Virginia Hospital Center Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Virginia Hospital Center President and CEO James B. Cole (no image)
James B. Cole
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "12/hour more as new grads at their hospitals from 2008-2016(in 8 reviews)

  • "commute, and managers, bad upper management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Speech Language Pathologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Hospital Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fast paced environment with knowledgeable doctors

    Cons

    Large facility and can impact productivity at times.

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    April 26, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at VHC. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed flexibility in your schedule and working with our team. All the best in your future endeavors. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience.

  2. "review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at Virginia Hospital Center full-time

    Pros

    positive work culture, room to grow, pay

    Cons

    functions as a community hospital, strict on budget and somewhat old school


  3. "Beautiful hospital and the location"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Hospital Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people to work with

    Cons

    I don’t like my current boss

  4. "Great place to work when you are starting out on your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Hospital Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free parking. Good staffing. 4:1 ratio, sometimes 5:1 on other units. I havent experienced 6:1 since 2018 Great benefits, especially health insurance Free parking, not too much parking on the main building but they do valet service Almost everybody knows each other Direct supervisors are friendly, easy to talk to Hospital only has private rooms for patients

    Cons

    Low salary offer for RNs, considering the fact that its expensive to live in the DMV area or Arlington alone Most of the techs I've worked with are lazy

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    July 13, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review. I am happy to hear that you feel supported in your position and are enjoying our workplace overall. We do conduct regular salary reviews to ensure we are competitive in our region. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you in greater detail, and can be reached directly at VHCexperience@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thank you for being a part of our team and for your service to our patients! -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "You are literally treated like just another number"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Virginia Hospital Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid Time Off, 401k, flexible spending account

    Cons

    Expensive health insurance, pay, management

  6. "Great Community Hospital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends

    I worked at Virginia Hospital Center part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly people, good benefits

    Cons

    Culture of bullying on some units

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    June 15, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Virginia Hospital Center. We strive to offer our team a work environment that is supportive and encouraging. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comment about our culture in greater detail. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thank you for your service to our patients and team. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  7. "Nice job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Patient Care Representative 

    I worked at Virginia Hospital Center full-time

    Pros

    The Benefits are really good

    Cons

    Employee parking is hard but I think with the expansion it might ease it

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    July 6, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for leaving your honest review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our benefits package. Our campus expansion project will allow for additional parking and a new Outpatient Pavilion, which will greatly benefit both our community and employees. Thank you for your service to our patients and team. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  8. "Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia Hospital Center full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are comparable to industry standard

    Cons

    CNO invisible. Bad Leadership In general

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    June 8, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you do not feel supported in your current position, and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in greater detail. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@virginiahospitalcenter.com. Thank you for your service to our patients and team. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  9. "Virginia Hospital center"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Answering Service 

    I worked at Virginia Hospital Center full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, potential to grow

    Cons

    Not many holidays in this department

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    May 11, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at VHC. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our benefits package and opportunities for growth! Thank you for your service to our patients. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience.

  10. "Would definitely recommend!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Medical Technician in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia Hospital Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved my time at VHC as an ER tech. I had a few people as buddies during my training. Learned so much and earned life long friends! Management was fabulous and if i could, i would totally go back.

    Cons

    Parking was sometimes difficult if i worked during midday shifts but thats just any busy hospital.

    Virginia Hospital Center Response

    April 19, 2020Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a culture of teamwork and I am happy to hear that you experienced that here at VHC. Best of luck in your next career adventure! -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience.

Found 225 reviews