Cover image for Virgin Galactic
Logo
See All Photos

Virgin Galactic

Engaged Employer

Virgin Galactic

Add a Review

Virgin Galactic Employee Reviews about "9 80"

Updated Jul 11, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 192 of over 193 reviews
2.7
26% Recommend to a Friend
Virgin Galactic CEO Michael Colglazier
23% Approve of CEO

Found 3 of over 193 reviews

2.7
26%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Galactic CEO Michael Colglazier
Michael Colglazier
38 Ratings

What people are saying about Virgin Galactic

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "A few honest, authentic great people to work with; Others, plastic and backstabbing.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Benefits are great.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Great work/life balance(in 12 reviews)
  • "The pay is good and goes a long way since the cost of living is relatively low.(in 9 reviews)
  • "At it's height, Virgin had an amazing culture.(in 7 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Virgin Galactic and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "9 80"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company!!

    Jul 11, 2021 - Senior Systems Engineer in Mojave, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, benefits, and team mates. We all share a dream at Virgin and work together to make it a reality. In comparison to other company's I have worked with the benefits are the best I've seen in 25 years in Aerospace. The medical benefits show the care the company has for its employees wellbeing and health. These benefits take me back to the mid-1990's with respect to cost and co-pay. Standard 401(k) retirement and match with a bonus company funded deposit to the 401(k) whether you are contributing or not. Flexible work schedule (at least at my location) with a 9/80 schedule for salaried employees (M-Th 9 hour days, On-Fridays 8 hours, Off-Fridays every other week). I cannot say enough about the benefits at working at Virgin Galactic.

    Cons

    This is not really a Con per se, it just came as a surprise mainly. Some aspects of the hiring are more aligned with a UK mindset rather than US with respect to relocation. Specifically, the company does not cover relocation costs that other US based employers would. That being said, a lot of roles have been approved for remote work so that does mitigate the need to relocate and thus the cost of doing so. Also, at least in my case, my role included a signing bonus which did cover a majority of the costs in end.

    4 people found this review helpful

    Virgin Galactic Response

    Welcome to our team! What an exciting year-one with us you have had. We appreciate the candid feedback on our relocation support and recommends of different models to consider. We would value additional thoughts you may have on our recruiting processes align more closely to the UK model. We love that you love our total reward offerings! We are purposeful to invest in our people and in various aspects of well-being from financial, healthcare, and mental wellbeing. Once again ... welcome to the team!

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, poor tech, poor leadership

    Jun 5, 2021 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company was staffed by talented and passionate professionals. The culture was inclusive and welcoming. 9/80 schedule.

    Cons

    The vehicles are old and poorly designed in almost every aspect from Structures to Avionics. Management is always on the look out to solve today's crisis and has no time for fixes that will resolve the root cause. The same mistakes were copied and pasted into the more recent designs and just serve to continue kicking the can down the road. At the same time of providing massive schedule pressure, the company engineering support groups from IT to procurement to production control are have ineffective processes that serve to slow everything to a crawl. The engineers are expected to design around these limitations resulting in a subpar technical product.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Virgin Galactic Response

    We love to read feedback that our Virgin Galactic culture continues to be inclusive and welcoming for all based on our experience over the last 3-4 years. We strive each day to ensure we sustain such a culture! Our people … our talent is the key to great success. Passion about our mission and our purpose is core. As our new President of Aerospace Systems works across the entire organization and Company, it is evident that our technology leaders will continue strive toward world-class in designing and building safe, security and reliable spaceships, rocket motors and motherships along with Six-Sigma process improvement as we execute and deliver. Thanks for your constructive feedback. We value all.

  3. Join the Virgin Galactic team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    IT Top-Level and HR Dept have ZERO idea what they are doing

    Dec 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and a 9/80 work schedule that will get you two three-day weekends a month. Also a Benny card that helps out on co-pays, and other medical related expenses

    Cons

    Top-level IT needs to go micromanagement and untrustworthy, yet unqualified to handle a password reset. HR Dept. Not qualified to handle an orange juice can

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    IT Applicants Beware

    Nov 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Mojave, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great coworkers - 9/80 work schedule allows for much needed down time - It’s a job involving space!

