asked to work weekends and after 5pm throughout the week on a normal basis. They tell you about this going into the job but I figured at some point the weekend work would die down. However, after about 2.5 years here, I was still needing to consistently work Saturdays to get leads. If you dont mind working weekends or weird hours, I highly recommend this job to you.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Feb 8, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We do work really hard to help get our Veterans into homes. We also work very hard every day to care for and support our awesome employees. We are... More


Showing 223 of 245 reviews
Reset Filters