Vidant Health Staff Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Staff Nurse

Create your profile to get personalized information

Vidant Health Staff Nurse Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Vidant Health CEO Michael Waldrum
Michael Waldrum
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Vidant Medical Center - Staff Nurse II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse II in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well, it's an academic medical center, they're fundamentally the same no matter where you are. I can't imagine working at one of the smaller hospitals in the area, which are all also owned by Vidant. Most of the staff are locals and feel a connection to the area. Pay is ok considering the low cost of living, middle class housing can be had for 125,000 in Greenville and under 6 figures outside of it. Spaces everywhere, if you want to step into the ICU or Cath lab they'll take you.

    Cons

    Travelers frequently say we're getting used. Its a difficult area to attract people too, without a lot of cultural opportunities. Perpetual short staffing but hey, that's nursing everywhere as far as I can tell. Patient population is very poor, under educated, with few options for definitive treatment. Recent moves towards increasing patient load have little bearing on reality. Current CEO is an improvement over the last but healthcare as a whole is moving towards hard choices, especially in areas like Eastern NC with a high medicaid/ medicare population.

    Vidant Health2019-03-18
  2. "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Staff Nurse 

    I have been working at Vidant Health

    Pros

    learning hospital. opportunities to increase learning

    Cons

    salary low with very poor benefits

    Vidant Health2016-01-31
  3. "Critical Care RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vidant Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ample opportunities to grow and develop.

    Cons

    PAY!! Compared to local Level I Trauma Centers

    Vidant Health2016-01-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Staff Nurse in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vidant Health

    Pros

    none, this place treats it's nurses really bad. stay away from them. not understanding at all

    Cons

    not a good place to work at and have a family.

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2015-09-01
  5. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse, RN in Greenville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vidant Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked on Mother-Baby, great atmosphere and people to work with. Enjoyed my nurse residency program, very thorough and I felt prepared to step on the floor as a new grad after completion.

    Cons

    Shortage of nurses on every floor. Many flex shifts were required every pay period. Pay was mediocre, but as a new grad it was expected.

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2015-07-13
  6. "Great place to practice nursing for 1 year and then move on to better avenues of nursing advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN, Staff Nurse in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vidant Health for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and various work enviroments. choose carefully and make sure you talk to staff as to their likes of the department you are interviewing for a position.

    Cons

    Management manages only from the office.

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2014-04-30
  7. "Not for a person with a brain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff Nurse in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vidant Health

    Pros

    slow pace, friendly people (at least to your face), fexible schedules, you dont have to keep uptodate on current things

    Cons

    sr. management claims to want to improve or grow, but they strongly fight against new ideas or those that dont agree with their outdated ways, if youre good at kissing butts youll do fine, the miracle is that they still provide fairly average care

    Continue reading
    Vidant Health2012-03-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews