VillageCare Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
25%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
VillageCare President & CEO Emma DeVito
Emma DeVito
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management openly showed favoritism(in 10 reviews)

  • "Case loads are going up to 150, new directors are slave drivers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Care Coordinator at VillageCare"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator 

    I worked at VillageCare full-time

    Pros

    I liked the staff and clients.

    Cons

    I disliked the long hours.

    VillageCare2019-07-21
  2. "Company is so-so"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VillageCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay/compensation, allows you to WAH, mostly independent, you are given your own cellphone

    Cons

    Expected to work long hours/overtime w/o pay; unfair and unrealistic expectations; caseload can be overwhelming; software system (eCare) is horrible; called into the office too many times when trainings, mtgs, etc. could have been done online or over the phone; favoritism and partiality towards certain employees

    Continue reading
    VillageCare2020-02-01
  3. "Do not apply here unless you’re a man..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VillageCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location is a pro.

    Cons

    Everyone runs around with no direction or very little direction.

    VillageCare2020-02-24
  4. "Look for a better place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I worked at VillageCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and PTO given

    Cons

    Crazy hectic work environment

    VillageCare2020-01-09
  5. "Sinking ship"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anon 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VillageCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, mission, some friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Unstable organization, weak leadership, no work-life balance

    VillageCare2020-01-10
  6. "Quantity vs. Quality"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Care Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VillageCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally good environment to work in to gain valuable expertise in the field

    Cons

    Upper management openly showed favoritism

    VillageCare2019-10-07
  7. "Loved my job at VCM"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Care Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VillageCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was a great place to work. Dedicated employee

    Cons

    The new person at the top of our area got rid of the good upper management.

    VillageCare2019-09-14
  8. "Discouraging"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Care Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VillageCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pay and telecommuting

    Cons

    Employees are not valued. CMs are overworked with high caseloads and unrealistic workloads. The focus is on quantity rather than quality, yet they upper management expects to have good outcomes and member satisfaction. Upper management has no clue about what it takes to be a good case manager. Time off is a punishment rather than a benefit due to all the work that is waiting for you upon your return. The worst of it all is the constant threats about corrective action and loss of telecommuting “benefit” of work is not completed. Upper management doesn’t care about employee feedback.

    Continue reading
    VillageCare2019-09-21
  9. "Village Care Max"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VillageCare full-time

    Pros

    Able to learn about CMS and State initiatives.

    Cons

    Company culture does not acknowledge the lack of work life balance for employees. Due to being understaffed, employees are always working after work hours with no OT or the ability to leave early for the following day or work from home. Lack of employee appreciation from supervisors. HR does not stand up for employees either.

    Continue reading
    VillageCare2019-08-18
  10. "Do not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utilization Management Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VillageCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, easy commute, peers (not everyone though)

    Cons

    Opportunities to grow professionally are taken away unless related to someone; treatment and promo of employees related to higher management is overpowering and HR does nothing about it; unorganized environment with things constantly changing and failing since immediately implemented without testing first.

    Continue reading
    VillageCare2019-08-11
Found 86 reviews