Virtual Instruments Reviews | Glassdoor

Virtual Instruments Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 94 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Virtual Instruments CEO Philippe Vincent
Philippe Vincent
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management don't know how to run a startup(in 8 reviews)

  • "CEO goes duck hunting while the company is laying off 2/3 of its hard workers and is about to go under(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time

      Pros

      Great technology. Great management. One of the top companies I've ever worked for.

      Cons

      No down side. You get what you put into a job. No complaining.

      Virtual Instruments2018-08-22
    • "Changing for the better!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Energetic engineering team Opportunities to take on leadership roles Willingness of mgmt to change process to suit business needs

      Cons

      Still some silos that need to be broken down Efforts needed to bring water development to a more streamline iterative processes

      Advice to Management

      Consider enhancing 401k retirement benefits (add company matching) Continue efforts to streamline & align development & QE efforts

      Virtual Instruments2019-02-21
    • "Lots of changes in Engineering"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The engineers are generally approachable and competent

      Cons

      Wholesale changes often done without much engineer feedback Getting more and more hierarchical Tendency to declare false victory when a more honest assessment would be better

      Advice to Management

      Remember it is still a startup Remember engineers need to feel included and valued Remember engineers can see reality so no need for spin Remember diversity of ideas are better for the company

      Virtual Instruments2019-02-03

      Virtual Instruments Response

      February 21, 2019Sr. Director HR

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We welcome people sharing their opinions and recommendations. Please know you can contact me or any member of the engineering management team so we can benefit from a conversation and really understand what the issues are. Change ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Engineering org changes not looking positive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Software Engineer 

        I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Smart and dedicated engineers who can work in tight situations. New learning with new aggressive process changes.

        Cons

        Engineering org is recently in trouble as big company culture and processes are being introduced affecting the team morale and the desire to deliver as previous year which was the key strength of this organization. Aggressive changes are not good when the previous process worked and engineers delivered the features and product. Top down process is being introduced but this is a start up where all people have the same...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Please keep the culture alive of this company as that has been the strength which kept engineers wanting to work and deliver. Do not lower the bar with new management changes, it will hurt the company.

        Virtual Instruments2019-02-18

        Virtual Instruments Response

        February 21, 2019Sr. Director HR

        Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We welcome people sharing their opinions and recommendations. Please know you can contact me or any member of the engineering management team so we can benefit from a conversation and really understand what the issues are. Change ...

        Show More
      • "Good Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales in Detroit, MI
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Virtual Instruments full-time

        Pros

        Solid loyal Customer Base - Good people work at VI that really care about making a difference for not only their customers but employees too

        Cons

        Potentially considered a niche solution but, still needed for those that use a 3 tier infrastructure approach

        Virtual Instruments2018-09-26
      • "Plenty of opportunities and good work/life balance."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Strong engineering department. Room for career growth. Strong leadership. Nice/friendly environment.

        Cons

        A large percentage is primarily telecommuters which I'm sure is nice.

        Advice to Management

        Consider creating team lead roles to drive coordination as opposed to a structure of a single manager with dozens of direct reports.

        Virtual Instruments2018-08-07
      • "I have worked in multiple small companies, VI is smart about their business approaches and takes care of their people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service in San Jose, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Execs and the board are running this as a smart business. Expanding product lines to capture new markets. Providing new features for existing product lines to keep customers. Providing excellent Professional Services and Support to retain customers. Also they are smart about their spending, not cheap but conservative. Competitive benefits and salaries and new interesting projects to retain talent. Communication of the...

        Show More

        Cons

        The only con I can think of is that there is no 401K matching. That would be an excellent addition to the compensation package even if it starts small percentage wise

        Advice to Management

        Stay the course, this is a great company to work for with exciting on-going potential

        Virtual Instruments2018-07-20
      • "Great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time

        Pros

        - Good work culture - Free food - Good technology stack - Innovative - Very friendly staff

        Cons

        - Unlimited leaves, but they don't accrue

        Virtual Instruments2018-07-20
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Virtual Instruments full-time

        Pros

        Team, benefits, and work-life balance. Company has a solid legacy business and is expanding into new markets with good upside potential.

        Cons

        Still no 401(k) matching. Employees have been asking for this for some time.

        Advice to Management

        We usually get too ambitious with major releases and have to pare back the feature set near the end of the release cycle. IMO that's a waste of our time. We could be a little more conservative at the outset.

        Virtual Instruments2018-07-17
      • "Good engineers team(s)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Virtual Instruments for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Talented and very qualified engineers. Flexible work environment and working hours. Home made beer parties twice a month.

        Cons

        Very bad office location. Do not hold anything valuable in the car. One of the office neighbor is Santa Clara County Office of Pretrial Services. No good coffee and you cannot do anything with this. Do not refund expenses for books and education.

        Advice to Management

        Less politics and more attention to work process.

        Virtual Instruments2018-07-14
      Found 94 reviews