View, Inc. "hard working" Reviews | Glassdoor

View, Inc. Employee Reviews about "hard working"

Updated Nov 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
View, Inc. Chief Executive Officer Rao Mulpuri
Rao Mulpuri
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Mission oriented company, changing the world!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Mission oriented company, employees genuinely believe in the company's misison and want to change the world. - Simple, elegant product that people "get" right away - Extremely talented, hard working, motivated, and positive employees. Truly entrepreneurial: most employees willingly jump in and do whatever it takes to succeed. - Have hired seasoned executives to make this a billion dollar company. Processes and scalability are improving quickly!

    Cons

    - Not for the faint of heart; if you want work/life balance, this may not be for you.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2017-02-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "nothing good comes easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great product, about to get even better -innovative minds building out new products/features -hard working culture - career growth opportunities -company is making progress by adding the right pieces to the puzzle -stable environment -competitive pay -acknowledgement of your efforts -complete redesign ouf our HQ in Milpitas -upcoming fitness room

    Cons

    -No 401k matching -No bonuses for individual contributors -not enough team building events

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2018-11-16
  3. Helpful (22)

    "Sales actually needs quality product to sell. Management needs overhaul with less berating/more long-term goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at View, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge product Passionate employees in the beginning Colleagues are hard-working, but spread too thin Decent company meetings that try to encourage team spirit after years of belittling one another. Impressive manufacturing tour, except when a pane of glass shattered so close, it flew onto my shoes.

    Cons

    No quality product when needed Upper management leads by fear & intimidation (I read the reviews before I started & didn’t believe any place could be so bad-it was.) Horrible corporate culture, unless you have a gazillion stock options. Stock is yet to be determined if it is worth anything after a myriad of patent lawsuits & consistent underperformance. Glass is dark blue, irregular & distracting Manufacturing QC problems at every turn Field service techs worked to death putting out constant fires No 401k match Ex: There was a project sold in an area with no paid View glass installations & with a major influencer in the area. View couldn’t deliver glass in less than 9-10 months, so the client went straight to the competition & the rep was scolded for poor/zero sales. And don’t forget about the monthly calls to get berated by the VP in front of a room full of people. Not berated; belittled. Embarrassed. Nothing constructive shared to do things better. The kind of updates you do everything to prepare for, yet nothing is good enough. We were all savvy professionals not in need of lashings. The thought of those days makes me sick to my stomach. I laughed when I read about the CEO begging us to write glowing reviews on GD to combat the overwhelming number of bad reviews. I’m pretty sure I wrote a great review a few years ago, too. I feel bad for the people that hate working there and feel trapped. Get out! There are normal companies out there! Life is too short to work for jerks that drink their own Kool-Aid with no self-awareness.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2018-06-01
  4. Helpful (22)

    "I’ve never written a GD review....until now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are very hard working

    Cons

    -C level completely out of touch with working ppl -CEO is driving a culture of fear and dominance -Sales in Bay Area are non-existent due to severe problems with quality and reputation among partners -Sales leadership severely lacking. RMs placed from internally with no sales or management background -Orwellian surveillance and blame game (company wide) -‘The cobblers children have no shoes’—-While the key message is the value that VG provides is natural light, HQ is an old bldg w fluorescent lightning and very little windows resulting in no access to sunlight -When there are problems (and this is frequent),everyone runs to it. They throw resources to fix it and then they all run to the next problem. They don’t learn from it or grow. Systems are foreign=this is NOT scalable

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2018-05-28
  5. Helpful (28)

    "Respect is explicitly not part of the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard-working, dedicated colleagues. Fairly flexible hours. Judged mostly on output and delivery to deadlines. Standard health plans. Room to take on responsibility, if you're comfortable self-teaching on your own time without a safety net.

    Cons

    No 401k matching. Probably the worst culture of any company I've worked in. Lots of political scheming and backstabbing. Middle managers are rooting for each other to fail, team members are too focused on the personal goals to which they're measured to support each other at all, and generally nobody is being set up to succeed. Some managers may as well be actively setting up their own teams to fail if they inherited a design they don't like. No concept of teamwork, which leads to lots of finger-pointing and blaming people for missing dates out of their control. I've even seen VPs celebrate the stumbles of other departments because it diverts the "wrath of CEO" away from theirs. Directors think it's OK to ask a remote vendor to present a demo at 04:00AM on a Saturday local time while obviously sick. Working most nights and weekends for no compensation is assumed and taken for granted. Haranguing, belittling, and verbally abusing employees is commonplace both in public and private. Entire management structure is fixated on wringing as much short-term productivity as possible from employees and holding people "accountable", so as a lead you're pressured to drive your team to burnout and account for every man-minute. Targets often bear little relation to reality and you can get chastised whether or not you meet them. HR does their best, but the culture is antiquated compared to the bay. It's an uphill battle to get even basic tools to do your work, like software licenses, white-boards, or effective laptops... let alone training or the opportunity to keep up with technology.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2018-01-03
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    MOST of the people within the organization are top notch - hard working, intelligent and committed and should be recognized greatly.

    Cons

    Management by fear is not the way to grow and become effective in the Silicon Valley.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2016-12-15
  7. Helpful (26)

    "Great product, horrible CEO who does not value people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    View makes a product that we all know will be everywhere some day. It's very cool and everyone just "gets" it when they see it the first time. I'm proud to be part of getting something like this out to the world. I have fellow coworkers who are hard working, smart and dedicated. We all believe in what we do.

    Cons

    The CEO is a nightmare. He drives hard, and that is needed to make a company successful, but he constantly spends investor money on stupid pet projects, and abuses the staff at every turn. It's a culture of fear and people are used up and thrown away. I would never ever bring anyone I care about into this company. It's too nasty and it all starts at the very top with the CEO and C.F.O. They just did layoffs last week with no explanation as to why they happened or why certain people got hit. Everyone is nervous. I will be leaving SOON.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2016-09-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "long time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at View, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees are consistently bright, hard-working, internally motivated people. There is no information siloing or inter-office politics - people actively work together to fulfill the company mission.

    Cons

    The leased facility is dated and doesn't represent the potential of the product, company or its culture well.

    Continue reading
    View, Inc.2016-04-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews