Virginia International University Reviews | Glassdoor

Virginia International University Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Virginia International University CEO Isa Sarac
Isa Sarac
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "The quality of employees from both the staff and faculty side has improved(in 3 reviews)

  • "You get to learn about so many different backgrounds and cultures and experience true diversity(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management needs to learn that if you need something done, trust your managers to give their employees the work to do(in 9 reviews)

  • "Can switch you departments without notice(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA

    I worked at Virginia International University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was always a very good learning experience

    Cons

    There are no cons as far as I know

    Virginia International University2018-07-29
  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia International University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are absolutely no pros to working here.

    Cons

    Literally everything. Poor pay and benefits, to sketchy practices.

    Virginia International University2019-07-18
  3. "IT Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Student Assistant 

    I have been working at Virginia International University part-time

    Pros

    Lots of Troubleshooting around campus.

    Cons

    No raise in pay scale

    Virginia International University2019-05-02
  4. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Virginia International University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress and Nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Offered job in one role, but get moved to different department. Change hours without notice or regard for personal obligations. Not very much transparency from the top down. Hard to know how long the university will be around

    Virginia International University2019-04-11
  5. "Greta Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Fairfax, VA

    I worked at Virginia International University for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work for students

    Cons

    Less Pay for students

    Virginia International University2019-01-10
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virginia International University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the department, timing was flexible.

    Cons

    There is really no job security.

    Virginia International University2019-01-02
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Read the bad reviews. Good ones are forced or fake."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia International University

    Pros

    Diverse student body Some staff actually care and work hard.

    Cons

    Incompetent but proud upper management. Staff that are manipulated by fear and insecurities. Lots of gossiping. Competent, hard-working, and reliable employees get fired or laid off constantly due to lack of training and guidance, decisions made based on gossips, or simply trying to do the right thing. This is a place for you if you are desperate for a job, can tolerate being undermined, unappreciated, and...

    Show More
    Virginia International University2018-08-21
  8. "LEAD SUPPORT TECH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virginia International University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant & Diverse students and a dynamic environment, great team-mates who care about one another and perform with excellence, fair treatment. Flexibility of working hours, stress free environment; comfort zone is like being at home than hard-work, on campus food zone and lots of entertainment and adventurous activities.

    Cons

    There is always some lacking in every organization, only superman & heaven is a place where everything can be perfect and accurate. So rather than than I haven't notice anything negative from my end though different people have differen perspective.

    Advice to Management

    Management is growing rapidly & making great progress. I wish them success for always as usual.

    Virginia International University2018-06-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "I Loved My Job...Most of the Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virginia International University full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time at Virginia International University. I met a lot of wonderful people, did good work, and felt like I made an impact. Since VIU is a small university, you will have the opportunity to have an idea and see it come to fruition - you really see that you are making a difference. I woke up in the morning excited to come to work, which is not the norm for many people in the workforce today.

    Cons

    Because VIU is small, you may feel overworked. There simply are not enough people in some departments that need it (and too many people in other departments). Communication can be a big issue, as well. Upper management needs to learn that if you need something done, trust your managers to give their employees the work to do. They know how to better communicate with their staff and give them a task. Employees should...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust who you hire and take time to think through issues strategically. I was put in a position too many times when there was a "fire" to handle right away (which is stressful) or a thought/idea that needed to happen one day but was forgot about/changed another. Take your time - we are people, not machines.

    Virginia International University2018-04-09

    Virginia International University Response

    April 16, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for taking your time to write the review. We truly value the feedback from our staff.

  10. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virginia International University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great students and a dynamic, diverse community and environment, great group of co-workers who care about one another and performing with excellence, fair treatment, internal promotion prospects, support and training and learning/development, flexibility of working hours, stress free environment; feels like home to home, on campus food options

    Cons

    Nothing very significant to mention

    Advice to Management

    The management is great, I think they do what they need to do to effectively run the university. Keep up the good work

    Virginia International University2018-01-17

    Virginia International University Response

    January 22, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the family atmosphere that we strive to provide for our employees and students.

Found 57 reviews