Virtua Health Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Virtua Health Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Virtua Health President and CEO Dennis W. Pullin (no image)
Dennis W. Pullin
1 Rating
  1. "Great pay, good benefits, good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They took me with my Associate's Degree on the promise that I would earn a BSN by the end of 2020. They pay up to $4000/yr for undergraduate coursework, up to $5000/yr for graduate coursework. I feel well-supported by management; they want to see me succeed. They recently achieved Magnet recognition so that is a badge of honor. I think as a whole, we provide good care for our patients, and for the most part the patients recognize and appreciate it. We get union representation with JNESO, through which we get a shift differential of hourly base +10% for evening hours (3p-11p) or hourly base +17% for night hours (11p-7a). PTO is accrued at a nice rate (in my opinion.) You have the option to be cancelled and stay home (provided that you submit a request for cancellation and the hospital is overstaffed (it is first-come, first-served)). If you do get cancelled, taking PTO is an option; if you waive it, you simply don't don't get any pay for that shift.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's an old building so some surface appearances are not the greatest. Some equipment like IV pumps and beds are old. The tele packs (which are new) often don't transmit rhythms well due to corrosion built up on terminal connections. There are not many sinks on the unit (outside of the patient rooms.) Often times, the water doesn't get very hot. Many rooms are still dual-occupancy which is an issue for some patients. Some which are single-occupancy can still go to double if we are "surging." There is no blackout period for admissions so the ED can initiate a transfer to the unit while you're in the middle of handover. Recent changes in which employees were relocated to Voorhees required flexibility on the part of many nurses, some of whom felt a little strong-armed into the move.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're dealing with a lot of changes, I know. I can't personally complain of any hardships (I didn't choose this profession because it was easy) I would like to see better functioning telemetry packs soon. If possible, it would be great to make all rooms private (and keep them that way) and give them a more modernized appearance.

    Virtua Health2019-10-07
  2. "Horrible Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Staff RN 

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay per hour Paid Time Off and call out pay

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and confusing

    Advice to Management

    Lower the cost of your benefit plan and simplify them.

    Virtua Health2019-10-17
  3. "RN Emergency Department Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, scheduling (every third weekend), high acuity, great coworkers

    Cons

    Not enough staff for acuity, management

    Virtua Health2019-04-14
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ICU RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Care about employees Good pay Good communication

    Cons

    Top heavy Need more ancillary staff

    Virtua Health2019-04-11
  5. "not bad as a first nursing job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Berlin, NJ

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice and helpful, always have shifts available to pick up

    Cons

    Staffing needs not always met, high turnover rate

    Virtua Health2019-03-31
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is so welcoming

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment high turn over for patients

    Virtua Health2019-02-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Med surg staff floor nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Voorhees, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff is amazing. Like family. Voorhees building is beautiful and supplies and support are easily available.

    Cons

    6 to 1 patient ratio is too much!!! No matter what they promise or report, most days we have a 6 to 1 assignment. PCT ratios ar usually 12 to 1 but often are 24 to 1.

    Advice to Management

    Measure acuity and needs of patient and increase RN and PCT staff on floors!!!

    Virtua Health2018-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Mount Holly, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly staff to work with

    Cons

    short staffed most of the time

    Virtua Health2017-10-15
  9. "Virtua"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people who work there

    Cons

    all about making the money

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the nurses, we are majority of staff

    Virtua Health2017-10-25
  10. "BEST PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virtua Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SIGN ON BONUS. VERY GOOD INSURANCE COVERAGE

    Cons

    pros outweigh cons in a lot of ways

    Virtua Health2017-10-06
Found 24 reviews