Victoria's Secret "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Victoria's Secret Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Victoria's Secret CEO Les Wexner (no image)
Les Wexner
1,182 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work Great Team environment Flexible hours work/life balance

    Cons

    Retail hours Retail customers Stressful at times

    Victoria's Secret2019-07-26
  2. "Good as a part-time gig, Bad as a a serious full-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations and Staffing Supervisor in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced environment. Made some life long friends here and gained some good sales and customer service skills.

    Cons

    Once I was promoted to some more managerial type jobs, it was clear how dysfunctional the company was. HQ expecations made it obvious they had no idea what the job in the store actually entails. Every time some one from corporate would show up, we would work over time to make everything seem pristine instead of actually showing them where we were understaffed. Managers trained to manipulate you into feeling bad for... taking time off. Not to mention that all retail work has TERRIBLE work/life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The people at HQ need to see what it's actually like in the store. Not just set unrealistic expectations. Value your experienced workers whatever their time commitment level is, any extra experienced hand during the holidays (even if only one day a week) is better than 20 unexperienced hands.

    Victoria's Secret2019-12-07
  3. "Great company to work for and grow with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Merchandise Planner in Reynoldsburg, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team oriented, cross functional and work life balance

    Cons

    work life balance lacks in some positions, struggling currently

    Victoria's Secret2019-11-04
  4. "Must be flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Operations Manager 

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits is some of the best in the retail industry Very prestigious and well known brand Every day is different

    Cons

    Every store I have worked in (5) there is always a lot of drama Promotions have changed in the middle of a busy holiday Saturday - you must be very open to change, fast paced, and a quick learner It is a very competitive environment - a lot of sales are stolen by other employees and that hurts your overall numbers, hurting your reviews. Company promotes work/life balance, but as a supervisor or manager, you have... little to no work/life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment that doesn't tolerate drama or sale stealing. Squash things as they come up and don't let them fester or spiral. Set your standards for the employees and lead by example.

    Victoria's Secret2019-11-01
  5. "Overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Victoria's Secret offers many opportunities to move up. If you work hard, you will go far.

    Cons

    Little work/life balance during the holidays, but that is any retail job.

    Victoria's Secret2019-11-01
  6. "Be ready to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Supervisor 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Merchandise Discount Great PTO Big on Internal Promotion

    Cons

    Little Work / Life Balance Hard Hours

    Victoria's Secret2019-10-15
  7. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay abs benefits Product

    Cons

    Work life balance is

    Victoria's Secret2019-10-28
  8. "great retail company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay rate, opportunities to grow within the company and gratis packages as well as bonuses frequently. I was happy working for this company and started from the bottom working my way to a management position in 2 years. Hard work goes recognized.

    Cons

    opportunity to improve home work life balance some drama within team payroll was very strict and often left us understaffed making it very stressful at some times

    Victoria's Secret2019-10-08
  9. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bra Fit Specialist in Cherry Hill, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay is decent coworkers are positive

    Cons

    management is not consistent little work life balance

    Victoria's Secret2019-10-17
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow with the company. Fair pay. Most of the time you have great coworkers. Paid time off.

    Cons

    Crazy, long hours. Busiest during weekends and holidays so expect to work a lot. Work/life balance is hard because you have to work a lot and skip holidays with family.

    Victoria's Secret2019-09-26
Found 415 reviews