Veterans United Home Loans Reviews | Glassdoor

Veterans United Home Loans Reviews

Updated October 17, 2017
149 reviews

Filter

Filter


149 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Strong culture and belief in good work/life balance (in 14 reviews)

  • Casual dress, fast pace, friendly atmosphere and fun employee events (in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • com is that they are hiring people so fast it is very hard to keep up with every and there new positions (in 5 reviews)

  • Most of the negative comments I've seen are because the company is going through some growing pains (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great culture. Positive, solid balance of focus on process and results. Team work and respect present throughout the process. They maximize relationships which allows everyone to do their best in completing their jobs and helping customers.

    Cons

    Work can be challenging but is equally rewarding.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Mar 31, 2017 – HR Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review about your experience!


  2. "Marketing - Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company, culture, vision, business structure, and great end goal.

    Cons

    Employee growth for moving up in the company is limited.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    flexible, good job, great people

    Cons

    lots of long hours and tedious work


  4. "Best culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hands down best company culture you will find in the Midwest! VU invests in their employees!

    Cons

    Work can sometimes get monotonous but that is life.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your great work of striving to improve lives.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "All of the rumors are true--but it's no easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager
    Current Employee - Account Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work is challenging, but everyone around you genuinely wants you to succeed and will do anything you ask (or don't ask) them to do to help you.

    You are valued, respected, and treated well. Your victories don't go unnoticed, and you are rewarded generously for your hard work.

    The training program is rigorous, which is super important--the job is hard! You definitely don't feel under-prepared when you finish your training. You can tell they want you to do well and give you every tool to be a success.

    The company wants you to stick around! It's incredibly obvious that they want their employees to be here for the long haul--and they definitely give you the incentives to stay. I'm so spoiled working here I don't know that I'll be employable anywhere else that doesn't do everything VU does for us.

    Even upper management knows your name (if they're in the same building as you), they'll greet you and ask how your weekend was, they'll go to happy hour with you, they really care!

    Cons

    It's not easy! People hear all about the parties and perks, but the job is really hard--that's why we get all of the fun perks, because if you didn't have the fun, silly things to balance it out, people would burn out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing exactly what you're doing!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 20, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. Your review really nails it--we are passionate about serving our borrowers and therefore we work really, really hard. But we have fun while we do it... More


  6. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Closer
    Current Employee - Closer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The management is really approachable, they are incredibly understanding of work/life balance, they're constantly trying to improve the work environment which is already great, incredibly inclusive, and they are constantly doing awesome things for employees i.e. field day (that's right, adult field day, and its amazing)

    Cons

    Incredibly deadline driven which can be stressful, but the company knows it is and tries to reward employees/show their appreciation during high volume times ... Do not expect this to be an easy jobs, definitely work hard play hard situation

    Advice to Management

    Departments can at times be pretty disconnected, many are situated in separate buildings, find a way to bring in more understanding and build bridges between departments

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 20, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thanks for sharing your positive experience as a Closer here! I'm sure you've been around for quite a few stressful month-end situations. Our commitment to serve those who so bravely served our... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company Ever!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Columbia, MO
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Soooo many good things going on here!! I have worked here over 3 years and I definitely plan on retiring here. This is a company that truly cares about its employees!!

    Cons

    I really have nothing bad to say about this company. I have been in the IT industry over 20 years and this is by far the greatest company I have worked for!!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!!!!!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thanks for the positive feedback. It's great to hear from someone with so much industry experience. We offer a 401(k) to help you out with those retirement plans!

  8. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great co-workers and overall amazing environment, company genuinely cares for employees

    Cons

    I do not find any cons, was a positive experience and glad I had the opportunity

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – HR Representative

    We are happy you had a great experience when you worked here and wish you all the best on your future personal and professional endeavors.


  9. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    perks are great. People are outstanding. Fun environment to be in and is very rewarding. You are really taken care of here.

    Cons

    Can be very stressful at times with long hours. Easy to get complacent sitting at a desk all day every day.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – HR Representative

    Thank you for your honest feedback about your experience working at VU. The mortgage industry can be stressful at times, but we are focused on getting our nation’s heroes into homes and that takes... More


  10. "Closing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Everything is awesome! I can't explain how great it is!

    Cons

    Insurance may be a little bit expensive. But the salary makes up for it.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – HR Representative

    Glad to hear you are enjoying your job! Just so you know, we have four different health insurance options so you can find the one that meets your needs the best.


Showing 149 of 218 reviews
Reset Filters