Cover image for VHC Health
Logo

VHC Health

Engaged Employer

VHC Health

Add a Review

VHC Health Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 349 of over 366 reviews
3.6
68% Recommend to a Friend
75% Approve of CEO

Found 350 of over 366 reviews

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
VHC Health President and Chief Executive Officer  Christopher T. Lane (no image)
Christopher T. Lane
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=VHC Health~28072
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay was low for the location in hindsight but I think that may have changed a little bit since I left(in 28 reviews)
  • "Poor management.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Also, employee parking was ridiculous!!(in 13 reviews)
  • "Also, when you apply to another department, many managers do not care that your already a vetted employee and hire external candidates.(in 10 reviews)
  • "commute, and managers, bad upper management(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of VHC Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Overall Net Positive

    Aug 4, 2022 - ER Technician Level II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community oriented hospital Strong emphasis on teamwork Management is 'people first'

    Cons

    Policies and adherence to policies inconsistent Pay not competitive compared to other local health systems

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and your contributions to VHC Health. We have many new and innovative benefit and compensation opportunities for our team. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org and welcome your input and recommendations. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    not a good place to be

    Dec 7, 2022 - Medical Assistant in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there is good pay for this position

    Cons

    very poor management who are not equipped to fulfill the needs for their job, no one truly listens to needs and wants, no work/life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the VHC Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good benefits but burnt out easily

    Nov 9, 2022 - Physical Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair culture, good quality care, time off

    Cons

    Productivity, pay, patient care, management, cliques

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for your review and your contributions to VHC Health. I wish you all the best in the next steps of your career and can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org if needed. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    good place in VA

    Oct 21, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    committed administration, room for growth, friendly, nice hospital

    Cons

    stressful nursing environment, high pt-staff ratios

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for your post and constructive feedback. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org and welcome your input and recommendations. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good work environment

    Oct 16, 2022 - Medical Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair pay, good benefits and work environment

    Cons

    You need to park off premises which can be inconvenient

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for your review and your contributions to VHC Health. We are happy to share that all staff park on campus now and, as always, it is free of charge. I wish you all the best in the next steps of your career and can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org if needed. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Just don't

    Sep 23, 2022 - Phlebotomist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was good and the shift they have was good when they didn't randomly change it.

    Cons

    The manager and lead phlebotomist are rude and nasty. The department has mostly asian employees some related. If you are not asian they treat you differently. They cannot keep people and because of this they are always short staffed. This creates a high stress work environment. You are guilted into staying late and changing you schedule or plans around. Not the best work place I have worked at. Looking to get out and soon.

    2 people found this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am concerned about your experience and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org. - Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible

    Nov 17, 2022 - ROI Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good desk space and co workers

    Cons

    New AVP every 5 months with no experience. Very sneaky no communication AT ALL

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you more about your experience. Please contact me directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org to set up a time to discuss. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Registered Nurse

    Sep 4, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to grow as a new grad starting out on the floor. Culture is good

    Cons

    More benefits for those who stay for the long haul, parking for nurses on site

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    ROI Specialist

    Sep 30, 2022 - ROI Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great hospital benefits. Love the overall hospital vibe.

    Cons

    Frequent change in management and changes overall to workflow

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for your review and your time at VHC Health™. I wish you all the best in your new position. My door is always open if you need it and I can be reached at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    VHC Health

    Sep 26, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Bad management in select departments

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    VHC Health Response

    Thank you for your review and your time at VHC Health. We appreciate your contributions to creating the best workplace in the DC metro area and we wish you the best in the next steps of your career. I can be reached directly at VHCexperience@vhchealth.org if needed. -- Grace Greenan, AVP, People and Experience

Viewing 1 - 10 of 350 Reviews
</>Embed

VHC Health Reviews FAQs

VHC Health has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 366 reviews left anonymously by employees. 68% of employees would recommend working at VHC Health to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, VHC Health employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at VHC Health. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

68% of VHC Health employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated VHC Health 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at VHC Health to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with VHC Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at VHC Health? Share Your Experiences

VHC Health logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

VHC Health Photos

+ Add Photo
VHC Health photo of: Inside Virginia Hospital Center
VHC Health photo of: Virginia Hospital Center is now VHC Health ™
VHC Health photo of: Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit (CVICU)
VHC Health photo of: Emergency Department
VHC Health photo of: Our state-of-the-art Cath lab
VHC Health photo of: Emergency Department: We love our partnership with the Arlington County Police Department!
VHC Health photo of: Stroke Unit
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

VHC Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Inova Logo
Inova

3.5

2,047 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 366 VHC Health reviews submitted anonymously by VHC Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if VHC Health is right for you.