ViacomCBS Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

ViacomCBS Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ViacomCBS President & CEO Robert Bakish
Robert Bakish
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow and learn - both professionally and personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing, passionate people. Internal movement is welcomed and supported.

    Cons

    Lots of changes with current merger, uncertainty

    ViacomCBS2020-01-10
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collaborative and inclusive atmosphere. People are wonderful. Casual dress code. Good benefits

    Cons

    Given the industry conditions, lay-offs are a necessary evil and seem to happen often.

    ViacomCBS2019-11-06
  3. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integrated Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful company with great benefits. Excellent culture and people.

    Cons

    Tough to get promoted because people want to stay. Quarterly layoffs due to dynamic changes in the industry.

    ViacomCBS2019-03-26
  4. "Great Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and positive work environment. Viacom's going in a great direction and it's awesome to be a part of it now.

    Cons

    Sometimes too much focus on bureaucracy and processes

    ViacomCBS2019-02-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integrated Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company. Great benefits, klout, recognition, etc

    Cons

    Room for advancement seems limited.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2015-04-08
  6. "Viacom as an Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Viacom is unique culture. It takes both an emersion in the old way of doing things and a strong self-propulsion to succeed. More simply, its easy to stay small at Viacom but if approached correctly, you can get your hands on an amazing amount of accountability.

    Cons

    Its a great resume builder but best not to stay in the building too long (like I did!) as salaries are not competitive and work life balance can sometimes be a little out of wack, especially during the summer months.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2014-11-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Anything goes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you enjoy the entertainment sector, this may be the company for you. If possible, talk to the previous job holder who worked for your Boss, and find out why they left the job and what advice they would give you for the job responsibilities, culture and management style of the Boss.

    Cons

    My Boss at Viacom was totally unprofessional and bordered on "crazy." She enjoyed putting me down in front of extra large meetings. I asked her in private why she thinks I would like being shamed in front of new colleagues at Viacom...she said "can't you take a joke?" I have a great sense of humor and I know how to handle jokes, ribbing, etc. Her jokes were to cut you to the bone and then make everyone underneath her laugh nervously (in order to keep their jobs) and then look at you with glee. After two more time episodes of being shamed in front of larger groups of colleagues, I talked to HR. They told me she has had six nannies in three months quit at her home and she would have many more direct reports quitting too if it wasn't such a difficult job market. I asked has she ever stopped this demeaning behavior and they said "No." I found a new job and I was thrilled to leave this abusive Boss.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2014-08-27
  8. "MTV Networks, Marketing - Creative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great people and fun.

    Cons

    None! Only the commute for me.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2014-04-01
  9. "Fun and Creative work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are surrounded by young, energetic and highly creative people. The company culture is great and there are alot of opportunities for growth. With the media environment changing, the brands are doing their best to keep up.

    Cons

    There is a general sense of disorganization at the company. Shake-ups occur often

    ViacomCBS2013-07-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "four years of long, hard work later..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *upper management for my dept is very laid back so work life balance is definitely present *all networks are run different, but my network is a well oiled machine (which leads to a con) but there are no true surprises from day to day *benefits are good-I've never had an issue using any benefit avail. to me *you get to work with a lot of fun, creative people

    Cons

    *salary is horrible (when promoted its flat out depressing) *movement or promotions of any kind are few and far between and like my title says, it took me 4 years to reach my latest level of advancement (my own fault for sticking it out that long) *as mentioned in pros- my network is a well oiled machine but most days are like ground hogs day- same exact things to do, nothing outside the box *upper management= red tape, favoritism and politics but make huge salaries to play like toddlers *there is a lot of insecurities amongst employees. for exmaple, my boss comes off like she does not want to let myself or my co-workers do anything on our own for fear of us doing a better job. Unfort. to this day she does not realize that your employees are a reflection of you. If we do good, you do good. *lots of repetitive hand holding (in the words of The Other Guys, "I'm a peacock, you gotta let me fly")

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2012-10-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews