Vince Reviews | Glassdoor

Vince Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Vince CEO Brendan Hoffman
Brendan Hoffman
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Worse company I have ever been, upper management is a mess including HR,(in 14 reviews)

  • "Clothing allowance not comparable to other companies in retail industry (you are selling(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Accounts Payable Manager 

      I worked at Vince full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Welcoming staff and very helpful.

      Cons

      Teams can be separated due to space.

      Vince2019-05-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Dead end if you are not part of the clique"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Accounting in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vince full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Clothing discounts and sample sales on amazing chic quality products. Great location near trains buses and Bryant park.

      Cons

      Vince has a cliquish and unprofessional atmosphere which stems from bad leadership. People seem to get promoted based on something other than performance or management skills. The closed-door environment by upper management causes an unsettling felling. Endless deadlines and issues with systems and equipment makes it hard to have a work life balance'

      Advice to Management

      HR should get more involved to determine the causes of the high turnover rate. Work to train new and current hires with specific and thorough education.

      Vince2019-06-04
    • "Overall Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Accountant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vince full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot here due to the Manager's Expertise and willingness/ patience to teach her staff. Weekly touchbases with management provided support & also knowledge on the organization. Well structured team. All departments were friendly and supportive.

      Cons

      Work Life Balance- Management should be conscious that face-time at the office does not correlate with being a hard worker. Leaving on time should not be frowned upon but encouraged.

      Advice to Management

      Less time at the office & a little more culture would help this organization be a great place to work.

      Vince2019-05-21
    • "Working at Vince."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vince full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The company culture is laid back and comfortable but full of passion and drive, making the environment one of the best to be productive in.

      Cons

      Being that there are two floors, some of the teams who work together are separated.

      Vince2019-05-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not a fully establish company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Key Holder 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Vince full-time

      Pros

      It's an easy job for an okay pay.

      Cons

      Policies are changing constantly. There are a lot of IT problems and they're never fully solved. They have unexperienced employees working in corporate that make our job harder.

      Advice to Management

      Keep your managers on check.

      Vince2019-05-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "No life here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vince full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Product, discount, people, location, great brand.

      Cons

      Stagnant culture, slow to embrace technology or new ideas. One person makes all the decisions so things bottleneck

      Advice to Management

      Stop micromanaging, People were hired for a reason. Let them do the jobs you hired them for. Encourage new ideas.

      Vince2019-05-24
    • "Great Retail Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Part Time Keyholder in Coral Gables, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Vince part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I had great coworkers and management. Pay and benefits were competitive. The product and store were exciting. The company is growing.

      Cons

      None that stand out to me.

      Vince2019-05-04
    • "Good place to learn and grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Vince full-time

        Pros

        clothing allowance, small team and easy to grow

        Cons

        balancing sales and daily operations of the store as a Store Manager or Assistant Store Manager

        Vince2019-03-22
      • "Chill atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate 

        I have been working at Vince part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Friendly coworkers and great benefit of clothing allowance

        Cons

        Bored at downtime and low hourly paid

        Vince2019-03-14
      • Helpful (4)

        "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Vince full-time

        Pros

        Amazing, relevant brand! the corporate culture has a start up feel with relaxed work environment and small teams where your voice is heard.

        Cons

        Vince has gone through a lot of upper management changes so the brand is still transitioning. This can be a negative if you are looking for a clearly defined company or a positive if you are up for a challenge and able to take initiative!

        Vince2018-12-18
      Found 107 reviews