Virgin Money Reviews | Glassdoor

Virgin Money Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Jayne-Anne Gadhia
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and get to work with diverse range of customers(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great staff canteen (the kitchen staff were all awesome people and always so friendly and chatty)(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of leadership direction from senior management(in 12 reviews)

  • "Some of the managers are old Northern Rock staff and very clicky(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "employee treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Money full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Virgin is a great, creative, disruptive brand to work for.

    Cons

    Pay lip-service to caring for their employees.

    Virgin Money2019-07-19
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Delusions of grandeur"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banking Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Money part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are either intentionally or unintentionally hilarious to work with

    Cons

    Virgin Money is one of those companies who believes themselves to be much more important than they actually are. Spouting numerous boasts about innovation and 'customer journeys', the company is in fact hugely outdated and superficially focussed. Instead of pinpointing a product that could actually be useful and competitive in 2019, they prefer to flit from one internal fad to another on an almost daily basis; gushing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pretending your the epitome of innovative thinking and actually try an be useful to your customers.

    Virgin Money2019-07-10
  3. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin Money full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff, Great Money and the Training was excellent.

    Cons

    Pretty much still Northern Rock with VM mask on.

    Virgin Money2019-05-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Based on my personal experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Money full-time

    Pros

    Excellent staff Benefits There are some lovely people employed by the organisation

    Cons

    No career progression Boys club culture where if you didn't fit In your career went nowhere New reporting line every 6months, as the business doesn't know its requirements. Jobs were being changed and people being moved constantly Non existent processes and procedures VM offer attractive products without the resource to facilitate the large customer demands

    Virgin Money2019-05-23
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Money full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing its more like a family despite being a large company!

    Cons

    Career pathways are limited for progression into management.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within teams rather than needing to move roles for promotion.

    Virgin Money2019-04-17
  6. "Virgin manager role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Manager in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Money full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits colleagues products atmosphere team

    Cons

    Travelling distance to work

    Advice to Management

    Forward planning of staffing

    Virgin Money2019-03-25
  7. "PMO Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Money full-time

    Pros

    Modern offices, great colleagues and good career progression.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership direction from senior management.

    Virgin Money2019-03-19
  8. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banking Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Money full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and get to work with diverse range of customers

    Cons

    complaint logging system tedious and systems are out of date.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging

    Virgin Money2019-03-11
  9. "Office Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Money full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits. A different kind of bank.

    Cons

    Some processes are slow and dated.

    Virgin Money2019-03-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Virgin Money part-time

    Pros

    They have allowed me to be quite flexible with my days and hours

    Cons

    Can't decide on an effective business plan. Constantly changing their focuses and generally using outdated systems.

    Advice to Management

    You're not fooling anyone, we all know you hate it too

    Virgin Money2019-03-31
Found 116 reviews