    Cons

    - Untrusting management leads to constant micromanagement - Unprofessional/lack of leadership - No budget creates a constant reactionary environment - A career quagmire - Due to above aforementioned most projects are completed to get them done rather than completing a project correctly.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Blah

    Jul 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work here are fantastic. Laid back environment...9/80 work schedule is great, but we work most off Friday's.

    Cons

    Management is awful. Supervisors are just as bad. Teams are mislead and mismanaged. Little to no recognition or acknowledgment for the "hard workers".

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting Projects with Awesome Work/Life Balance

    Jan 27, 2016 - Electrical Engineer in Mojave, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional people, happy & motivated culture, good team work ethic, hard problems with rewarding results, 9-80 work week in Mojave (every other Friday off), the sky is the limit - check your ego at the door and take ideas and run with them

    Cons

    Mojave isn't the most exciting place to LIVE, but it's the Silicon Valley of private space.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Engineering dream job

    Aug 25, 2014 - Aerospace Engineer in Mojave, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work with some of the brightest engineers in the field and use some pretty remarkable technology in our effort to get people to space. The environment is completely casual and light-hearted. Benefits are great, especially vacation - fresh college engineering graduates start with 3 weeks that they're encouraged to use. Mojave runs on a 9/80 schedule. Profit sharing happens if company goals are met. Richard Branson swings by a few times per year.

    Cons

    It is very difficult for someone to get fired here. Someone who has repeatably shown they cannot do their tasks, cannot budget time, are not motivated, and/or safety issues can rest assured that it takes a massive undertaking to get canned. Consequently, we're frequently stuck dealing with people who don't want to or can't help us.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 3 of 3 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Virgin Galactic Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Virgin Galactic? Share Your Experiences

Virgin Galactic logo
or

Virgin Galactic Careers

Cover image for Virgin Galactic

We’re building the world’s first commercial spaceline. Split across multiple locations, we’re a team of hundreds of dedicated and...More

    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    Company Updates

    Logo

    Virgin Galactic

    442 days ago

    Company News
    Virgin Galactic is on a mission to dramatically increase the number of humans who’ve experienced the life-changing view of Earth from space. In achieving this mission, hundreds of new career opportunities will be created! Aparna Chitale, who joins the team this month as Virgin Galactic’s Chief People Officer, will play a vast role in supporting Virgin Galactic’s growth strategy. With over 20 years of strategic experience at multi-national organizations, Aparna has scaled and led global teams at both public and privately held companies. Get to know more about her career, and why she’s excited to join the team as we prepare to open space to more people.
    Shared image - Meet Aparna Chitale, Virgin Galactic's Chief People Officer - Virgin Galactic
    Meet Aparna Chitale, Virgin Galactic's Chief People Officer - Virgin Galactic
    www.virgingalactic.com
    Logo

    Virgin Galactic

    458 days ago

    Careers
    Shooting for the stars: The story of Lexy Snell at Virgin Galactic. Be yourself and go together, work hard and dream big. That is Virgin’s people promise. Virgin has long inspired its employees to believe in themselves and realise their potential. And in the case of Lexy Snell, shoot for the stars… literally. Lexy Snell is Assistant Crew Chief at Virgin Galactic on Virgin SpaceShip Unity, but she did not start out that way. Raised in the state of New Mexico, much of Lexy’s upbringing was spent moving around trailer parks. For years she was unsure of what she wanted to be in life but she knew she wanted to be something.
    Shared image - Shooting for the stars: The story of Lexy Snell at Virgin Galactic | Virgin
    Shooting for the stars: The story of Lexy Snell at Virgin Galactic | Virgin
    www.virgin.com
    See all

    Virgin Galactic Photos

    + Add Photo
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Spaceship Unity and Team
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Unity22 full crew of mission specialists and two pilots
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Richard Branson in space on #Unity22
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Unity in space during #Unity22
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic's, Sirisha Bandla on #Unity22 spaceflight
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic #Unity22 Mission Specialists
    Virgin Galactic photo of: Virgin Galactic Team
    See All Photos

    Expert Career Advice

    Guide to Getting Your First Job

    Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

    How to Get a Job

    Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

    How to Get a Promotion

    Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

    How to Negotiate Your Salary

    A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

    How to Write a Resume

    Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

    Virgin Galactic Job Seekers Also Viewed

    SpaceX Logo
    SpaceX

    4.2

    2,676 Reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 193 Virgin Galactic reviews submitted anonymously by Virgin Galactic employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Virgin Galactic is right for you.