Vidant Health Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Vidant Health Nurse Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Vidant Health CEO Michael Waldrum
Michael Waldrum
9 Ratings
  1. "Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Nurse Manager in Ahoskie, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company is very supportive and encourages growth. The people in each department look out for each other just like they were family.

    Cons

    Hospital politics sometimes is a hassle but everywhere you go, politics will be there.

    Vidant Health2019-05-18
  2. "Average Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overtime with good incentive Great coworkers Good manager

    Cons

    6:1 ratio Busy Floors Mandatory flex up

    Vidant Health2020-02-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cardiology Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great collaborating physicians, understanding management, good support staff, hospitalist group great support

    Cons

    work/life balance difficult with long commutes, high management turn over,

    Vidant Health2019-12-30
  4. "Good for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant 

    I worked at Vidant Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very friendly, many locations to work at

    Cons

    as a CNA you often get way more patients than you should handle. Especially on tight shifts

    Vidant Health2019-10-18
  5. "nurse review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexibility, coworkers, Greenville is a nice town

    Cons

    salary, pto, benefits, leadership, flu vaccine

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2019-04-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Vidant Medical Center - Staff Nurse II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse II in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well, it's an academic medical center, they're fundamentally the same no matter where you are. I can't imagine working at one of the smaller hospitals in the area, which are all also owned by Vidant. Most of the staff are locals and feel a connection to the area. Pay is ok considering the low cost of living, middle class housing can be had for 125,000 in Greenville and under 6 figures outside of it. Spaces everywhere, if you want to step into the ICU or Cath lab they'll take you.

    Cons

    Travelers frequently say we're getting used. Its a difficult area to attract people too, without a lot of cultural opportunities. Perpetual short staffing but hey, that's nursing everywhere as far as I can tell. Patient population is very poor, under educated, with few options for definitive treatment. Recent moves towards increasing patient load have little bearing on reality. Current CEO is an improvement over the last but healthcare as a whole is moving towards hard choices, especially in areas like Eastern NC with a high medicaid/ medicare population.

    Vidant Health2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run from CSO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nursing Care Partner 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vidant Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Jim C & Aletha B have a heart You learn different aspects of how the hospital operates Meet a range of people Learn rather you want to stay in medicine or not REMEMBER YOU ARE REPLACEABLE & they will so take care of yourself first....

    Cons

    Your manager never gets to know who YOU are and probably don't care She is heartless and will take the side of another hospital employee over her own staff They don't care about your life except when it concerns VMC.

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2018-12-17
  8. "Big Machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good, gym membership

    Cons

    Mandatory unforeseen changes in policies like patient ratios

    Vidant Health2018-11-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "All upper management is the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, variety of jobs available

    Cons

    Good ole boy network, micromanaging, lack of staff retention

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2018-10-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bullied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning environment with potential for growth but not under my boss

    Cons

    Never been treated like a child so much as I have here! I have anxiety about coming to work. Bullied for the entire time! Looking for a way out! No compensation for getting graduate degree either.

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2018-07-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews