Victoria's Secret "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Victoria's Secret Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Victoria's Secret CEO Les Wexner (no image)
Les Wexner
1,199 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, bonuses, and pay

    Cons

    Not a work/life balance

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "You don’t have a life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Business insight Lots of learning Get to go to learning labs

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance although company says that it’s of top priority. Communication between Corporate and store level was awful. The dream up top was grand but the execution of the management team was pour. Too much room for variability

    Advice to Management

    Calm down. It’s retail. Your feedback is always entitled. Be genuine.. stop worrying about someone taking something you said the wrong way.

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-03
  3. "I would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You'll meet some amazing people and create real bonds with them. You can find family in every store.

    Cons

    There is no opportunity for growth if you are not in "good" with management. Communication is poor. Work/life balance does not exist; i.e. you can be given 20 minutes notice to do a change that requires 30 hours of labor by end of day. If upper management in your area isn't plugged in and in LOVE with what they do, you will never feel supported.

    Advice to Management

    Victoria's Secret is really good at talking about culture and values, but those writing them up seem to have never entered a store. I have never met anyone working in a store who felt supported by upper management or corporate.

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-17
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret full-time

    Pros

    Lots to learn, free stuff, fast paced

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging recently

    Victoria's Secret2019-04-25
  5. "Passionate people, Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Full Time Bra Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment, discounts, and room for growth.

    Cons

    Work life balance is tough and holidays are intense.

    Victoria's Secret2019-04-23
  6. "No opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros of working in VS is the free incentives and its a fun workplace culture. I loved going to work and help women build confidence through the bra journey.

    Cons

    Their is a lot of micro managing and you have zero work life balance. Also it was difficult to move up within the store. I expressed my interests and since the store had poor management they didn't help me move up.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing your employees and trust they can do their job while still managing.

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-07
  7. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Supervisor in New York, NY

    I worked at Victoria's Secret full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good The people you work with

    Cons

    No work life balance

    Victoria's Secret2019-04-22
  8. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Support Generalist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay People Learning experience Get to learn bras

    Cons

    The management Work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Communication

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-06
  9. "Decent company to work for seasonally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a job and they pay on time.

    Cons

    The benefits packages are horrible No work life balance You will be micromanaged Management sucks

    Victoria's Secret2019-05-01
  10. "Good money for half"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Victoria's Secret part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers are very close knit and very welcoming. Bonus is nice but not ensured

    Cons

    No work life balance. Incompetent management. Managers play favoritism. All decisions are emotionally biased.

    Advice to Management

    Get training.

    Victoria's Secret2019-04-13
Found 421 reviews