Vets First Choice Reviews | Glassdoor

Vets First Choice Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Vets First Choice CEO Ben Shaw
Ben Shaw
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Vast Growth Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Vets First Choice for almost three years. I thank Vets First Choice for being a company that has provided me with tremendous growth opportunities and support, both personally and professionally. Vets First Choice is a great place to work for those who are looking to continuously raise the bar in defining success.

    Cons

    Continue to foster an environment of transparency.

    Vets First Choice2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worth the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, challenging, no 2 days are the same.

    Cons

    Both pro/con: fast-paced, startup feel

    Vets First Choice2019-02-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work for those looking to challenge themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here for several reasons. The executive staff is extremely robust and down to earth, you are given challenges that will help you grow as a professional, and you are given a sense of ownership in the companies success. The office is also very modern and open.

    Cons

    Not a great fit for people looking for the same thing everyday

    Vets First Choice2019-01-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overworked, underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vets First Choice full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers were usually great people, teams were bonded and worked hard

    Cons

    Management was a disaster, hostile and unsupportive HR, pay well below market rate, “rules” are only in place when convenient for upper management

    Vets First Choice2019-01-10
  5. "Certified Pharmacy Technician/Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My pay, time off, and benefits

    Cons

    Too much favortism, people don't work very hard.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fair and don't play favorites.

    Vets First Choice2018-11-03
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Cut Throat Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Vets First Choice full-time

      Pros

      No pros! I am still trying to figure that out.

      Cons

      Very sneaky upper management who are sadly just slaves to the corporation!!!

      Advice to Management

      Be honest to your employees during reviews. Do not give them high hopes about them staying with the company if your intentions are otherwise.

      Vets First Choice2018-09-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "A Company That Likes To Pump up its Assets with Minimum Effort"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time

      Pros

      Great Benefits let me say that 21 days of pto, healthcare, 401k, and some stock options, inputting time requests is easy. At times you are fed food such as pizza and ice cream, seems to be a company that is constantly growing and gaining customers. Company has given our independent pharmacy a streamlined work process that is efficient for now although there system does have flaws. Made our pharmacy more attractive to...

      Show More

      Cons

      Company seems to be saving money at every turn and trying to pump up there independent pharmacies they control with very little effort and investment (the name of the parent company is Direct Vet Marketing). Sure they'll get the accreditation's and improve systems but end up cutting the cost on the supplies for money, installing equipment that is in dire need but not installing more to make the process more efficient....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Value production a little more that is important in running a business like this. Vindictive management will always fail

      Vets First Choice2018-07-09
    • Helpful (6)

      "Nice product but dishonest management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Vets First Choice full-time

      Pros

      Fine product that helps veterinary clinics maintain profitability.

      Cons

      Upper management tells you one thing then does another. Poor pay structure with unrealistic goals. They constantly play favorites. Unqualified upper management that attempts to use intimidation as a management style. Poor corporate culture.

      Advice to Management

      Upper management does not care about advice from field ranks.

      Vets First Choice2018-07-08
    • Helpful (6)

      "Extremely poor uper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Vets First Choice full-time

      Pros

      The pros are great benefits. Lots of good people working very hard.

      Cons

      Uper management is the worse I have ever had the pleasure to work for. You ask over and over again for help and support and all you get back is more expectations. I feel sorry for the people that are still having to put up with it.

      Vets First Choice2018-05-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Reaching for the stars"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vets First Choice full-time

      Pros

      This is by far and away the most ambitious company you will work for. They expect a lot out of you but what great company doesn’t. Insane focus on the customer and lots of support for the sales team. Mark my words- this company will have global dominance. Anybody with something negative must have been here before I was or in a department that I don’t have eyes on.

      Cons

      If you are in the field there is quite a bit of travel and high expectations (pro for the life of the company)

      Vets First Choice2018-01-17
    Found 29 reviews