Virgin Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Virgin Media Reviews

Updated February 16, 2018
477 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Virgin Media Chief Executive Officer Tom Mockridge
Tom Mockridge
217 Ratings

477 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No really a work/life balance as you will end up mostly working 6 days a week or even 7 days (in 14 reviews)

  • Everything getting worse since Liberty Global took over (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Project Manager in Andover, NH
    Former Employee - Implementation Project Manager in Andover, NH
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice offices, flexible working conditions,

    Cons

    Us and them mentality between Permanent and contracted staff. No perks for contract staff, no opportunities to develop. Lack of strong management or coherent processes. Sexism is ignored by senior management- no female senior management in networking and no inclusion or development of women.

    Advice to Management

    Look to other technological organisations in the UK that are much more diverse in in their make up of employees. Remove the men only meetings and openly address the sexism which is blatant and uncomfortable for women working there.


  2. "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    flexibility secured distance times travel

    Cons

    break times strict times distance zones

    Advice to Management

    more salary

  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time

    Pros

    Employee benefits, colleagues and culture

    Cons

    Payrise could be hard to get, internal recruitment could be improved along with the employee development

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you so much for your review! Your feedback is super important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Keep being awesome!


  4. "Senior Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time

    Pros

    people, engagement, pay, Benefits package, career development,

    Cons

    Travel was consistent and long hours spent a lot of time away from family

    Advice to Management

    Work close to home unless you are prepared to be away for large periods on a regular basis

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Thank you so much for your positive review! It's made our day. Super to hear that you loved our people and felt really engaged with our business. We will be sure to pass on your feedback. Have an... More


  5. "Unfortunately Richard Branson's qualities aren't held by directors and most in the business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Company is great at embracing individuality. I.e. Quirky personalities, diversity etc.
    - Great compensation.
    - Amazing, powerful brand.
    - Business has super fast internet which is driving strong business growth.
    - Most teams in the business are fun and friendly, on the day to day.
    - Company reacts very quickly to market forces, thanks to Liberty Global's investment, so it will certainly survive as a second mover.

    Cons

    - Liberty Global (who own the business) give the business the power to grow and innovate, though as a result their control on the business leave the Virgin Values feeling a little deflated. Virgin Media isn't really part of the Virgin family, more of a strong revenue driven business.
    - Generally your direct leaders and senior leaders aren't interested in your feedback, and will get defensive when given feedback. Surprisingly autocratic culture. I didn't expect that from a Richard Branson brand.
    - If you're a male, there is a slight preference for female employees. A recent policy was announced - of the final 3 candidates of any role interview, one must be a female, regardless of talent. Depends on your personal and political viewpoint whether this is a con, though it means meritocracy isn't first.
    - Business units are extremely siloed at VM. Which enables the company to move fast, but results in poor people development. People in my business unit are generally in their roles for 5+ years, which means status quo is very strongly held. This may be why the company is a solid second mover.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your direct reports and demonstrate you care about their development.
    Encourage people to change roles every 2-3 years - clearing out status quo from the company.


  6. "Deprecating company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Fastest broadband provider widely.
    - additional perks like car etc.
    - perfect for graduates looking for a temporary start

    Cons

    - Poor retention of employees as they only care about business not people.
    - Inhumane working conditions is winters (venues)
    - Cost cutting through reduced commission structures & overtime unpaid for the employees at the bottom level (front runners).
    - No growth path laid by managers

    Advice to Management

    You guys are loosing lot of talented people, please act before it’s too late. Cheers

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hello! Thank you for your review. Your feedback is essential and helps us to make the right improvements for our people. We will be sure to pass on your suggestion. We wish you the best of luck in... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "All Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are good and there are still some managers with the old Virgin values since Liberty Global took over

    Cons

    since Liberty Global took over there has been a steady decline on how the employees are treated. There is a continuous level of change which detracts from achieving at times.

    Advice to Management

    set realistic targets and goals and stick to them.

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to pass this on to the business.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fraud and Revenue Assurance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits like the services, childcare etc. For a long time it was a great place to work with a real family feel to it. Virgin Values.

    Cons

    Since Liberty Global took over it became less of a "family" company, and more of numbers, box ticking, unflexible place to work in. By the time I left all the Virgin Values had felt like they had been beaten out of us. I understand in the latest employee sataifaction survey my area got less than %50%

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workforce.

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. It's great to hear that you thought our people and benefits were awesome. Your feedback is important to... More


  9. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Some good people still, but being let down by the chaos above them, dependant on your team some flexible working.

    Cons

    Since Liberty Global walked through the door the whole company seems to be in constant period of flux and change. Many good senior people have been ousted by others who frankly its a mystery how they got there, and now they are there their competency is being shown up.

    Advice to Management

    They just need to be honest, either care about your staff or don't, but be upfront, the current level of pretending to care is so easy to see through its almost comical.

    Virgin Media Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review! Your feedback is super important and helps us to make improvements to our business.


  10. "Customer Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media part-time

    Pros

    - People of all walks of life and personalities working there, you become close to those you work with and become like a family.
    - Some of your managers are more like friends, they're really supportive
    - The free tea/coffee/biscuit/cake rounds. Free fruit too!
    - Opportunities for secondments and other projects
    - Can get time off the phones to take up other team-leading and admin tasks
    Onsite gym and prayer rooms

    Cons

    - The bonus structure is unfair on the employees
    - Computers and software don't always work. Virgin could do better.
    - COM's and upper management not in touch with staff.
    - More incentives and prizes could be introduced again, especially for part time staff who have hardly any chance to win!

    Virgin Media Response

    Jan 31, 2018 – Social Media and Content Manager

    Hello! We appreciate your feedback! It's great to hear that you loved so much about working for Virgin Media. We know there are always ways to improve and your suggestions help us to do just that... More


Showing 477 of 504 reviews
Reset Filters