KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Viasat

Engaged Employer

Viasat

Add a Review

Viasat Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 821 of over 999 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Viasat President and CEO Rick Baldridge
Rick Baldridge
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is good, coworkers are nice, pay is good(in 118 reviews)

  • "Large company with small company work environment; flexibility to work remotely; opportunities for internal growth; employs only the best engineers(in 86 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Carlsbad is an expensive area to live(in 25 reviews)

  • "You will frequently be expected to work long hours(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Viasat and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exceptional work life balance exceptional benefits package cutting edge RF communication development company

      Cons

      no cons with working at viasat

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great campus, sweet people, false culture, joke pay.

      Jun 15, 2021 - Software Engineering Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility in location, campus is pretty. Healthy lifestyle encouraged.

      Cons

      Pay is a total joke, bonus and stocks are FAR below industry average. If this is your only offer, know your worth and counter, especially if stocks are not written in yearly comp package. Culture is what you make it, but if you’re constantly having to remind everyone how good you are at something (e.g. culture), then it’s a facade. Had to work with global teams so absolutely worked inside and outside California business hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Viasat Response

      Thank you for your feedback! Our employees drive everything we do and we are committed to supporting them in any way that we can. While we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had, it’s important that we address some of your comments. We closely monitor external compensation trends and data which enables us to adjust an employee’s compensation at any time throughout the year if the market has shifted quickly. We do this proactively, so our employees do not have to worry about falling behind. Employees are also encouraged to actively have these conversations with their supervisor. While we do pride ourselves on the culture we’ve maintained over the years, our culture was built by our employees and their feedback. The simple truth is that 91% of our employees recommend Viasat as a good place to work. Lastly, we do not favor tenure over talent. We’re committed to learning and growing with our employees and by not operating in a traditional hierarchal business structure we remove barriers for our people to innovate and collaborate at any level, in any location. We wish you best of luck in your future career!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company but not fast paced

      Jun 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility to try a new career stream or project. Culture is 10/10.

      Cons

      Things work relatively slowly. Lacks clear direction.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      workplace

      Jun 21, 2021 - President and Chief Executive Officer in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      technology leader and great work environment

      Cons

      San Diego / Carlsbad can be a tough area to find housing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Employee considerate organization

      Jun 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This organization is very open to employee feedback and very considerate of its employees when policy decisions are made. The overall culture of the organization is very good.

      Cons

      no cab services for employee pick up and drop.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Viasat really cares about their employees

      May 17, 2021 - Program Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mostly everyone is super friendly and intelligent. Facilities are amazing as well as benefits. Enjoy going to work pre Covid. Support for employees during Covid including a stipend and time off to get vaccinated. If all employers were rated on how they treated their employees during covid, Viasat would receive 5 stars! Flatter org structure than most large companies. Everyone can make an impact.

      Cons

      Takes a full year to ramp up at Viasat. Too many acronyms and abbreviations to learn. Viasat is not keen on multiple levels of management or even a defined org structure which can be a positive but can also make it hard for new employees to understand who's who and what they do.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company, great people.

      Apr 26, 2021 - Software Developer in College Station, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company that cares about the well being of its employees. Excellent benefits and employee programs. Very little crunch. Skilled and generally awesome co-workers. Aside from the healthy culture, this good review comes mostly from the fact that, in 2020 when when all airline-centric revenue was hit hard and some competitors were undergoing large scale layoffs (%40+), Viasat cut the absolute minimum (%3 I think?) and even continued standard cost of living raises in 2020. It shows a strong commitment and stable business practices.

      Cons

      There is definitely some political nonsense in the upper echelons here, but you're going to see that in any company this large. It's relatively minimal I think.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Jun 17, 2021 - Senior Accountant in Largo, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, easy going culture

      Cons

      Not easy to move up the ladder

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Room to move

      Jun 15, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can move around as interests change

      Cons

      not much to report here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Ups and Downs in the Satellite Business

      Jun 6, 2021 - Applications Analyst in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many good people in all departments. Good overall atmosphere.

      Cons

      Some communication lapses between departments (but nothing you won't find in just about any complex technical environment).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 821 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Viasat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Viasat? Share Your Experiences

    or