Victoria's Secret Category Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Category Manager

Victoria's Secret Category Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Victoria's Secret CEO Les Wexner (no image)
Les Wexner
6 Ratings
  1. "Living our Values is Key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Values, Compensation, Brand, Woman empowerment

    Cons

    retail hours are hard with a family

    Victoria's Secret2019-07-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Know less, say yes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, free merchandise, first picks

    Cons

    Politics; not what you know, but who you know; too many chiefs, not enough Indians; unrealistic deadlines from corporate/constant last minute changes

    Advice to Management

    If you’re have managerial experience before you get here it will likely interfere with this companies policies. This isn’t a place that celebrates your ideas no matter how well they work. If you just “say yes” and have no back bone, You’ll do fine and probably sit in the same position for some odd years. Unless they fire everyone else with which by default, you’ll be promoted.

    Victoria's Secret2019-07-30
  3. "Challenging and Rewarding / Not everyone's cup of tea."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company put a lot into training for management. Encouraged managers to be owners of their category/businesses. Definitely room for growth, as many in district and store manager positions once started as cashiers themselves. Some very great leaders in the company. The relationships you build in an intense work environment like Victoria's Secret are priceless.

    Cons

    Payroll was particularly challenging to manage... more so in some stores than in others and one bad weekend can kill your sales floor coverage for the rest of the week/month... sending you into a spiral of having to cut payroll hours, depending on the size of the store and market. Semi Annual Sale and Holidays were intense and exhausting. The worst part? Having to fix and pull the store together (sooo many tiny pieces) for hours after the store has closed.... because you had to cut payroll and there was no one on the sales floor to fix it throughout the day... but now you're having to spend the payroll after-hours anyway...... see how this works? Damned if you do... Damned if you don't.

    Show More
    Victoria's Secret2018-10-10
  4. "Lingerie category manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great training for every level, amazing gratis and contests. Much room for growth if you do not get on upper management's bad side.

    Cons

    Awful store visits. Impossible to know what is expected of you and what actions are to be taken as the upper management/corporate members who visit change their minds at the drop of a hat.

    Advice to Management

    More stable and see through expectations. Better work life balance especially around holidays and peak.

    Victoria's Secret2017-10-12
  5. "Category Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding job when you help customer find the right fitting bras. Improved their self esteem and comfort level.

    Cons

    Maintaining panty drawer standards, getting customers to let you help them.

    Victoria's Secret2017-05-15
  6. "Category manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time

    Pros

    Free or discounted bras/panties/fragrances. Love what the company stands for and love working on visual presentations. Great team atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay is not great, long hours, not hard work, but tedious.

    Victoria's Secret2016-10-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is the only pro of working for Victoria's Secret.

    Cons

    The culture is horrible. There is no growth opportunity. They employee leaders who are fear drivers instead of talent developers. They pride themselves on being the best place to work but they do not care about their employees. They don't care about breaks or lunches. The turnover is extremely high. There is no recognition. The district managers threaten to write up leaders if the store is not making sales instead of finding and creating ways to make change and encourage their leadership to think outside the box. Leaders don't ask questions to get to root causes of issues. The terminate associates wrongfully and the company does not value ethical practices.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a major need to evaluate the things going on at a store level and it begins with accountability of leadership. Quit terminating associates wrongfully. Care about your team.

    Victoria's Secret2016-09-28
  8. "Category Manager at Flagship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Three week vacation Stock options Full Benefits 401K

    Cons

    Lack of Creativity Work all holidays No more bonus structure for management

    Advice to Management

    When VS shifted their business model many good people left including myself. They did offer more money, but at that point the money was no longer worth it. The management opportunities became very limited. I was paid well but I was also very vocal about receiving an increase. I no longer felt challenged as the structure is very controlled (obviously because it's a global brand).

    Victoria's Secret2016-07-04
  9. "Category Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Merchandise, Great Employee Discount, Good salary for management and good pay raise/ bonus structure.

    Cons

    Demanding Schedule, Relentless Hours, Generally unappreciative of employees, and terribly underpaid support staff.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the part-time staff and supervisors more. They tolerate far worse for far less.

    Victoria's Secret2016-04-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you make your bonus and if they still are paying out for making your bonus THAT is worth it. Some friends I made from working there are amazing but unfortunately all think the same way about this company. It's such a shame.

    Cons

    Management is all about favoritism. As a manager myself I was involved in conversations and meetings with my bosses about their love/hate relationships with my associates. They told me who they liked and didn't like and it was my job either get rid of them or get them promoted. At some points a LIST was made of associates to get rid of. If I didn't do what they wanted to in the time frame they expected I was in trouble. It's extremely fake. They say they care about the associates needs but that is just a cover. They really don't care at all. All management cares about is to make sure their associates don't say mad things about them. HR is a joke. There is no unbiased HR. They are always on the senior management's side. No matter what the situation is. Unnecessary levels of stress not warranted for a retail management position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the old managers and breathe fresh new life into that company.

    Victoria's Secret2016-03-07
Found 70 reviews