Virgin Trains Reviews | Glassdoor

Virgin Trains Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Phil Whittingham
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good salary, great perks, friendly colleagues(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, sick/maternity/paternity/adoption pay(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "shift work won't accommodate some people's lifestyle(in 4 reviews)

  • "no cons there an amazing employer(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very inclusive crowd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRM Marketing in Euston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There was a relaxed atmosphere within the office.

    Cons

    The work was rather slow paced. It isn't obvious what the CRM process is - if you have no experience working with an agency; things are not explained well here. The manager at the time had little experience and it showed. A lot of employees in the head office lack 'people skills'. Many can come across rather condescending. Happy to get out when I did.

    Advice to Management

    I doubt my advice would be acknowledged.

    Virgin Trains2019-03-28
  2. "Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good support network and opportunities

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what youre doing

    Virgin Trains2019-02-14
  3. "Within Virgin Trains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Excellent travel perks and good place to work

    Cons

    Not much diversity in the management structure.

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunities to all employees within the business

    Virgin Trains2019-02-16
  4. "Customer Resolution Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England

      I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Only good points,salary is good I work shifts and it still good hours, fun team and environment

      Cons

      I'm new with the company so can't really say yet.

      Virgin Trains2019-01-12
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Preston, North West England, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits, free and discounted train tickets on the national rail network as well as virgin discounts.

      Cons

      Long hours, same thing over and over again.

      Advice to Management

      Not much.

      Virgin Trains2018-12-15
    • "It's good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Host in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Virgin Trains part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good crews wage is really good. Plenty of over time you know your hours 12 weeks in advance up to a year

      Cons

      Unsociable hours, delays can affect daily life and short shifts with minimum breaks in some links.

      Virgin Trains2018-09-21
    • "Chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time

      Pros

      Widespread work load bringing a mix

      Cons

      Same as the above really with one more word

      Virgin Trains2018-08-27
    • "Never again"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Virgin Trains part-time

      Pros

      Overtime if you request it

      Cons

      Antisocial hours - with less pay than day staff. Temps get treated differently to permanent staff. Requested to do additional parts of the job without the pay. No time to see family if they work days.

      Advice to Management

      Team leaders need to communicate properly with each other. Temps need to be treated the same as day staff. Pay should be a little more for antisocial hours. Team leaders need to treat everyone the same and not have favourites. Treat everyone the same instead of allowing certain people who you like get away with being on their phones or chatting away to you the team leader for 10 minutes or more while the rest of...

      Show More
      Virgin Trains2018-08-01
    • "Enjoyable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Virgin Trains

      Pros

      Straightforward Job The shift I was on went quick (6.5 hrs) Lots of team leaders to chat to and ask for help Regular buzz meetings and communication between team leaders and their staff

      Cons

      Can seem quite strict sometimes

      Virgin Trains2018-07-08
    • "Good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - First Class Host in York, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits and free food

      Cons

      Long shifts, early/ late starts

      Advice to Management

      Not to be so up tight

      Virgin Trains2018-06-27
    Found 59 reviews