Virtua Health "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Virtua Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 12 de Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Virtua Health CEO Dennis W. Pullin (no image)
Dennis W. Pullin
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons due to start orientation next week(in 11 reviews)

  • "Treated as a "body" not as a person or employee by mid level and upper management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Virtua is a great place to work and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health part-time

    Pros

    Virtua is a great place to work for several reasons. It is a company that cares for your personal well-being and comfort. It is a company that lets you grow educationally. It is a company that offers various opportunities to participate in company charitable activities and friendly company-wide challenges. It is a company that rewards exceptional work and recognizes its employees for all of their accomplishments. It... is truly a wonderful company to work for.

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons of working in Virtua Health are limited. The only thing to which I do not find favorable is that the company appears to be very "top heavy". There are so many AVP's and upper management personal that it is not matched by the amount of lower employees. It appears that there are too few assistants, specialists, and generalist positions. Which contributes to the few assistants and specialists to be inundated... with work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to pay close attention to the amount of positions being cut and the amount of work that leaves for all of the existing employees. As a large company it is important to not overwork your employees. They need to be satisfied

    Virtua Health2015-05-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Virtua Health could be more honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Marlton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virtua Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fellow employees, benefits, and health screenings

    Cons

    Treated as a "body" not as a person or employee by mid level and upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and fair to staff. The President/CEO should look into the accountability of some outside consultants.

    Virtua Health2018-12-12
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab in Voorhees, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of the workers see the problems with upper management. At least we all can come together instead of taking out on one another

    Cons

    Managers play favorites. They only advance people they like and write up others they don’t even if they are great workers. The rules apply to some not all. HR will back managers that make racial comments to you.

    Virtua Health2018-01-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Marlton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virtua Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No micro-managing, understanding with family emergencies

    Cons

    Management is given their positions because upper management is 'their friend', titles created for other friends of upper management, nothing is based on merit

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate employees on work ethic, replace AVP as they are the main cause of many problems

    Virtua Health2015-10-03
  5. "registrar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registrar in Berlin, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virtua Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very nice benefit package including paid time off, discounts on a variety of merchants including Verizon wireless, 401k with matching employer contribution, etc

    Cons

    Management can be unrealistic and unsupportive, however, some of that is a direct reaction to their direct supervisors (upper management).

    Advice to Management

    Grow a spine and demand at least the minimum that the department needs to run efficiently.

    Virtua Health2015-05-19
  6. "Ambulatory Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time

    Pros

    They have the best hospital benefit rate in the area. Yearly raise and bonus. There is unlimited growth potential and job creation.

    Cons

    Some of upper management have poor management skills. There are not many full-time positions. Most positions require evening hours.

    Virtua Health2015-04-09
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best; not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Unit Secretary in Mount Holly, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health

    Pros

    This particular position was a permanent part-time with wonderful hours. Awesome health benefits.

    Cons

    Upper management in this particular department were horrible. Very unprofessional. Medical staff were not what I would seek out if I were a patient. I would hope that not all floors are managed this this.

    Virtua Health2015-02-06
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Analyst in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some on the positives of working at Virtua are the people, the culture and the vision of upper management

    Cons

    The challenges consist of poor middle management, lack of knowledgable employees and salary restrictions.

    Advice to Management

    Some advise that I would give management is not to let their talented employees leave the organization

    Virtua Health2014-07-19
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtua Health full-time

    Pros

    Employee focused Patient focused Fiscally responsible Transparency from upper management Promotional opportunties; Virtua definitely promotes from within when the talent exists

    Cons

    Very high expectations for management team - hard to have work/life balance Healthcare is evolving and Virtua won't be exempt from hard decisions that impact employees and benefits

    Advice to Management

    Consider flexible schedules

    Virtua Health2014-04-07
  10. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virtua Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Education Opportunities, Growth Potential. Thought I Was Working Towards Upper Management Position, Slow And Steady

    Cons

    Inexperienced Management. Unexpected Unstable Environment. Unexpected Reduction In Force

    Advice to Management

    Promote Based On Ability, Not Tenure

    Virtua Health2013-06-27
Found 11 reviews