ViacomCBS Producer Reviews | Glassdoor

ViacomCBS Producer Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ViacomCBS President & CEO Robert Bakish
Robert Bakish
2 Ratings
  1. "Laid back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Producer/Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS for more than a year

    Pros

    Super relaxed. Lots of swag. Decent pay. Nice work/life balance. Had free time to do my own thing. They let me shoot in the office for free.

    Cons

    Poor lighting. Everyone was getting laid off all around me for two years.

    ViacomCBS2018-11-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Get Your Experience, Then Get Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Working with world class brands - Friendly, smart co-workers - 1515 is an amazing building to work in - Very relaxed working schedule - Casual dress code Overall, a fun place to work for a period of time. The holiday parties are incredible, lots of events going on in 1515, and a good place to start your media career if you have little to no experience.

    Cons

    - No room for advancement - Lower salaries compared to similar positions in the area - Too much red tape - Failing business struggling to stay relevant (when compared to the rest of the industry) - Revolving door of employees coming and going - Notorious for hiring “perma-lancers” ( hiring contract workers, keeping them for years, and never giving them benefits).

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2019-12-26
  3. "Fun environment, but hard to get staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Video Editor/Producer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I've worked with have been great and I'm friends with many. The content is fun. The work events are fun. Casual dress and doesn't feel very "corporate".

    Cons

    Only con is that it's super difficult and frustrating for people to get full-time staff with benefits. And that lay offs are common because the company is very volatile.

    ViacomCBS2019-12-10
  4. "Solid place to work, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Producer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, uppermobility, fun projects

    Cons

    always a chance you'll be laid off

    ViacomCBS2019-11-05
  5. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some perks. There's a ton of experience to be gained in a fast-paced, ad-based company.

    Cons

    It's hard to move up

    ViacomCBS2019-04-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Was once good but going down fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer/Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A well known brand, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Lay offs at least 2x/year, and more often this year. Politics and fear run rampant, no appetite for creative work, prefer "safe" work. The President acts as ECD and has his hands in every detail. Sadly, thinking outside the box is punished.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2018-06-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and work environment, full of creative energy.

    Cons

    Insanely long hours. Intermittent work available.

    ViacomCBS2018-02-12
  8. "We can do it for $X? Now lets do it for X minus Y."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ViacomCBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It paid well and challenged me to remember how I produced low budget projects back in film school. The company has a strong pedigree of good content, from Nickelodeon to MTV.

    Cons

    Uncertainty with the position and the company in general lead to a low morale culture, and productivity suffered as a result.

    ViacomCBS2017-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "You Never Know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ViacomCBS for less than a year

    Pros

    Young but talented staff. Close knit. Awesome production management team (always willing to help even at the eleventh hour).

    Cons

    Favoritism is key. If you came in without having a strong or previous relationship with upper management it is hard to advance. Because there was a shift in content, senior staff feared that they would lose their positions and created a toxic space with lack of communication. PAs and APs were asked to do more than they were compensated for. Not much diversity in their digital department.

    Continue reading
    ViacomCBS2017-07-07
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Associate Digital Producer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ViacomCBS for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment, people, company culture.

    Cons

    Most people wokr 11+ hours a day and it is considered normal. Expected to be on call 24/7,

    ViacomCBS2017-06-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews