ViacomCBS Director Reviews | Glassdoor

ViacomCBS Director Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
ViacomCBS President & CEO Robert Bakish
Robert Bakish
19 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Director, Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, opportunities to learn, great culture, great pay

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-03-10
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work with great people

    Cons

    I really dont have any bad things to say

    ViacomCBS2019-04-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Its the people that make a company great, and we lost so many great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Software Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to support some very popular brands. To work on a modern tech stack.

    Cons

    In preparation for the CBS merger, Viacom went through countless cycles of layoffs, attrition and offshoring. Seems there is another on the horizon as I type.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-12-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun culture and average perks (discount on Broadway plays, etc. )

    Cons

    Lowest paying entertainment company. Notorious for layoffs every other year. Management plays favorites. Discriminatory hiring processes.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-09-20
  5. "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture= great. The people are good and there are great perks. Great energy ( depending what department you work in)

    Cons

    Management Leadership Slow growth..long processes

    ViacomCBS2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Lower management at Viacom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to start in the television industry, if you have the ability to learn quickly and follow instructions, you have a good chance of standing out and impressing a manager.

    Cons

    Much of the promotion process is based on making an impression on someone who can promote you. This is bad because many of the people in senior director or VP positions are not well trained in management, they are just people who have been in the company long enough to impress a boss or someone who promoted them, or they have played the politics game well enough to climb the ladder.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-07-19
  7. "Good institution for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is a wealth of knowledge at Viacom and several seasoned professionals who are willing to share their experiences.

    Cons

    Advancement can be tough at Viacom. The salaries are often more competitive elsewhere. Viacom is a great place to start and pick up experience then as other opportunities for upward moves come available, you can make the move.

    ViacomCBS2019-03-18
  8. "Very political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks. Prestigious media company.

    Cons

    A bit gossipy. Make sure you're in the right "clique" or things may not be enjoyable.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-02-18
  9. "Great place to work and amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and the best benefits!

    Cons

    Hard to move up the ladder depending on the group you are in.

    ViacomCBS2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Location, Summer Friday, Event Swag

    Cons

    Broken Culture, Micromanagement, Frequent Change, Sub-Par Retirement program, Lack of Management Support, Politics

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2018-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 95 reviews