Virgin Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Virgin Group Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Group CEO Sir Richard Branson
Sir Richard Branson
8 Ratings
  1. "Fun and Supportive Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment was friendly, fun, and very supportive. Management was always listening to what employers had to say, which in turn made it a great place to work.

    Cons

    Some miscommunication but may have been fixed with time. Also managers were often overworked.

    Virgin Group2018-05-01
  2. "Executives failing upwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Virgin Group

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good people

    Cons

    Completely incompetent management, spendthrifts, idiots, fools.

    Advice to Management

    You are not Movie producers, live with it. Don't spend money like drunken sailors.

    Virgin Group2010-07-31
  3. "Great Company Culture, Limited Growth Oportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Virgin Group

    Pros

    I love the company image and culture, and working with international guests.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for growth, ad the economy has effected salaries too

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to feedback and ideas from employees, and reward the good ones you have!

    Virgin Group2009-11-09
  4. "Virgin's a mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group

    Pros

    It's an incredibly hip place to work - definitely fun.

    Cons

    Work like a dog - not great oversight from Virgin Board.

    Advice to Management

    Know what goes on in all the areas - senior mgmt just a lot of bs.

    Virgin Group2008-11-14
  5. "Virgin Charter is an amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Virgin Group

    Pros

    Very entrepreneurial environment, smart and humble people, and relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Start-up company so did not have the same name recognition. Bonus that it is a Virgin Group company.

    Advice to Management

    Very understanding and respectful

    Virgin Group2008-07-22
  6. "Great Name For Your CV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group full-time

    Pros

    Fun people. Great office. Free lunch. Unlimited holiday (and loads of other perks). Lots of insights into how different business units across the group work.

    Cons

    Things move slowly. There's not much innovation coming out of Paddington. I think both are a consequence of having a lot of people coasting because it's too comfortable.

    Advice to Management

    I love family values but this is not right for business. Operating like a sports team would be a better mindset.

    Virgin Group2019-04-30
  7. "Manager/partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great place to learn brand, customer experience, entrepreneurialism

    Cons

    Sometimes see a bit of a revolving door of people

    Virgin Group2019-04-30
  8. "Fantastic Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Radio Producer in Beirut
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun work atmosphere, flexible working hours, encourages creativity, best radio job, attendance to numerous events.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Virgin Group2019-03-26
  9. "Bully culture, false advertisement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Group

    Pros

    No pros to working here

    Cons

    Not a good place to work. Only positive is the free lunch. So called "perks" are not perks and benefits are falsely advertised on job ads to attract people to work at the organisation. In reality they do not happen. No unlimited holiday as advertised. Management do not have respect for employees and bullying and belittling are common and employees are treated unfairly. HR not helpful when approached and do not listen,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees as human beings

    Virgin Group2019-04-12
  10. "Virgin Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with. Very friendly

    Cons

    Sretched with too much to do and too little time and resource

    Virgin Group2017-02-03
Found 13 reviews